We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Rosebud, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights when we arrived at Ho Chi Minh City.
Had a welcome drink on arrival then taken to our room which was very nice, clean and the bed which was very comfortable. The decor and amenities in the hotel were beautiful. The breakfast was very good with wide variety of foods to choose from. There was a buffet for dinner which was very nice and the staff provided good service or you could go to one of the restaurants. The pool area was very good to. We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    240
    56
    19
    3
See reviews for
83
226
27
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel was great. Food was awesome. Highly recommend this hotel. Great location. Again, need to have free wifi in rooms. Staff very friendly. Buffet for dinner well worth the money, quite cheap and drinks included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mildura
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

First impression was wow, took advantage of the up grade offered on checkin and enjoyed the club floor advantages
a few small changes on the club floor would then put the hotel within the 5 star range with other hotels across the globe that offer club floor access, beautiful amenities, clean, friendly, helpful, would definitely stay again, a little out the way but a great price for what is offered.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was an excellent choice from the very start, after a very late night arrival to the HCMC airport and long lines for visa/immigration. Attentive and courteous staff. The three dining options (a bar, restaurant, and coffee shop) as well as room service are of good quality and reasonably priced, though prices on the city streets will definitely be much cheaper. Pool and fitness center are clean and very inviting, and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the main sights of downtown Saigon (it would be a very long walk and the streets are quite chaotic).

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking floor if this is a preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our first experience associated with Hotel Equatorial was our pick up from HCMC airport. We were delayed at the Visa-on-Arrival desk (they misplaced my sister's passport!) and then had to chase down our luggage which had been removed from the carousel, so we were concerned that our driver would be gone, but no, he was still there waiting for us, much to our relief, with a much needed bottle of water. The drive to the hotel in both peak hour and a downpour proved to be a real education as to driving in HCMC! Was impressed with our driver - a good first impression.

As soon as we pulled up, our luggage was taken by a porter and we were directed to reception. Both receptionists were busy, but one took the time to offer us a seat and the promise to be with us shortly. True to her word, it was possibly only two minutes before she came over. We were given a welcome drink (not sure what it was - something with lime in it - but it was very refreshing) and we had barely finished before the receptionist was back with our room keys and an explanation of the hotel facilities. Quick and painless check in by all accounts.

Our room was on the 9th floor (nice and quiet) and looked out towards the city centre. The air con was on and the room nicely cool. The bed was very comfortable and large enough that my sister and I didn't encroach on each other's space at all. There was also a nice little dining table setting, a desk, flat screen TV, and bar fridge/tea/coffee-making facilities. One thing that kept me from scoring the hotel an 'Excellent' was that the bar fridge was not only not cold, but actually quite hot. As we were only staying two nights, we didn't bother to get it fixed (though we did mention it at check out - but we're not sure if the receptionist understood what we had said). The bathroom was clean and of a decent size. The water pressure in the shower was dicey and it would often go up and down drastically in temperature.

We had room service delivered on our first night. The food was beautiful - meals hot, drinks cold. (Oh, and they use purified water throughout the hotel so it is safe to drink and have ice cubes in your drinks.) Takes up to half an hour, but I think ours came in about twenty minutes. Fairly inexpensive too. We had breakfasts at Chit Chat - full buffet with something for every taste. Our only complaint is that they are not very pro-active about offering tea/coffee. On our second night we ate at the Orientica Seafood Restaurant. It was quite late (nearly 9pm) and there was only a couple of people in there, but we were welcomed in and not rushed through our meal. They were attentive without being intrusive and the food was lovely. My sister said her prawns were the best she has tasted in years! We did make use of the Flo Lounge for pre-dinner cocktails, but felt a little odd being the only two in there for the majority of the time!

We also made use of the Tour Desk. The woman was very helpful, not at all pushy, and didn't seem to mind people booking a tour for the next day at 8pm! (Turns out we were the only two on the tour, so got a driver and a guide all to ourselves! It was great!)

We would definitely consider Hotel Equatorial if we were to find ourselves back in HCMC. We really wanted to try out the pool but never got a chance!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

An excellent hotel with great staff. We stayed in one of the club rooms, which had some extra perks such as breakfast, morning and afternoon tea. The food was seriously delicious especially the sweets for morning and afternoon tea. They had a gym, beauty salon and restaurants attached to the hotel. A luxurious hotel with great people working there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and I requested an early check-in, i was emailed back promptly and my request was fulfilled. From the moment you arrive it feels like indulgence, the lobby is amazing and our room over the pool was beautiful (plus we could keep an eye on the best time for a swim), and the swim-up bar was a great addition.

We didn't get in-room wifi with my room as it costs extra which was a little disappointing but to be expected with the fancier hotels. We did get the buffet breakfast which was spectacular, so much selection. The only thing that we found hard was the shortage of places to eat close to the hotel (which is not the fault of the hotel) but you can always just take a short taxi ride to somewhere. Trip to the airport is quick, easy and cheap as well (160k VND)

This hotel felt safe and professional, and just what i needed to end my holiday on a high note.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.