We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - Better Options Out There” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Majestic Saigon to your Saves list
Hotel Majestic Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
nyc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing - Better Options Out There”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for it's old world colonial appeal and it lacked the charm we had hoped for. The service was not personal or very friendly and the lobby was under construction. It was our first destination in Vietnam and it really colored our impression of the people and the country. While the staff was pleasant, they were not charming or delightful at all. The first room they took us to had a window facing an internal wall, so we asked to change rooms. The location, while on the water isn't as clean, quiet or desirable as where the Rex hotel is at the other end of the street. The Sofitel Metropole in Hanoi is a world apart from this property. If we went back to HCMC we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    626
    182
    64
    32
See reviews for
256
780
131
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in HCMC at the Majestic, and found it comfortable and very well located. The breakfasts are great, and what a view from the restaurant! We didn't use the pool as the weather wasn't that great while we were there, and we didn't spend a huge amount of time in the hotel as we had so many things to see in Saigon and beyond.

The rooftop bar is amazing in the evenings, such a beautiful view and a great place to watch the madness of the traffic and the boats on the river all lit up.

We found the staff less friendly than in some of the other hotels, but never unhelpful. I think we'd been spoilt elsewhere, but we had no complaints.

Two things I would really recommend for Saigon are:
Saigon Hotpot tours - a university student takes you on a tour of the city, we did this the first day and it was a great way to orientate ourselves and was fascinating to speak to a local and find out more about Vietnamese life.
Cu Chi Tunnels - the day trips organised by the hotel are much more expensive than those you can get elsewhere, so it is worth shopping around.

It's great to be in a lovely historic building, and fascinating to see old photographs of the hotel through the years. Not convinced by the proposed modern extension, part of the charm of the place is its heritage, hope that doesn't get swamped by the desire to pack in the guests in a high rise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Right from the time we checked in till we checked out, we were made to feel like royalty.The colonial interior of the hotel and the rich woodwork in the rooms added to the old world charm of the hotel.
However ,our room window overllooked sme kind of a backyard of commercial buildings and we could not draw our curtains and missed the natural light in the rooms.
The bathrooms were small ,but well appointed and the hotel staff offered excellent service which made up for any other problems
The location is very good ,with dong khai street as ho chi minh's main attraction...all major shopping areas and hotels are within walking distance .
All in all , an experience worth repeating

Room Tip: Be specific to ask for a room with either a view or a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been to Ho Chi Minh many times, and usually stay in one of the big chain hotels. My first choice was booked out, so chose to try the Majestic hotel. What a treat. It was such a great decision. The views from both the roof top bars (yes, it has two separate ones) are stunning. All the staff in the reception area are so helpful. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This should have been a first class hotel experience, but it just did not make the grade. Maybe we were spoilt having stayed at the Metropole in Hanoi, and the Life Heritage in Hoi An, but my expectations were disappointed.
The entrance is right on the corner of the eight lane main road, and the doormen leave the front doors open all the time so the trafic noise invades the lobby. There was a sense of dissorganisation amonst the staff, with cases piled up around the lobby and general chaos. They were replacing the flooring in the lobby during our visit, which added to the noise and the workmen were still banging around under our room at midnight. The breakfast up on the rooftop was OK, but nothing special.
We had a suite, with doors opening onto the pool deck, very spacious and it would have been luxurious 10 years ago.
The thing that really irritated me was the bathroom. The shower was a hand held arrangement over the bath. It was nearly impossible to get the water to stop coming out of the tap and up to the shower. When you did get it to work the bracket holding the nozzle would flop down below my shoulder height. Never mind about the lobby floor, get some decent showers in the rooms.
The other thing that bugged me was everything came at a cost. Internet access was a pretty ordinary computer in the lobby and they charged for guest usage.
For the top dollar price paid, the overall standard and service should have been better. This is a tired old hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for 4 nights, we had a pool side suite which was really good being able to step right out of the room onto a sun lounge, room very large seperate lounge to the bedroom which is alway good, bathroom fixture and fitting need upgrading we had problems witht he shower head a number of times, I would stay here again but we would not pay for the buffet breakfast as the quality was not great and not what we expected given the previous reviews on trip advisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here recently and found it to be really great. Room was spacious and clean and loved the roof-top restaurant/bar/breakfast dining room.
The breakfasts were amazing - for us westerners it was like breakfast/lunch.
The hotel is in a great situation and area, we walked to most places and there was a huge choice of restaurants close by - which brings me to mention Ciao Bella - which is a separate review.
Also, we had been told to expect hard beds in Vietnam, but the beds in the Majestic are wonderful.

Room Tip: We had delux with breakfast. I can't comment on budget or even if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Address: 01 Dong Khoi St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the Existing Building. The Colonial Building since 1925 which on No. 1 Dong Khoi street is still forever maintained as its Colonial French Architecture.Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is A Hotel of Tradition - Hospitality - Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.