We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent, made better by the staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEAR PROMOTION
Ranked #25 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Magnificent, made better by the staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the end of February and, despite having travelled extensively, have to say that this was one of the nicest hotels that we have ever stayed in.
The pool was wonderful, almost as big as a typical English leisure centre pool at 24 metres, and it was never too busy to be able to do lengths.

The breakfast was sumptious with a great variety, including a number of Japanese dishes which inspired me to look at visiting Japan soon!
Cleanliness was impeccable - in the rooms, by the pool, in the dining area and the lobby, and it was obvious that the staff take pride in their jobs. I have read a number of reviews saying that the staff did not speak sufficient English, but I would have to disagree with that. We had no issues at all, and with all the different accents that exist in England there have been plenty of home hotel stays where communication was at least as much of a problem.

The staff were excellent. When they found out that we were celebrating a special wedding anniversary they not only upgraded us to a great room with a view of the pool and also the street, but they made us a lovely decorated cake, which was very much appreciated.

In terms of the hotel itself I have NO complaints or criticisms, except maybe they could have provided free wi-fi. That's it.

So onto the location. Well, it is a bit away from the main sights, but there is a regular shuttle bus into the centre, and we used that most days. Also there are taxis everywhere (but research the best companies before you visit). Before we went we were advised that all shops took US$$. This may be true in the centre but not nearby the Equatorial so make sure you have Dong with you (there is a convenient Bureau de Change in the hotel lobby at reasonable rates). We found it difficult to buy water nearby, after 8pm, without a map of suitable shops.

This may sound stupid, but crossing some of the roads was one of the experiences I will always remember. You will be confronted with wave after wave of mopeds, which never seem to stop, and you have to just walk out (on crossings!) and the mopeds somehow, incredibly, weave around you. Just don't panic and stop or you may cause mayhem!

We felt perfectly safe walking around in the local area at night. There weren't many tourists around this area, which meant we could eat like the locals at roadside establishments where the food was filling, authentic and cheap! We had to do a bit of pointing to choose food though, but the locals were helpful and we had service with a smile!

The beer is incredibly cheap, by the way, and I found the cheapest brand, 333, the nicest :-)

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    265
    60
    19
    3
See reviews for
95
259
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

The lobby was beautiful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The location was nearby many shops and food stalls. The taxis did not have a hard time finding the location.

We did have a bit of a problem with the shower temperature. It was very difficult to get anything between boiling hot and cold. Also we were looking forward to the pool but it was closed for construction. The hotel did offer to provide transportation to another pool nearby.

Concierge desk was very helpful but we did have some trouble with their level of English.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel in Ho Chi Minh City was a good choice. The service during check in/out was friendly and efficient, and the the staff provided always a friendly smile. The room was clean and spacious, and the sleeping quality was excellent. I enjoyed the provided breakfast, which was a mix of asian and european cuisine. I will definitely go to this hotel again. The other guests seemed to be business and upper tourists from the states and Europe.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice hotel, stayed there during a business meeting for 4 nights. Everything was nice and the staff were polite. The breakfast was great, one of the best buffet breakfast I had and remember to ask the the 'Vietnamese Coffee' - It takes long but definitely worth the wait.

However the Wifi in the hotel is not free... and it's slow as, not break for biz trip as I need to reply emails at night and it's pretty frustrating. The gym facilities were nice and clean, pool was having it's annual maintenance during the week we stayed so I had to use the gym, but I actually did enjoy it.

Location wasn't bothering us too much but I guess there are hotels out there in District 1 with better location. Good for business stays but probably not for tourist.

The foot massage was good too and not expensive :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week on business trip in a Deluxe room. Very good service from the staff who could really speak very good japanese. Room is big and nice though the TV programmes are too limited than those I've stayed in the 2-star hotels. Wifi is also expensive and I wonder why it is not free as almost every cafes and small hotels offer free wifi. Breakfast is also expensive and for a hotel at such a location but charging at such a high price, it should have bundled it into the room prices.

A nice gesture is that the house-keeping will come during the late afternoon to offer fresh towels. However the promised free newspapers never appeared during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Everything one would expect from a luxury hotel. Distant location from centre offset by complimentary hourly shuttle service. Particular highlights were the outstanding buffet breakfasts and the best steak sandwich I've ever had down at the poolside.
Service was efficient and friendly but not much to see if you want to walk and explore in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is very pleasant and located more in traditional city setting not far from the City proper. Complimentary shuttle bus takes you to all main city attractions on a regular basis. The Breakfast Buffet is superb with more than ample variations. Staff make the scene welcoming and the pool is a relaxing feature with adjacent bar. If you prefer to be amongst more everyday life, this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.