We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, So.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 Nguyen Van Troi | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Mile High City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So, So.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is located in a very busy part of HCMC. It's near the airport which is why we stayed here.
We ate dinner at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel--excellent food and service.
The room was nice and appeared clean but it smelled very, very musty. Our family was staying in another room down the hall and it smelled the same. We were only staying one night so we didn't bother complaining.
This is definitely a business person's hotel although the surcharge for Wi-fi was really high!
I will stay somewhere else next trip.

Room Tip: Room layout is small but comfortable. Would've been a better night's rest if the smell hadn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    164
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
36
105
30
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roodepoort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in December 2012. Friendly welcome, hassle free check in and a great room. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and the service very good. No need to go Breakfast was superb. Overall a great stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a business trip. It was conveniently located near the airport. The best thing about the hotel is their Executive Club benefits. The complimentary services in the Executive Club lounge are nice, especially the evening appetizers and drinks. The International Buffet Breakfast at Cafe Saigon was excellent, with every variety of foods you imagine. However, beware of the massages offered at the spa. If you want a relaxing massage, make sure to emphasize "relaxing". Otherwise you might receive a deep tissue massage and not be able to relax for several days. Overall it is a good hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at Moevenpick HCMC in early February and was very impressed. Friendly welcome at airport by driver, hassle free check in and a great room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!

Breakfast was great with a generous spread of dishes.

Overall a great stay from start to finish

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After staying in five star hotels in Thailand, we were somewhat disappointed by this hotel. It had all the amenities choice of restaurants, business centre, swimming pool, executive lounge etc. to meet the five star categories, but not the style or quality of furnishings and fittings. would have rated it more 3.5 stars. I had booked an executive room so at least expected a king size bed rather than the double in the room with better quality pillows and linen. While the bathroom had a good rain shower there was no bath. The quality of food in the restaurant even when ordered a la carte tasted more buffet than freshly cooked. The location is good if you're on business and want to be out of the city and close to the airport but not recommended if you want to savour the vibrancy of the city throughout your stay. On a plus side the staff were friendly and helpful particularly in the executive lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived close to midnight, 2 kids falling asleep, the adults dead tired....and the hotel had lost my reservation.

I had made a reservation for a family room, but it was nowhere to be found. The hotel could not offer a family room, so had to sleep in a double instead, at a higher price that I had reserved.

I think what happened was, I had made the reservation online, also reserving airport pickup. I then cancelled just the airport pickup, but for some reason someone cancelled the whole reservation!

Anyway, really bad experience.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I chosed this hotel due to it's proximity to the airport since I had an early flight next morning, on arrival everything went smooth, however upon checking in I was astonished with the extra charge for WiFi which I bluntly refused. I frequently travel to Saigon and other parts of Vietnam and this is the first time I'm charged extra, it's not the money it's the principal paying + $100/night you would expect free WiFi.

The condition of the room was excellent and fitted with all amenities as well as a work desk, I ordered some food from room service which was swift and excellent and very tasteful.

I can easily recommend this hotel as transit, however somebody wants to explore Saigon you are better off staying in District 1 where you are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Saigon

Address: 253 Nguyen Van Troi | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#46 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A focal point of the bustling Phu Nhuan District, the Mövenpick Hotel Saigon is a 10-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, 20 minutes from city centre. Combining five-star luxury with Vietnamese hospitality, we make it our business to anticipate your every need, whatever the reason for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Ho Chi Minh City
Omni Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.