We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views from the top floor/Fantastic Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 379 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
UK/Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Views from the top floor/Fantastic Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it managed to match our expectations.

Location is perfect for a city break, right in the centre of District 1, close to most attractions. The room was very luxurious, with comfy beds, nice separate shower, free fast wifi, etc… we stayed in the new part at the 10th Floor and view was amazing, we could see the river and part of the city.

The rooftop bar is excellent, amazing views and decent prices.

The swimming pool is small but what you need for just a quick splash before or after visiting the City. The tiles around the pool certainly do not match European health and safety standards; they are very slippery and wobbly, so watch-out if you have kids with you.

Breakfast was very good – selection of western food with Vietnamese noodles and rolls. The staff was very courteous although the bell boy was not impressed when we told him that we only had 20,000 Dong cash to give him … They really do expect a big tip and made us feeling uncomfortable!

The only negative for us was that we choose the Grand because of the historical character of the building and we were disappointed to see that most was ripped out through various refurbishments and really internally there is no difference between this hotel and a big chain one, like the Hilton. It is a shame!

Definitely recommend it for short break and for business. Choose a smaller boutique hotel if you are looking for character and more personal service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    464
    183
    56
    28
See reviews for
195
471
65
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I believe we stayed in the newly renovated wing, it overlooked the pool in the middle of the hotel. The ceilings were rather low, but it is an old hotel. The rooms were adequately sized, a little on the small side but most importantly it was clean and tidy. The bathroom was small as well but well decorated. Hotel service was excellent, staff was friendly, most did speak some English. Would definitely stay again, price was pretty good.

Outside there were plenty of shops and areas within walking distance. Had no trouble at all walking to various locations nearby. Good location, off the busy mainroad so still relatively quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Close proximity to all major attractions in Saigon, friendly staff, clean, calm, quiet. Best value for money. I stayed in the old wing, not sure if the new wing is better or not. Everything has the charm of the old times, but nothing looks tired, nor furniture, neither decorations of the room. The breakfast is decent 5-star hotel selection of local and international choices. Try the restaurant on the top of hotel, the view is magnificent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Aust
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Grand is a lovely hotel in a great location on the main street in Saigon. Unfortunately the older section is not so great. To clarify the hotel has an older section dating to the 1930s and a new high raise section built more recently. We stayed in the older section as it had family style suite rooms of two bedrooms. This is a bonus for families of course however the WiFi was poor and dropped out continually, the hot water ran out after about a minute and the furniture was terrible, so that using the lounge was not really much of an option for longer periods.
While construction was going on nearby, this isn't the Hotel's issue but if you are travelling in the next few months it may bother some though we didn't really find it much of a problem.
Also the hotel has a pool which is great in Saigon's heat and kept the kids amused.

Room Tip: Unless you want the extra room try the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in this gorgeous Hotel for five nights. It was a tremondous experience. We had a suite that overlooked the courtyard with the pool. The welcome was graceful and welcoming. The suite charming and very comfortable, loads of room to spread out. The bathroom well appointed, the service for the suite was very good. The restaurants totally acceptable, the bars good. Prices very good. A good spot for examining the city. We were in the old part of the premises, but it is worth going in the lift to the new part of the Hotel. On the 21st floor is a very nice bar and restaurant. You can dine and drink outside on the roof top terrace whilst watching the activity on the Saigon river. The views are fantastic. The happy hour deals are very good, the only slight draw back in this bar and restaurant was that some of the staff could not speak or understand much English.

Room Tip: Take the lift to the 21st floor. The views are astonishing so take your camera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just recentley stayed at the grand hotel in siagon, in the luxury wing.

Overall the hotel was nice and clean, and the staff always opens the car doors for you or the lobby doors when they saw you coming, which was very nice..

There was alot of construction going on at the pool, which was not mentioned when we booked, and it was extremely loud, so a little hard to enjoy!

The pedicures at the spa are great and the girls are lovley.

Breakfast was a big dissapointment, for the grand it was shocking, the pastries where horrible and stale and the coffee is the worst thing I have ever tasted, it's like drinking thick grounded coffee. Horrible!


The location is the best part of the hotel.. Close to everything and easy to walk around. All in all it was clean and the staff were great, I would reccomned for no more than a 3 night stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Within walking distance to night market and Opera House; comfortable beds, spacious bathroom, clean rooms, good - not great - breakfast. The front desk staff were not as helpful as I would have liked, but that is my only complaint. I asked about tours and was handed a brochure and basically dismissed. I didn't see the concierge desk in the corner and the receptionist didn't bother to point me in the right direction. Other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.