We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeted Like Family!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer and save more
Ranked #55 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greeted Like Family!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My sister and I had stayed at the Grand Hotel during our visit to Vietnam during 2012. When we returned in 2013, I had hoped that they had been able to maintain the exceptional level of service that we had received in the past. Well, all I can say is that the staff exceeded expectations. As soon as we stepped out of our taxi, the staff was outside greeting us as if we were long-lost family. Check-in was a breeze and our bags were in our room immediately.
The morning breakfast room has been changed to a bigger space and is quite nice. I'm not sure if the food is as good as I remember but it was more that adequate. As the hotel continues to up-grade construction noise can be a problem if you are looking for quiet time by the pool. While the spa is new and looks lovely, they may need to expand services in the future. However, I will continue to recommend this hotel as money well spent.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a fun historical experience, ask for a room in the old French wing. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    397
    162
    51
    24
See reviews for
167
403
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We checked into the hotel for 4 nights and have a lovely room overlooking the street, in the new part of the hotel. Breakfast is great, plenty of choice, the pool area is good although there are works going on around it at the moment. We are able to walk to the river and to places,like the Post Office, Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. It's a bit more expensive than other places we usually stay but worth the money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

we stayed at the Grand in April for 4 nights, 2 nights would have been quite adequate, as we have been to H.C.M.C. quite a few times now,however, last time we stayed at the Grand was before it was extended, although the hotel is still in the refurbishing mode, I some how think I prefer the Old Grand, but I guess we must move with times, the reception staff were extremely efficient as always, extremely quick they leave your thoughts behind sometimes, the rooms in the new wing are, as you would expect being new, clean & bright, and the breakfasts are very encouraging, with a good selection of Western & Asian foods, the restaurant meals are good, but a bit pricey, there is a excellent restaurant just over the road called Jasper's, the proprietor, who's name is Murphy, will make you most welcome and his staff are the best I found in my many trips to Vietnam, they all speak excellent English, the Hotels pool is in need of updating as there are loose tiles all around the pools edge, and wooden slates are all broken and ragged, but perhaps this may on the agenda to be fixed, the drink prices, as you would imagine, are on the high side, but worth at least one drink or two at the roof top bar, as a hole, I would stay here again, perhaps its sentimental to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spend 2 nights at this amazing hotel. The rooms are new and clean. We had views of the river and the rooftops of neighbouring buildings. The location of the hotel is fantastic. You can walk to the shopping quarters and many of the attractions, including the Opera House. The hotel provided the most amazing service, including a complimentary fruit basket daily and a fantastic breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived late one night after a full day traveling, so when I opened the door of our room I was greeted with luxury. Quality furniture & fittings , lovely decor & most of all a comfy bed & fantastic shower. Even the hand cream was lovely, we could have easily stayed here a week, instead of the two nights we had.

Our room overlooked the internal courtyard & pool area which was being refurbished, with a view over the river as well.

Staff were very helpful & breakfast was divine.

Overall an excellent place to stay, would I recommend, absolutely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had 3 nights at the Grand Hotel which was just perfect for our last stay in Vietnam. We stayed in the executive deluxe room in the old quarter of the hotel which was beautiful, and perfect for us. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom large and clean. The only complaint I can make is that the balcony is a stand only balcony another words very small and a bit scary if your not good with heights. The breakfast was good and the atmosphere of the hotel is nice. The roof top bar has fantastic views and nice for a cocktail and their small casino is great. The staff are very friendly, polite and accommodating.The location is fantastic with walking distance to great shops and good restaurants , 10 min walk to night markets. Just outside hotel is a small 24hr mini market and Saigon Tourist cars who work with the hotel for transport or tours at a reasonable cost. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord Howe Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a deluxe room level 10 overlooking the river. Spacious and very clean room with beautiful soft linens and pillows on an extremely comfortable king bed. Bathroom very clean with all the usual amenities. Complimentary fruit basket was lavish with dragon fruit, bananas and apple. Slightly disappointed with the breakfast buffet the room was souless and the food just adequate. Egg station was good though. Spa was good and enjoyed a fruity facial but good foot massage. Pool area is small, inadequate number of pool lounges, great drinks and service though. Hotel throughout is very clean and lovely to walk through the different original and newer sections looking at the differnet achitecture. One night was extremely noisey with a retaurant set up at 10 pm which had us complaining to management at 11 pm. Centrally located close to many restaurants, friendly staff and for the price we paid a fabulous choice. Would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;