We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go back in time in comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Majestic Saigon to your Saves list
Hotel Majestic Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go back in time in comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Noticed this colonial styled hotel in Tripadvisor. Stayed for a night last week. Surprised me on the up side. It was a terrific experience. Very relaxing "old day" ambient. The pipe in music brings one back into the old days. Their attention to small details left a lasting impression in my heart. Very well decorated room. Interesting roof top bar and sky terrace cafe overlooking the Saigon River. Highly recommended if you prefer a boutique hotel with a unique character. A hotel with a heart. It won many awards.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    626
    182
    64
    31
See reviews for
256
780
131
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This was my second time staying at this hotel. My room was in the new wing which I must say is the inferior one. My window looked out into what was essentially a wall. But the room itself was good. There was free wifi.

I have to say that there are plenty of little things that they miss. The elevator and the 6th floor hallway had no A/C. You'd get drenched by walking from your airconditioned room to the lobby. For some reason they had turned off some of the hallway lights in my area. On my first day, my electronic key refused to work properly several times.

The breakfast on the patio I have to say is a highlight of the stay. I love the patio, the view and the fact you are eating outdoors in a place like this. The food selection is quite good.

But the best attribite of this hotel is its service. They did not disapppint me on the many occasions I asked for help; on choosing the routing by taxi on a national holiday, on requesting to make a phone call in Vietnamese, and when I asked for packing materials to my room. The service was offered willingly and with a smile.

Overall this is a recommended hotel and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

an old original French hotel done up to standards required today. photos aroundshow the property from building till today.Not a lot has changed on the exterior but interior is beautiful.
Wonderful architecture from the early 1920's.
great rooms,great staff, great meals, close to all major attractions, right on the river front in Saigon city.
There are nodoubt cheaper places to stay but for a few days it was heaven.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I'm pretty fussy about where I stay and i'm quite the opposite of a backpacker! I travel a lot throughout Asia and certainly don't "rough it" when it comes to hotels. I was unsure of where to stay in Saigon and decided on the Majestic, mainly based on Tripadvisor comments. I was not disappoined.

The hotel was built in 1925 during the French colonial days and it oozes style and class. The decor is absolutely perfect and the service absolutely first rate. They simply could not do enough for me. This is one of the very nicest hotels i've EVER stayed in, and i've stayed in many.

Breakfast up on the 5th floor was an experience in itself. The views over the Saigon river were awesome. Its so nice to have an outdoor breakfast too. The food was very good and the service excellent.

I did not have dinner on the ground floor restaurant, but I did have lunch there one day which was simply gorgeous. They have a set lunchime meal which is really rather inexpensive and worth every Dong.

I had a Colonial room with a balcony overlooking the river. It probably wasn't the best choice, as the balcony was rather small and you could not really spend much time out there because between the hotel and the river is one of the busiest roads in Saigon. The room was triple glazed though, so noise was never really a problem.

The hotel is nicely situated in District 1. Its close to all the other big hotels, shops and restaurants. Notre Dame is 10 minutes walk away, the Reunification Palace a little further and the War Remnants museum maybe 15 minutes. The main bar area where all the backpackers hang out is around 20 minutes away and very easily walkable and quite pleasant too.

This is Paris in Saigon. A hotel fit for Hercule Poirot and I would not stay anywhere else in Saigon and can't wat to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This somewhat outdated hotel offers a great location a short distance from the river and on the edge of the main shopping street of Saigon (rue Catinat) but is a very mediocre hotel which would like be ranked as a 3 star in any other international city if it was not run by a local government related company and thus is able to command prices of 130 us$ for old rooms decorated in a style that reminds me Russian luxury hotels 20 years ago. In short we were not very impressed and what the hotel had to offer in terms of location and "old charm" it lots in its poor service (most of the staff does not speak English well and getting any sort of service from the room on the phone is painful) and prices (the beer at the rooftop bar is 124,000 VND which is even higher than at the Park Hyatt lobby lounge) as well as general bad taste in the decor. For the riverside experience there are a few other great places in Saigon which we would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

A hotel with a lot of history. Pretty good shape and we got USD 125 per night booking through Hotels.com

THey have the worlds most charming concierge in Fleur. Cute lady who spoke perfectly english and french and extremely friendly and helpful.

Internet is somewhat slow.

Roof top bars are both pretty nice

They offer some trips. DO NOT go on the trip to the Mekong Delta. It was a total tourist trap where you basically are pushed to buy whatever they show you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

A little bit delayed in getting this review up, but better late than never... I stayed at the Majestic in Dec. 09 while traveling all over Vietnam with my husband. The hotel definitely has an old-fashioned type of decor - gilded mirrors, high ceilings, chandeliers, etc. It's beautiful but does have modern amenities (i.e. wi-fi, flat screen TV). It was a lovely stay and a great value - not a five star hotel but definitely 4-star. We took advantage of the hotel car service to pick us up from the airport which I recommend because there are only a few trustworthy taxi services and the last thing you want to do at the airport is get bombarded by people who may or may not be trying to take advantage of you.

Room was large, but had a bit of a musty smell at first. Breakfast was served on the roof top deck overlooking the city which was great. Food was good, lots of variety and options for both Westerners and not.

I took advantage of the spa and had a hot stone massage. It was affordable but I had a bit of an issue with the language barrier. Otherwise the service was great - most people at the front desk spoke English and were very happy to help you with anything - reservations, tickets, etc.

Location of the hotel is ideal - overlooking the river and close to many of the city sights. We had a room facing the interior which was fine by me because the street life in HCMC is loud pretty much 24-7.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Address: 01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the Existing Building. The Colonial Building since 1925 which on No. 1 Dong Khoi street is still forever maintained as its Colonial French Architecture.Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is A Hotel of Tradition - Hospitality - Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.