We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic Saigon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Majestic Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here four nights and loved the hotel. Built in the 1920's it has a French feel to it and very well maintained. Our room had a riverside view which is more expensive but well worth it as it was very spacious and comfortable, as was the bed. The breakfast has a great selection of west and east, and good cheese.
The service was perfect. You didn't need to ask for help, all you had to do was look up and someone would be on their way to help, but you were given your space otherwise. Very helpful and friendly, l think they pride themselves on their service.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Marietta A.,
I can honestly say that it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we all thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with others.
Yes Marietta A, we are so lucky to have a brilliant team who work together with the one goal in mind which is for you to have a terrific holiday. It is so good to know that we achieved this for you and that our team and service was a holiday highlight.
Our hotel has a perfect location and great history, we proud for being here at Saigon River and being witness of changing of the city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, and do visit our Hotel website for special promotions.
Cheers,
Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    700
    564
    163
    62
    21
See reviews for
224
693
114
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a beautiful Place. Old Historical Charm. Breakfast on the roof overlooking the river was a treat every morning. The rooftop bar in the other wing watching the nightlife on the river was amazing. The staff were over friendly, Lobby was beautiful. Absolutely everything about the Majestic was fantastic. Location was perfect. Walking distance to everything you could think of. If you travel to saigon for any reaso, you are crazy if you dont stay here. What an experience. I really need to get back there. I miss it.

Room Tip: River view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Cigars-in-Paradise,

We are thank you for taking time to share your experience in Majestic Hotel to other Tripadvisors. We are glad that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. Yes, we are proud to be one of the oldest and most beautiful buildings in Hochiminh city. Our hotel is continually maintained and improved to high standard, ensuring that the property maintain the characteristics yet our guests can enjoy the modern conveniences. We are also so lucky to have a brilliant team who work together with the one goal in mind which is for you to have a terrific holiday. It is so good to know that we achieved this for you
Again thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Majestic Hotel

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just spent four nights at the Hotel Majestic Saigon. The exterior and the lobby reflect the elegance and grandeur of the Majestic and its history. We were impressed by the size of the bedroom, in the older part of the hotel and looking over the river. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed. The noise of the traffic made it hard to have the doors onto the balcony open but it was still fun to watch the river craft.

The service was fairly indifferent, with only one or two exceptions. Reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful on the whole, although the young man who checked us in was an exception. There were also too many staff getting in each others and the guests' way at the buffet breakfast, which was only adequate, one of the worst during our month long stay in Vietnam.

The first night we were late arriving and were tired and made the mistake of eating in the Cyclo restaurant. The service was offhand, the food was poor in quality and very expensive and the drinks prices were outrageous. We ate out for the rest of our stay, enjoying great food for a fraction of the price.

During our stay, either one or the other of the two roof top bars was closed for a private function, a disappoinment when their location and views over the river are one of the features pushed by the hotel.

Overall the Majestic was priced at a five star rate but offered three to four star value. Our overall feeling was disappointment. We had expected more from the "Grande Dame of Saigon".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Travellers-K,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with Majestic Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is clear and very detailed and we have certainly noted your positive and negative points to improve the service.
We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and high level of service and it is very unusual to hear that you found the inconvenience with our staff behavior, so please accept our apologies for the whole experiences you had.
We still looking forward to seeing you back with our Majestic Hotel, please contact us in advance for special benefits for returning guests.

Majestic Hotel Team

Majestic Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed three nights in this old colonial style hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel is right on the Siagon river and a 10 minute walk to the "downtown" night market - which was a bit disappointing ...!! Everything you`d expect from a 5 star hotel - enourmous room, geat bed, shower and bath ! fresh fruit in our rooom etc, etc. Great breakfast, with a dedicated "Mr Coffee/Tea" constantly circulating. Enjoyed the "M" bar on the 8th floor - "Happy Siagon" cocktails, and brilliant views over Siagon.
If we had a slight complaint it was that as we were there over a weekend there seemed to be wedding reception in all the bars/restaurants - so the public areas were a bit noisy - but still managed to get a drink !!

Room Tip: Try and avoid being on the first floor next to the Health Club !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Stu1169,

I can honestly say that it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we all thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with others.
You are right – we are so lucky to have such an asset and also own a brilliant team who work together with the one goal in mind which is for you to have a terrific holiday. It is so good to know that we achieved this for you and that our team and service was a holiday highlight. Also please accept our apology for the inconvenience at the bar which was interrupted by the wedding at our Ballroom.
Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you book a 5-star hotel, this is everything you expect. Luxurious, loads of facilities, fantastic food and good roof-top bar, beauty salon, pool, efficient Reception staff, etc. Especially loved the classic decor and a little concerned about the plans for renovation that appear to do away with the elegant charm and replace it with sanitised, contemporary decor. Wi-fi available in the hotel and computer available in the Business Centre. However, this is the only hotel in which we were charge for use of the computer ($1 per 15 mins).

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe River View that is to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Bearsey30,
Thank you for taking time to share your holiday experience on TripAdvisor. We are very lucky to have a dedicated team that simply want you to have an amazing stay, so thank you for acknowledging everyone’s efforts. We pride ourselves on our level of service, cleanliness and professionalism and it is so pleasing to hear that the stay at our hotel meets your expectation.
We all look forward to seeing you again.

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Majestic for 3 nights and could not fault the hotel. from the moment that we had the airport pickup ( in a Mercedes) to the organised tranfer when leaving. The hotel is restored beautifully and is very regal but not at all intimidating. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was sensational and I don,t know how the previous post of 'reckless abandon 'could make the comment of an 'average breakfast. ' We had a 6th floor room overlooking the river. Although you were not able to sit on the balcony because of the narrowness, it was still lovely having the view, especially with all the lit up dining vessels going out at night.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys comfort and old world charm.

Room Tip: A deluxe riverview room for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Baliroz,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday to Hochiminh City and that we were able to be a part of this experience from the beginning at the airport with our Airport Pickup service.
Our rooftop breakfasts are often the best parts of a stay for many guests and it is great that you did enjoy our hotel with details. We are thank you to our guests giving us comments good and bad in order to maintain and make our service better.
Being a highlight experience in your trip is our pleasure and we are looking forward to seeing you next time in Hochiminh City.

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Majestic was the first hotel we checked into on arrival in Vietnam. We stayed here for two nights in a Deluxe River View Suite which had beautiful views of the Saigon river. The room was every bit of luxurious and so beautifully decorated in a colonial 1920's style. The staff were very attentive and friendly with very good English. It was my birthday during our stay and whilst we were getting reading to go out for dinner they knocked on our room with a big bunch of flowers and a birthday cake for me, it was a lovely surprise! The roof top bar served great cocktails and a magnificent view across the city. Breakfast was brilliant, with lots of choice of both Western and Vietnamese.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feedbackofcomments, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Annie Bish,
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor – it's great to hear that you had a joyful stay with us and you did enjoy every detail of our Hotel
We are very lucky to have a dedicated team that simply want you to have an amazing stay, so thank you for acknowledging everyone’s efforts. We pride ourselves on our level of service, cleanliness and professionalism and it is so pleasing to hear that to you we did our job great.
Again thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Majestic Hotel

Majestic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Address: 01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the Existing Building. The Colonial Building since 1925 which on No. 1 Dong Khoi street is still forever maintained as its Colonial French Architecture.Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is A Hotel of Tradition - Hospitality - Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.