We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oscar very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oscar Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Oscar Saigon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Oscar very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place was in a good location apart from that very poor service
Lifts when working very slow . The staffs English again poor . How come a big hotel like that not accept u s dollars when even street vendors can.
Breakfast was a hurried affair and three mornings out of five had to ask for hot coffee as the coffee was tepid only
Have stayed in many hotels throughout Asia this one would have to rate the lowest

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window or you will end up sleeping in a box room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    154
    92
    31
    10
See reviews for
34
106
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed six nights during January 2013 and based upon some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive. We found the room to be rather large (much larger than some of the similarly priced hotels near Benh Thanh market). We had little street noise. The bed was comfortable and things worked (i.e. we had hot water, etc.).

Breakfast was nice, with a large selection of foods. Staff were generally friendly but always competent. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from the Rex Hotel (fancier hotel but far more expensive). Our room rate was very reasonable.

Experiences and opinions vary but we had a good experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location is hard to beat, close just about anywhere in Saigon that is worth visit. The restaurant in the other hand is just lousy food. Not to mentioned highly expensive price for the food they give and the waiter that don't know how to serve

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked a room for one night one level above the base room, and requested a quiet room away from the lift on a high floor. Being aware of noisy Saigon traffic, I emphasised that a window was not important, but that I wanted a quiet room. I got a room on 6th floor right next to lift. from 4am onwards I was kept awake by banging noises from the lift which sounded like steel cables banging. I complained upon checkout and they said that they could have changed my room. Well at 4am the idea of changing rooms is not something worth considering and would be the end of my night's sleep anyway. They said that Agoda had not forwarded my special request regarding room location. I have asked Agoda about this but am yet to get a reply.

Room Tip: Contact hotel direct about special request for quiet room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

With its smack in the heart of District 1 location the Oscar Saigon Hotel boasts great value, some bygone grandeur and a really sweet staff gently making your stay worth going there. The Oscar is close to the river, a walk away from the best eat out places, across from a nice supermarket and close to some of the most expensive silk stores in HCMC. Oscars secret is its breakfast buffet, an ample mixture of East meets West specialties. Spice your continental breakfast with Vietnamese kidney treats, have some crab & corn soup and fill yourself with fresh juice and eggs. Didn't get any better, anywhere in the South.

Room Tip: Try the Deluxe rooms, they're spacious and really deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betoota, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

On impulse I booked a few days here via the internet in one of their cosy and affordable rooms. Tidy, upmarket, and perfectly located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh city. Quality at a location and price that could not be beat. Slept like a babe. Did I mention it was perfectly located?
Honestly, I was barely there so I didn't try the restaurant, nor health and fitness centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package. It is centrally located, with many restaurants, cafes and shops nearby, including a supermarket. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate. Good value for money. The only complaint is the lifts which are tiny and ever so slow.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.