We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 409 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel was very nice with great service. On arrival we were shown to our room, however it had two single beds pushed together which is a pet peeve of mine. I made a call to reception and within five minutes we were shown to a room overlooking the pool with a proper king bed. The room was spotless and tastefully furnished.
We had a lovely dinner in the restauant that night and then were entertained in the bar area by a small French/Vietnamese group singing popular tunes. A very pleasant evening.
The breakfast at this hotel is outstanding. You have a wide choice of Vietnamese or American. Eggs are cooked to order.
The pool is lovely and well equiped with lounges. The swim up bar was excellent and the gin and tonics fantastic too!
Good advice re taxis etc was given by the driver who picked us up at the airport.
The only negative is that its a bit far away from restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budakan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the hotel. Quite clean and has everything we needed. Would I stay there again? Probably yes although might find something a little closer to more restaurants and shopping. It seemed a bit far away to walk

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a deals.com deal and were very happy with the entire experience. Hassle free pick up and drop off from the airport. Upon checkin we were offered an upgrade to the Club rooms for $55 per night. We found this to be very good value. Apart from a nice large room some of the inclusions with the club rooms were free tea, (proper) coffee and soft drinks all day, cakes and pastries in the afternoon and free beer, wine, spirits and finger food between 530 and 8pm. Newspapers, library and 2 free items of laundary per night. The breakfast was of excellent range and quality and the staff were all very friendly and very attentive.
The "club" rooms were very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel is not right in town but it is not that far out and the hotel does offer a fairly regular shuttle bus between various places in town including the opera house, war remnants museum, ben thanh markets and a few other places (taxis are very cheap and plentiful anyway). Some people who we met at the hotel easily booked several day trips through the hotel staff. I highly recommend this hotel and I would advise people to consider the upgrade if offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevoDFMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited this Hotel with two friends as a result of buying a deal on Deals.com. I totally agree with other reviewers that the surroundings of the Hotel are not the best but once inside it is an impressive place. The rooms are very comfortable and a good size.
Loved the breakfast buffet. A good selection of Western and Asian food. I love the Asian choices and always managed to overeat at breakfast!
The location of the Hotel is it's only downfall. I think that if I ever return to Ho Chi Minh city I would rather be in District 1 at either the Caravelle or the Rex Hotels. It really depends on what you are staying at the Hotel for and for how long. If only over nighting then it is a lovely Hotel. However we were there for four nights so it involved quite a bit of running around in taxis.

Room Tip: I would request a room overlooking the pool as the outlook on the other side is only old buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My way of judging a hotel is not just all of the expected amenities in a hotel, which this hotel does do quite well, but also on the quality of coffee at breakfast time. Here obviously someone cares. Not only is the "standard" coffee served in plungers, the staff remember my penchant for a double espresso each morning, after this wake up call one was able to again face the incredible choreography of a million motor-bikes let loose on the streets of Ho Chi Minh. The hotel is starting to look a little tired in places, but meets most of the needs more than adequately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to this hotel as it was part of a package with deals.com, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. As I had read from other contributors of Trip Advisor it's not in the best location in town but once inside it's a lovely hotel. We took up the offer of a mere $65 per night for the two of us (not each) to upgrade to the executive suites on the 11th floor and it was well worth it. The whole floor has been updated and it includes it's own reception area and a restaurant/bar with beautiful views of the City, which has complimentary drinks and canapés from about 6 - 8pm. The first night we arrived we were late and tired so we just stayed there for drinks and nibbles and strolled across the hallway to our room. The upgrade was definitely worth it and more than paid for itself. Breakfast for that floor is served up there and you can also check out from that reception and avoid the crowds downstairs.
All in all it was a lovely hotel, just not the best location, however just a short and cheap taxi ride, about 10 - 15 minutes, into the centre of town.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive suites on the 11th floor for a mere $65 extra per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amac147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just stayed one night for a conference in Saigon, I had the chance to be in a luxury room. The hotel is near of the convention center. The breakfast is lovely with the speciality of benedict egg, nice croissant althought the juice wasn't fresh and the Malaysian food was great, the french F&B director welcomed us on the business lounge. Will coming back in this place next month. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micko0O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#16 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#12 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#9 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
1.2 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#47 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#10 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#