We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm...love the courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Saigon to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 391 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old charm...love the courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love this hotel of its location,excellent,walking distance to halal restaurants
The courtyard is beautiful, airy and relaxing to have breakfast there.
Brought the feeling being in France when I had my breakfast there.
Good service .
The room is huge.Facing the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    328
    183
    53
    28
See reviews for
115
297
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the old opera house. Our room was fully renovated just a few days before our arrival. (they are renovating all the rooms on the 1st floor (actual 2nd floor)). So we had brand new carpet, paint and a completely refurbished bathroom. Of course all the original wood work remained and was nicely cleaned. The room was huge.

It overlooked the street which presented memorable views, but it came with the cost of traffic noise (the ice cream trucks parked near the opera house was the worst). I guess this is all part of staying in the heart of Saigon. The noise would die down around 10 pm and would not pick back up until around 9 am, so sleeping was not a problem.

Breakfast was incredible. The dining room was beautiful and the morning weather perfect for having breakfast in an open patio. Lots and lots of selections, unlimited coffee, and made to order omelets.

The area around the hotel is somewhat touristy, with the typical name brand overpriced fashion stores. With that you have overpriced restaurants. So, each evening we would walk 2 - 3 blocks and we found some really good authentic restaurants.

We posted a video of the hotel on our photography travel website quickadventures.net

Room Tip: With most of Vietnam hotels being so cheap, pay the extra money while in Saigon and get a suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As mentioned by others, the hotel is charming.
We were pleased to get a room on the second floor that faced the inner courtyard, but for three evenings running, we have had the added "pleasure " of listening to very loud music from wedding parties going on literally below our windows. Even though Vietnamese wedding receptions/dinners only last about three hours, this is a bit much and no warnings have been given. With sound rehearsals etc several hours beforehand, we find this rather tiring, especially up to a New Years evening when we would have liked an afternoon nap.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing inner courtyard, go for traffic noise instead!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely old, elegant and charming hotel in a great location (get room with balcony). Little dated,especially the bathrooms, but the location and elegance made up for it. Great breakfast choices. Would be better with a pool.Bit noisy due to the traffic around the square.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front if you want a balcony overlooking the square and hustle and bustle. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the history. High ceilings, old wooden furniture - this place had an atmosphere of decayed grandeur which really appealed - until we realized rats were included in the package and running around in the dining room as we ate our dinner. "Sorry about the mouse, it's because this hotel is old!" said the waitress, but they weren't mice, they were solid-looking rats, and that may have explained why most of the people who stay in this hotel seem to opt to dine elsewhere in the evening. Apart from that, the hotel was fine, but I strongly recommend to the hotel management that they get a vermin extermination program going quickly, because at the prices they charge, rats are simply not acceptable!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room; it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

excellent location and huge rooms ,convenient for families
and for short holiday ,the staff are excellent and the hotel itself
\has patrons to the likes of graham green and rabindranath tagore
quite a place you should not miss.

Room Tip: ask to be upgraded to any of the suites facing the opera
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Have stayed here twice in the last few years and the hotel is spacious, cool and welcoming. Breakfast in the courtyard is wonderful and was one of the best we experienced in Vietnam. We were upgraded to suites with great views over to the Opera House. The rooms are huge and while the hotel may be old the fittings and beautiful woodwork create a lovely atmosphere. Staff are reserved but very helpful with suggestions for dinner and directions. The hotel is central to everything and provides a cool oasis during the very humid days.

Room Tip: Pick a room looking over towards the Opera House - they are large and surprisingly not noisy from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#56 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#39 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#57 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#7 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#22 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#40 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.