We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost my reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 Nguyen Van Troi, Ward 10, Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 389 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lost my reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived close to midnight, 2 kids falling asleep, the adults dead tired....and the hotel had lost my reservation.

I had made a reservation for a family room, but it was nowhere to be found. The hotel could not offer a family room, so had to sleep in a double instead, at a higher price that I had reserved.

I think what happened was, I had made the reservation online, also reserving airport pickup. I then cancelled just the airport pickup, but for some reason someone cancelled the whole reservation!

Anyway, really bad experience.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    204
    78
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
142
34
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I chosed this hotel due to it's proximity to the airport since I had an early flight next morning, on arrival everything went smooth, however upon checking in I was astonished with the extra charge for WiFi which I bluntly refused. I frequently travel to Saigon and other parts of Vietnam and this is the first time I'm charged extra, it's not the money it's the principal paying + $100/night you would expect free WiFi.

The condition of the room was excellent and fitted with all amenities as well as a work desk, I ordered some food from room service which was swift and excellent and very tasteful.

I can easily recommend this hotel as transit, however somebody wants to explore Saigon you are better off staying in District 1 where you are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Mövenpick - should be high qualoty food and goor service - what we received is below average
food during the new year night was just average and not up to any standard
service during thi night in the restaurant - loud, agressive and ignorring
the room was ok but the cleanliness and the hygiene not up to any standard
all in all this hotel is not reccomendable
breakfast service slow, food just average

Room Tip: not a location to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the Movenpick Hotel for three nights on the second week of January 2013. Two nights followed by a night away before staying a last night before leaving for the airport and home Our stay was part of a package holiday booked through Hayes and Jarvis. More than satisfied with the hotel, we had a large room on the first visit and an even bigger one for the last night. Rooms had large bathroom with bath and overhead shower. Table and chair for those who needed to do some writing, good choice of international TV channels... Found the in built comprehensive plug adaptor very handy in charging either the mobile phone or camera. Check in staff and bell boys were pleasant and willing to help when asked. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but what a breakfast, spoilt for choice would be the best description. For those not wishing to pay hotel prices for dinner and a bit uncertain on what to order at the local Vietnamese restaurants / cafes you could take the easy option and have a meal at either Burger King or Pizza Inn both located approx. 100yds either side of the hotel. Taxi trip into the hart of Ho Chi Min City was about 3$ on a meter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We choose this hotel based on proximity to the airport. If you are in Ho Chi Minh for a few days then I would highly recommend staying in District 1. On arrival we realised that our room rate had not included breakfast and that we would have to pay for WiFi, considering everywhere else had included both (that was our fault not there's, we clearly missed that when booking), we were a little disappointed. Especially considering its pretty easy to pick WiFi up for free on the street!!
The receptionist tried to up-sell a package for $55USD to include Wifi, breakfast, 2 complimentary cocktails and 20% of the spa but it didn't seem worth it. She then told us our room was small and would we like to pay for an upgrade, gain we declined and then we we got into our room it was the same size as a beach villa we'd just stayed at, meaning it was big!!
We did use the gym which was actually good but that was one of the main reasons we choose this hotel as well. We had planned to store some luggage there and return at the end of our trip for one other night, fortunately we found another hotel near by that was better value for money and luckily we were able to store our luggage there too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Hotel is great to use, when you have a lay over night and an early flight to get connection to a beach resort. We were there on December 31st and saw their buffets (thanks God we did not participate in the party). This buffet has nothing to do with the food reputation of a Mövenpick Hotel. Not many guests did celebrate their end of the year there and for sure, there is a reason.
Rooms are ok, bedding as well, all is clean, everything is just average. For sure the city Hotels as Sheraton, Intercontinental are much better value for money, not to speak of the Park Hyatt, which offers great location, fine service and real 5 star luxury. The breakfast was again ok, service mediocre. The only people which were extremely friendly and professional where the receptionists and the bell boys. Use this Hotel only if you have business in the district or a flight to catch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ended our 3 week week stay in Southeast Asia in Ho Chi Minh and were absolutely trilled with our stay at the Moevenpick Saigon. From arrival to departure, the service was first class!
We had booked an executive room so we were escorted to the executive lounge for checkin. Upon checkin we realized my husband had misplaced his wallet, and the driver who had picked us up at the airport quickly took my husband back to try and locate his wallet at the airport. The drive to the airport is not long, and it was a matter of minutes before the reception desk called me informing me that he had located his wallet. Phew!
We enjoyed all the perks of staying in an executive room (airport pick up, breakfast & drinks in the lounge, free laundry (3 pieces per day)... I'm sure there is more, but that is all I recall!). The room was great - spacious, great bedding & bed, and the bathroom was awesome (speaker for the tv so you could watch it in the tub!). We ordered sushi to the room a few times and it was great (they have an all you can eat sushi night in the restaurant for about $10/pp as well if I'm not mistaken).
The pool was great (quiet and private), and my husband reported that the massage at the spa was excellent!
The hotel is outside the city center which didn't bother us as it was easy to get a taxi or use the hotel shuttle to get to the center.
We had no view from our room (it faced an inner courtyard), but this wasn't really a big deal. There were many events going on in the hotel (weddings and a fashion show), which made for a colorful parade of characters through the lobby.
My daughter's only complaint was that there was only 1 cartoon channel, otherwise, she too really enjoyed our time there!
We would highly recommend this hotel to others, it is a top notch place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 253 Nguyen Van Troi, Ward 10, Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#7 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#42 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A focal point of the bustling Phu Nhuan District, the Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon is a 10-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, 20 minutes from city centre. Combining five-star luxury with Vietnamese hospitality, we make it our business to anticipate your every need, whatever the reason for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Ho Chi Minh City
Omni Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.