We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location at low cost, but for a reason” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location at low cost, but for a reason”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel Continental is a classic Saigon hotel, located next to the Opera. In "The Silent American" Michael Cain drinks coffee at the sidewalk when a bomb goes off. That´s about it, apparently still managed by the State owned tourist agency it was reminiscent of my visits to the Soviet bloc eons ago. The staff is grumpy, the rooms are sterile (although clean) and the restaurant a bit odd (but food is acceptable). Very affordable, so if you´re on a budget and want to be in the middle of all, this is the place. If not, look across to Caravelle, Sheraton, Rex or just a little farther to the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square got to be a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    242
    143
    32
    22
See reviews for
85
226
48
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Why is this hotel so poorly listed in trip advisor? We just spent 1 night, but it was with regret as the rooms have been beautifully renovated. We had 2 large beds in a big room overlooking the interior courtyard. Lovely modern bathroom with both bath and shower, good buffet breakfast in the courtyard in the most famous and historic hotel in Hi Chi Minh and all at a price I consider reasonable. go there!

Room Tip: You can choose between quiet overlooking the courtyard or noisier overlooking the opera house or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was there for three weeks in December. I had booked a Junior Suite and was delighted when I arrived that they had upgraded me to the Continental Suite. What a beautiful room. The Hotel has, and is going through a renovation so I had to make a few calls to quiet the construction above me. It is a small hotel by comparison (80 rooms) which I felt was a plus. The housekeeping staff was attentive and caring. The front desk is a little dry.. they don't smile much. But they are really nice people. Better than the Rex down the street. You are right downtown but not in the middle of all the noise. I had no trouble sleeping at night. Delicious Continental Breakfast every morning. Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: I made my reservations online directly with the hotel. Their email communication was excellent. Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Continental is everything that an older majestic hotel should be. From the front doorman in smart white uniforms to the spacious well decorated rooms. The location is superb, directly opposite the opera house in the central square. Our balcony opened out to the square and you were able to watch the buzz of everyday life go by. Staff were efficient and helpful. Rooms were opulent and clean, with large bathrooms. Everything that was required to work did. We spent Christmas at this establishment and they did everything over and above what could be expected of a hotel in a non christian country. Great stay! Thank You Staff and Management.

Room Tip: Go the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Continental, two nights before our Mekong trip and two nights after. Our first booking was upgraded to a junior suite, overlooking the Opera House, and our second room was a deluxe (as booked), overlooking Dong Khoi Street. Both rooms were exceptionally spacious and came with daily breakfasts and free wifi. Despite being on one of the busiest intersections in the city on two busy Saturday nights, the rooms were surprisingly quiet.

Staff were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast selection was broad - breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, soups, dim sum... if you've seen a decent breakfast spread in Vietnam you'll know what I mean. The courtyard was a lovely place to start the day, with discreet fans providing a gentle (deceptive!) breeze.

As other reviewers have noted, the Continental is located in the ritzy hotel district (the Park Hyatt is right next door, the Caravelle opposite and the Intercontinental, Sheraton and Majestic Hotels a stone's throw away). It's still easy to find down-to-earth eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had everything that we wanted - a feel of the colonial era in a courtyard facing room that was clean and recently refurbished while keeping the wood-paneled style. Great service and buffet breakfast under the frangipani trees. No noise from the road but a central location that meant we could walk to everywhere. Comfortable beds and room WiFi without any login hassles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love this hotel of its location,excellent,walking distance to halal restaurants
The courtyard is beautiful, airy and relaxing to have breakfast there.
Brought the feeling being in France when I had my breakfast there.
Good service .
The room is huge.Facing the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Continental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.