We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old dame, with modern comforts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 359 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grand old dame, with modern comforts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Continental, two nights before our Mekong trip and two nights after. Our first booking was upgraded to a junior suite, overlooking the Opera House, and our second room was a deluxe (as booked), overlooking Dong Khoi Street. Both rooms were exceptionally spacious and came with daily breakfasts and free wifi. Despite being on one of the busiest intersections in the city on two busy Saturday nights, the rooms were surprisingly quiet.

Staff were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast selection was broad - breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, soups, dim sum... if you've seen a decent breakfast spread in Vietnam you'll know what I mean. The courtyard was a lovely place to start the day, with discreet fans providing a gentle (deceptive!) breeze.

As other reviewers have noted, the Continental is located in the ritzy hotel district (the Park Hyatt is right next door, the Caravelle opposite and the Intercontinental, Sheraton and Majestic Hotels a stone's throw away). It's still easy to find down-to-earth eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    237
    142
    32
    22
See reviews for
84
222
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had everything that we wanted - a feel of the colonial era in a courtyard facing room that was clean and recently refurbished while keeping the wood-paneled style. Great service and buffet breakfast under the frangipani trees. No noise from the road but a central location that meant we could walk to everywhere. Comfortable beds and room WiFi without any login hassles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love this hotel of its location,excellent,walking distance to halal restaurants
The courtyard is beautiful, airy and relaxing to have breakfast there.
Brought the feeling being in France when I had my breakfast there.
Good service .
The room is huge.Facing the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the old opera house. Our room was fully renovated just a few days before our arrival. (they are renovating all the rooms on the 1st floor (actual 2nd floor)). So we had brand new carpet, paint and a completely refurbished bathroom. Of course all the original wood work remained and was nicely cleaned. The room was huge.

It overlooked the street which presented memorable views, but it came with the cost of traffic noise (the ice cream trucks parked near the opera house was the worst). I guess this is all part of staying in the heart of Saigon. The noise would die down around 10 pm and would not pick back up until around 9 am, so sleeping was not a problem.

Breakfast was incredible. The dining room was beautiful and the morning weather perfect for having breakfast in an open patio. Lots and lots of selections, unlimited coffee, and made to order omelets.

The area around the hotel is somewhat touristy, with the typical name brand overpriced fashion stores. With that you have overpriced restaurants. So, each evening we would walk 2 - 3 blocks and we found some really good authentic restaurants.

We posted a video of the hotel on our photography travel website quickadventures.net

Room Tip: With most of Vietnam hotels being so cheap, pay the extra money while in Saigon and get a suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As mentioned by others, the hotel is charming.
We were pleased to get a room on the second floor that faced the inner courtyard, but for three evenings running, we have had the added "pleasure " of listening to very loud music from wedding parties going on literally below our windows. Even though Vietnamese wedding receptions/dinners only last about three hours, this is a bit much and no warnings have been given. With sound rehearsals etc several hours beforehand, we find this rather tiring, especially up to a New Years evening when we would have liked an afternoon nap.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing inner courtyard, go for traffic noise instead!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely old, elegant and charming hotel in a great location (get room with balcony). Little dated,especially the bathrooms, but the location and elegance made up for it. Great breakfast choices. Would be better with a pool.Bit noisy due to the traffic around the square.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front if you want a balcony overlooking the square and hustle and bustle. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the history. High ceilings, old wooden furniture - this place had an atmosphere of decayed grandeur which really appealed - until we realized rats were included in the package and running around in the dining room as we ate our dinner. "Sorry about the mouse, it's because this hotel is old!" said the waitress, but they weren't mice, they were solid-looking rats, and that may have explained why most of the people who stay in this hotel seem to opt to dine elsewhere in the evening. Apart from that, the hotel was fine, but I strongly recommend to the hotel management that they get a vermin extermination program going quickly, because at the prices they charge, rats are simply not acceptable!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room; it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Continental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.