We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel experience I have ever had!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Agoda.com
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel experience I have ever had!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having researched our trip to Vietnam and accomodation options we were very prepared and incredibly disappointed with what awaited us at this hotel.
Front desk and restaurant staff were first and foremost just awful. Terrible English as well which is unheard of in a 4-star + Asian hotel.
The rooms are large though stark, sterile and very very old. There was renovation going on during our stay all along the corridor so any time spent in the room between 9am-7pm was effected substantially though perhaps they will update all rooms eventually. We were not told prior to the stay or upon arrival however of the interruption. WORST of all were the events held in the courtyard of which 1/2 the rooms overlook (others look to street). Incredibly loud music, bands, dancing etc as one was a wedding that went until midnight. Again no notification and upon complaining I was lied to several times and told it was over by 9, then 930pm etc etc... The point is of course weddings occur in hotels though in function areas with soundproofing, away from hotel rooms or at the very least advise your customers. I complained several times politely on the phone, angrily in person and again in the morning - to no avail, let alone a decent response. We had a very early start on the day of check out and this was immensely troubling to us. No one cared.
Breakfast started at 630am which is when we needed to eat and leave by 7am so we were again let down that the omelet and other stations were not ready until 650am with no apology or care once more.
Lastly - we were left a phone message by our tour guide and this was not given to us.

Location is good though for the price - we paid $US110/night - you can certainly choose better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    226
    133
    33
    21
See reviews for
73
207
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bel Alton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wife, daughter & I are just finishing 3 day stay at Continental, our first since '07. Started staying here in '68. I still love it; not just with nostalgia for past days, but due to the comfort of it's large rooms, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet (included in most room rates). I've stayed in most of the French era historical hotels (Grand, Caravelle, Majestic, & Rex), but we still favor the Continental for its location and ambiance. Although it long ago glassed in the open dining area fronting Dong Khoi st. (formerly Tu Do, formerly Rue Catinat), it now offers an outdoor dining area along the side street. The breakfast buffet is always good and offers seating in an outdoor courtyard. we like the Oriental Suite which has a large high-ceiling sleeping area (we use 3 beds), a sitting area, and a walk-out balcony, Just across Dong Khoi St. is a new shopping center: Eden Vincom A, with shops I can't afford, but also a marvelous collection of about 50 dining facilities - good and convenient. Continental rates usually prove quite competitive with other 4-star hotels in town. It's central location is hard to beat. Close enough to walk to Ben Thanh Market.

Room Tip: I recommend the Oriental Suite accommodations, well located and economical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel Continental is a classic Saigon hotel, located next to the Opera. In "The Silent American" Michael Cain drinks coffee at the sidewalk when a bomb goes off. That´s about it, apparently still managed by the State owned tourist agency it was reminiscent of my visits to the Soviet bloc eons ago. The staff is grumpy, the rooms are sterile (although clean) and the restaurant a bit odd (but food is acceptable). Very affordable, so if you´re on a budget and want to be in the middle of all, this is the place. If not, look across to Caravelle, Sheraton, Rex or just a little farther to the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square got to be a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Why is this hotel so poorly listed in trip advisor? We just spent 1 night, but it was with regret as the rooms have been beautifully renovated. We had 2 large beds in a big room overlooking the interior courtyard. Lovely modern bathroom with both bath and shower, good buffet breakfast in the courtyard in the most famous and historic hotel in Hi Chi Minh and all at a price I consider reasonable. go there!

Room Tip: You can choose between quiet overlooking the courtyard or noisier overlooking the opera house or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was there for three weeks in December. I had booked a Junior Suite and was delighted when I arrived that they had upgraded me to the Continental Suite. What a beautiful room. The Hotel has, and is going through a renovation so I had to make a few calls to quiet the construction above me. It is a small hotel by comparison (80 rooms) which I felt was a plus. The housekeeping staff was attentive and caring. The front desk is a little dry.. they don't smile much. But they are really nice people. Better than the Rex down the street. You are right downtown but not in the middle of all the noise. I had no trouble sleeping at night. Delicious Continental Breakfast every morning. Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: I made my reservations online directly with the hotel. Their email communication was excellent. Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Continental is everything that an older majestic hotel should be. From the front doorman in smart white uniforms to the spacious well decorated rooms. The location is superb, directly opposite the opera house in the central square. Our balcony opened out to the square and you were able to watch the buzz of everyday life go by. Staff were efficient and helpful. Rooms were opulent and clean, with large bathrooms. Everything that was required to work did. We spent Christmas at this establishment and they did everything over and above what could be expected of a hotel in a non christian country. Great stay! Thank You Staff and Management.

Room Tip: Go the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Continental, two nights before our Mekong trip and two nights after. Our first booking was upgraded to a junior suite, overlooking the Opera House, and our second room was a deluxe (as booked), overlooking Dong Khoi Street. Both rooms were exceptionally spacious and came with daily breakfasts and free wifi. Despite being on one of the busiest intersections in the city on two busy Saturday nights, the rooms were surprisingly quiet.

Staff were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast selection was broad - breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, soups, dim sum... if you've seen a decent breakfast spread in Vietnam you'll know what I mean. The courtyard was a lovely place to start the day, with discreet fans providing a gentle (deceptive!) breeze.

As other reviewers have noted, the Continental is located in the ritzy hotel district (the Park Hyatt is right next door, the Caravelle opposite and the Intercontinental, Sheraton and Majestic Hotels a stone's throw away). It's still easy to find down-to-earth eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Also Known As:
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel Saigon
Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#55 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Continental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list