We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Majestic Saigon to your Saves list
Hotel Majestic Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Healesville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed there for 10 nights, I loved the room which overlooked the river. The room had a king size bed and a large bathroom with lots of old charm. I could hear the cars tooting outside but it did ease when I went to bed. The double glazing helps. The sounds are all apart of the experience. The staff were very helpful and honest, as I left the room safe open twice!
The breakfast is really extensive from tropical fruits to noodles & pastries. I really looked forward to breakfast.
I ate out for dinner most nights as the meals didn't excite me much. Cocktails are great!
You have to try the vietnamese coffee with condensed milk at one of the many coffee shops in the area. I'm now addicted to the stuff, which is unusual because I drink coffee without sugar.
The hotel is a short walk to shops and markets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Horsey62,
Fantastic to hear that you had an amazing time and loved everything about your hotel including our location and the service we offer!
Our colonial hotel’s rooms are perfect for family and friends holidaying together, also we have up to date facilities for guests come to Hochiminh City for business.
Great to hear that our breakfast was a real stand out for you! Many of our guests have the same interest like you, enjoy a buffet breakfast at a rooftop bar with panorama view toward Saigon River.
We are all happy to hear that you totally enjoyed the trip for the whole from the city traffic sound to our famous “Cà phê sữa đá” (coffee with condensed milk).
Once again, thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your great experience to others.
Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    594
    172
    61
    26
See reviews for
244
736
124
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aartselaar,
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a very large suite, and we were sad when we had to continue our journey. Hercule poirot would certainly have chosen this hotel when he had a murder to solve in Saigon, but all modern services are available (wifi everywhere etc.), so despite that you live the thirties, the hotel is really up to 21st century standards (but you have to pay a small charge for using the pc's in the business centre if you don't have your own laptop or pad). Check-in was very smooth and friendly by mrs. Fleur, a very charmant lady who spoke fluently French and English (and of course also Vietnamese), and asked us regularly if everything was to our satisfaction, which was the case. After a long walk in town, it was a delight to plunge into the (not very large, but for a city large enough) pool and to relax into the long chairs. Eating or having a drink on one of the both terraces is every time a great experience, and breakfast is served on the fifth floor terrace. It was our first visit to Vietnam, the Majestic our first hotel, and despite the fact that we have now visited most of the must-sees in Saigon and the Mekong delta, we will certainly return to this hotel and this vibrant city, albeit for only having a short return to the past !

Room Tip: Take a room in the "colonial" part ( the hotel is building a new and modern wing with -i b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jan V,
It is our honor to have either you or Detective Hercule Poirot here with us in our hotel.
We are very lucky to have a dedicated team that simply want you to have an amazing stay, so thank you for acknowledging everyone’s efforts. And yes, Mme Fleur is one of our precious assets; she is a friend to guests and being the idol for other staff.
We pride ourselves on our level of service, cleanliness and professionalism and it is so pleasing to hear that this was a highlight for you.
Our rooftop restaurant and bar are often the best part of a stay for many guests and we offer the best place in town to enjoy the view of Saigon River.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with Majestic to other future guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Majestic Saigon.

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hotel Majestic Saigon lives up to its name. I booked a double room with a river view and was pleasantly surprised to walk into a spacious room with a King-size bed and a balcony overlooking the river. The air-conditioning had plenty of mojo, the breakfast buffet was killer, and the ambience throughout the hotel exuded stateliness. The health club, spa and pool were a welcome amenity, especially after a day of sight-seeing on a sultry Saigon afternoon. My only real disappointment was that my Vietnamese girlfriend (who lives locally) wasn't allowed as an overnight guest due to Vietnamese law. I checked with other hotels nearby and they had more liberal visitation policies, so this might be a deterrent to you single guys out there. The Majestic is apparently state-owned and therefore less flexible in this area than other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Gregory B,
Thank you for staying with Majestic Hotel and taking time to share holiday experience on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you love the hotel in many aspects. However there was just one issue that made the stay not 100% perfect. We do sorry for the inconvenience; we thank you for your understanding that it is our hotel’s policy.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future. In order to have a smoothly stay next time, special requests and number of check-in persons should be informed in advance upon making reservation.

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is quite perfect - close enough to the shops and market but not TOO close. Breakfast by the veranda was delightful as I could see people moving about on the road and using the ferry to cross the nearby river. The hotel exudes a warm, familiar feeling of the old colonial days although the walkways to the rooms are too dimly lit hence can be a little spooky. The rooms were well-appointed although the bath was too small. Service was impeccable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Busy_Mum04,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Trip Advisor and for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel and don’t forget we offer terrific benefits to our return guests so have a look at our website or our hotel website or facebook fanpage for further information of promotions and discount.


Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Beds are nice and comfortable and the rooms are big. Most bars and restaurants located in the hotel over look the river. Tried out the buffet on the first night and paid western prices. Would have been better off eating somewhere else as the food was satisfactory. Some drinks are included in the price. The pool is located in the middle of the hotel and according to the wife the water was nice. Staff are very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Luckyjw70,

Thank you for staying in us in Majestic Hotel and recommending us on Tripadvisor.
We have 2 rooftop bars with splendid view over Saigon River. And yes, we have a small swimming pool accompanied with a bar which is quite pleasant for a little relax after a exploring day.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A group of 5 couples stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in early April. This was the first hotel we stayed at when we arrived in Vietnam. It was a great start - the hotel is a gem. From the wow factor of the old world reception area to the size of the rooms, the hotel didn't fail to impress. We were very surprised at the size of the bathrooms in the deluxe rooms - huge!
The buffet breakfast was excellent and the location of the restaurant on the 5th floor made for interesting viewing of the river activities.
A cheap laundry service is available at the end of the block, and its worth a visit to the Bitexco Financial Tower - there is a small bar on the 50th floor (hugely expensive drinks, but worth the visit for the view)

Room Tip: Reviews are gold. Use them, and the more looked at the better. We stayed at 4 hotels during our trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got a big-big room high up in the house. Really a humangeous room with a writing desk, comfortable bed and a couple of chairs and a plant outside that was nice to look at while sitting and drinking tea. Nice sleeping comfort, even pillow ok, not too hard or soft. Silent room. Bathroom also nice and the marble on the walls and floor looked very expensive. Combination wood (mahogony?) and marble gave a cosy feeling to the room. We had absolutely nothing to complain about when it comes to the hotel room during our one night stay. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed. Didn't have much time to go out but we found some shops close to the hotel and could do some shopping. Massage and foot treatment gave us a big suprise thou - you didn't give tip to the provider of the service - it was invoiced separately after you had to put the sum on the note written on the room and it felt like you MUST to write a sum on the bill... That didn't feel well. Prefer to give tip in cash directly (if job well done) and not get an invoice to pay when checking out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Address: 01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the Existing Building. The Colonial Building since 1925 which on No. 1 Dong Khoi street is still forever maintained as its Colonial French Architecture.Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is A Hotel of Tradition - Hospitality - Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.