We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for 5* hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average for 5* hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Smooth pick up from the airport 35-40 min drive to the hotel. Large Junior Delux Double room with "river view", large comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Restaurant service and menu is average. Menu items and wines missing from the list even on our second visit to the rooftop restaurant (we called and checked if they had the items missing the previous day). Breakfast also average, management and staff clearly not on the ball. We constantely had issue with communication via telephone due to the language barrier (was a bit of a challange to order couple of cups of coffee). Spa staff made a mistake but handeled it well and looked after us. The concierge was very helpful when booked our tour, polite and professional.
Not what you expect from a 5* operation. Great value for money but lower your expectation if you book.
PS: WIFI is poor!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    525
    194
    57
    32
See reviews for
212
528
69
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Generally I have good feeling about the hotel. Lobby was very nice 4* hotel lobby. Room was very big; bathroom was beautiful and spacious with shower cabin and bath. Everything is clean, bed was comfortable and soft. There were tea/coffee facilities, welcome fruits.
I spent in the hotel just one evening and next morning. When I came in the room at evening there was very nice “good night” card on the bed. Very touchin:)

Next morning I decided to try shower at the bath. And this shower wept so bad that there was huge puddle ion the floor just in 2-3 minutes. So this bath equipment was in very bad condition.
Breakfast was quite good. But I really hardly to find what to eat:( I also had a lunch in the hotel – VERY expensive for Vietnam.

Also I visited SPA salon there using welcoming offer. I tried Thai massage - it was amazing!! Girl how made massage was very very professional! Strongly reccomend try this:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel has a great potential in terms of position and background but the renovation has been made cheaply (the furniture and decor are very average) and the service is nothing more than ok (e.g., reception staff was unable to suggest a nice restaurant where to have dinner and the day after they told me two attractions were closed for the holidays but once I went there I found out both were open). Breakfast buffet is extremely limited and the quality is so-so (e.g., cappuccino is not included in the buffet, no tea other than Lipton served in jugs). I would rate the hotel as "average" but considering the room rates and the range where they would like to position themselves, I think HCM has better options to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We came here over CNY break and apart from one or two minor hiccups (we were initially given the key to an already occupied room, then both card keys kept going wrong), very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were without exception friendly, polite and helpful, and in spite of having very little English still attempted to engage us in conversation. We were in a Senior Executive room in the New Wing which was spacious and very well fitted out. The Aircon was a little vicious - when the thermostat clicked in a blast of freezing air shot across the room (we eventually switched the setting to 'vent' which probably means fan only but as the common parts of the hotel were so cold it still kept the room cool enough). Breakfast was included in our package and was very comprehensive, although lasted from 6 to 9.30am, would be nicer if this was changed to 7 to 10.30am? Otherwise a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are return guests of the Grand Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City and we have been staying there for many years now. Over the last few years the hotel has been undergoing extensive renovation, and it appears that they are getting close to finishing. Reception has been moved and there is a lovely new entrance. We stay in the new Wing, where the rooms are very large with stunning views over the Saigon River, or you can have a view from the other side of the hotel and look out over HCMC. The staff at the hotel are always courteous, and go out of their way to help with whatever request you might have. One of the lobby Doormen, Diem is simply superb, he always have a big smile on his face and he will definitely go out of his way to help you. The Grand Hotel are certainly lucky to have employees like Diem, he is an asset to their Hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and large with everything in tip top condition and working. Breakfast has been relocated to the ground floor again, with a good variety of everything that you could desire for breakfast. The Hotel is located on Dong Khoi Street in a great location. It is a short stroll to Le Loi Street, the other big hotels and the market. Great Hotel - definitely worth a visit if you are lucky enough to be visiting Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors will provide you with amazing views and are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nicely located in the heart of the touristic district this hotel is a very good value. Service and staff is higher than average; food is more local (versus the traditional international buffets ...); rooms as large and decorated with local charm. A good choice for less than 100 USD per night ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in the old wing and away from the countless honking of m/cycles. I would recommend that. Also the breakfast spread is not that bad, mix of Asian and Western food. Near to the eateries and the river. Also the rooftop bar gives a good view of HCMC. Staff are willing to assist. They are also part of the Saigontourist, tours can be booked at the front counter. Being in District 1, they will come and pick you up. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.