We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 364 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“French style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

It is historical building with old French style decoration. It is very attractive to me. I liked garden in the restaurant and enjoyed my nice breakfast here. The Internet service was not bad. The location is in central of city. I walked everywhere for sight seeing. I like this city, party due to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    258
    146
    37
    22
See reviews for
92
235
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is one of the last remaining colonial styl hotels in the city.Opened 1880 just next to the opera house it is still the best location in town! It has a very nice breakfast- courtyard and big buffet included in the price.The rooms ,suites to the front overlooking the opera are huge and have high ceilings ,espacially in the first floor(about 3,40m).The prices are very cheap for what it is...
the best suite for about 90 euros -breakfast included.Outside around the hotel the restaurant has tables for eat and drink...very nice in the evening to have a drink there and watch the people ...
If you like old colonial styl for a good price that is the right place

Room Tip: Rooms facing the opera are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the second time I've been to Ho Chi Minh City and the last time, I was so taken by the hotel exterior and its old world charm that I had to book into it on my next travel there.

We ended up in one of the suites, overlooking the inner courtyard and facing the Opera house. The first comment I made when I walked into my room- it feels like I'm staying at Grandma's place- this hotel would have been an amazing place to stay at in its time, but sadly, it is living on its old world charm without much updating it. The room is sparse and could do with more decorations to give it's old world charm back- the carpets badly need some cleaning, so do the light fixtures. The bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom thankfully has been redone and no complaints here.

It seems like a confused hotel- parts of it retaining the opulence and grandieur- other parts like a bad 3 star hotel, with neon signs indicating where the spa and gynmasium are. There was another review saying the hallways felt eerie and sometimes unsafe- this i would agree on as you're walking to the spa/gynmasium. I wouldn't have walked there had I been alone! The spa/massage area was not what you'd expect of a 4 star hotel- I was almost unsure if I walked into a dodgy massage parlour- the massage itself was fine- just the whole layout of it was seedy.

Breakfast is served in the groundfloor courtyard restaurant and this was very nice and pleasant- a great way to start the day. The breakfast spread was plentiful and there was a wide selection of food. This is what I'd expect of the Continental and if they could maintain the level of a 4 star hotel all around, it would be a fantastic place to stay at without complaints. The staff were courteous and the bellboys friendly and helpful in getting taxis and directing the drivers to our desired location.

The location is central, opposite the Opera and a short walk from markets and other tourist sites.

It was not a bad stay- but it was not a great one either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour I was on. First night in Vietnam, only night in HCM. I was given a room looking the courtyard that didn't really overlook it. It overlooked the roof of the next building.
Was disappointed in the room. It was a little bit noisy and I felt a little unsafe walking through the dimly lit corridor.
Asking the desk staff for help seemed like you were bothering them.
Next time there are other hotels in District 1 HCM that I will stay at instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having researched our trip to Vietnam and accomodation options we were very prepared and incredibly disappointed with what awaited us at this hotel.
Front desk and restaurant staff were first and foremost just awful. Terrible English as well which is unheard of in a 4-star + Asian hotel.
The rooms are large though stark, sterile and very very old. There was renovation going on during our stay all along the corridor so any time spent in the room between 9am-7pm was effected substantially though perhaps they will update all rooms eventually. We were not told prior to the stay or upon arrival however of the interruption. WORST of all were the events held in the courtyard of which 1/2 the rooms overlook (others look to street). Incredibly loud music, bands, dancing etc as one was a wedding that went until midnight. Again no notification and upon complaining I was lied to several times and told it was over by 9, then 930pm etc etc... The point is of course weddings occur in hotels though in function areas with soundproofing, away from hotel rooms or at the very least advise your customers. I complained several times politely on the phone, angrily in person and again in the morning - to no avail, let alone a decent response. We had a very early start on the day of check out and this was immensely troubling to us. No one cared.
Breakfast started at 630am which is when we needed to eat and leave by 7am so we were again let down that the omelet and other stations were not ready until 650am with no apology or care once more.
Lastly - we were left a phone message by our tour guide and this was not given to us.

Location is good though for the price - we paid $US110/night - you can certainly choose better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Alton, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wife, daughter & I are just finishing 3 day stay at Continental, our first since '07. Started staying here in '68. I still love it; not just with nostalgia for past days, but due to the comfort of it's large rooms, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet (included in most room rates). I've stayed in most of the French era historical hotels (Grand, Caravelle, Majestic, & Rex), but we still favor the Continental for its location and ambiance. Although it long ago glassed in the open dining area fronting Dong Khoi st. (formerly Tu Do, formerly Rue Catinat), it now offers an outdoor dining area along the side street. The breakfast buffet is always good and offers seating in an outdoor courtyard. we like the Oriental Suite which has a large high-ceiling sleeping area (we use 3 beds), a sitting area, and a walk-out balcony, Just across Dong Khoi St. is a new shopping center: Eden Vincom A, with shops I can't afford, but also a marvelous collection of about 50 dining facilities - good and convenient. Continental rates usually prove quite competitive with other 4-star hotels in town. It's central location is hard to beat. Close enough to walk to Ben Thanh Market.

Room Tip: I recommend the Oriental Suite accommodations, well located and economical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel Continental is a classic Saigon hotel, located next to the Opera. In "The Silent American" Michael Cain drinks coffee at the sidewalk when a bomb goes off. That´s about it, apparently still managed by the State owned tourist agency it was reminiscent of my visits to the Soviet bloc eons ago. The staff is grumpy, the rooms are sterile (although clean) and the restaurant a bit odd (but food is acceptable). Very affordable, so if you´re on a budget and want to be in the middle of all, this is the place. If not, look across to Caravelle, Sheraton, Rex or just a little farther to the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square got to be a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Continental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.