We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Saigon Plaza to your Saves list
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trendy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I absolutely loved the details and decor at the Sofitel Saigon Plaza. They had beautiful fresh floral arragements everywhere and in the evening, candles were lit every where as well.
We had a king bed with the city view. There was a seating area as well as a vanity area. For Asia standards - this room is huge.
I loved the room decor and color palettes - and adored that the rooms were modern and fused with beautiful Asian details. Like a bird cage, or an Asian design motif in their sidetables.
We ordered room service a few times and it was great. Very tasty and clean - and they bring it up on a beautiful table on castors with a vase of flowers and a candle. It's expensive compared to what you pay for on the streets in Ho Chi Minh. But you are staying at one of their nicer hotels.
The rooftop pool was really nice. Especially after a morning of hustle and bustle in the humid and hot city - jumping into that pool with a glass or rose or a beer was just perfect.
I was really disappointed by the spa though. The spa shared space with the fitness centre - which was great btw. The reception staff were quite friendly. But the spa was really small and didn't have much to it. No hot tubs, or lounge area. I'm accustomed to the therapist leaving the room when I disrobe and get onto the massage table. However, my therapist stayed in my room and waited for me to undress. Very uncomfortable. The massage itself was ok. But i was not able to relax the entire time because the staff out at the reception desk were so loud - they were almost shouting at each other for a whole hour! It was very frustrating. My therapist also left the room for about 5 minutes part way through the massage. I hope the hotel will commit some time to better training so that their spa can align with the rest of their hotel image (i.e. professionalism and better standards of service and facilities).
The front desk staff and the pool staff were great though. Very polite and their communication was great. However, I didn't know about their shuttle service until I read someone's review on here today. On our last night, I called the front desk to book a shuttle to the airport and they were going to charge us $60-$65USD. I think that's a bit steep (taxis are only around $20?).
All in all - the hotel is very lovely. It's clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are spacious and the food is good. The spa was a thumbs down. And even though we told the hotel we were on our honeymoon - we didn't get anything. No offers to upgrade, no little welcome fruit plate. Nada. If you ask for something they'll make sure to get it to you, but don't expect them to go above and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for pointing out the areas of improvement for the Spa. We will convey those and discuss them with the Management of the Spa in order to improve the service provided.

The airport transfer by hotel car can be arranged at a charge of about USD 59 net per way. It is done in the latest model of Mercedez car. If indeed a taxi would cost about USD 15, the level of service as well as the quality and comfor of the car do not compare with the hotel service. It is definitely at the discretion on guests to chose which option is preferred.

We are sorry that our staff did not follow up on your informing about your being on honeymoon and express our heartfelt congratulations and best wishes for a long and happy life together.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Saigon.

With our thanks and best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    241
    73
    14
    4
See reviews for
88
384
44
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're going for one of the big-brand hotels in Ho Chi Minh City then this it might as well be this one. Good public areas, spacious well-designed rooms, excellent18th-floor swimming pool, friendly service, this is a very good hotel, and could be anywhere. My only criticism is the food. Given the astonishingly good food you can find everywhere in the city and very low prices, lunch and snacks here were disappointing. The buffet lunch isn't much better than you might get on 'Asian Day' at a secondary school canteen. But if that troubles you, you don't need to go far to get better. Breakfast, though, was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment on the food.

Our all-day dining provides a buffet lunch for USD 24++, a price in line with what other international hotels offer for a similar spread of dishes; this price is definitely below what one would pay in Australia, USA or Europe, and can be considered very reasonable.

As you rightly mentioned, there are far cheaper alternatives around all international hotels. However they do not offer the same environment and hygiene nor the same lunch options, being mostly a la carte. It is then up to each person to chose what suits one best.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Saigon.

With our thanks and best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

After what was supposed to be an upgrade we had already paid for in our deal we were asked did we want to pay for another upgrade to a bigger room on the Club Floor which we declined. Very disappointed in our room after travelling around Vietnam for almost 3 weeks this was by far the worst room we had . Room was very small . All in all the Sofitel didn't live up to what I had expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to read that you felt disappointed with the size of your room and that it impacted your overall experience. Your package was priced on a superior room with upgrade to Luxury room and you elected to pay a supplement to have access to Club benefits and Lounge (dedicated breakfast, afternoon drinks and snacks, evening cocktail, late check-out). This supplement did not however provide an upgrade to Club Luxury room.

We wish to point out that our rooms were all renovated less than 2 years ago and that most of our guests are happy with their design and overall feel.

Once again we are sorry that you felt disappointed and would suggest, should you visit again Saigon and chose our hotel, to opt for a club floor room or even a suite for an even greater level of comfort.

With our thanks and best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel and would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the location. Next time I would stay where the Caravelle Hotel is located. The Sofitel had fantastic service, rooms and pool located on the roof. We upgraded and got access to the lounge which included breakfast and snacks and it was well worth it. I read someone else's complaint about the location and the hotel responded that they have a shuttle service. Unfortunately, it seems they never mentioned it to them nor to us. Every time you would leave they asked if you wanted a taxi with no mention of a shuttle service and I never saw a van to indicate they provide this service. Shame on them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken good note on your comment about the hotel shuttle service. Evidently we need to highlight this service more prominently, beyond this insert in our room directory.

The complimentary shuttle runs at fixed hours during the day and guests are requested to book their seat with the Concierge desk.

Thanks for having pointed out this lack of communication. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room very clean and spacious. Very tastefully decorated and comfortable beds. Loved the Teddy Bears for our 2 boys, it was nice to think they were thought of while mum and Dad enjoyed a chocolate treat :) large servings for room service and efficient. Pool a little on the cold side but okay for Vietnam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the little attentions extended to your children. Please note that the outside pool is not heated and that it may feel a bit cool after a heavy rain during the rainy season; it is however a welcome refreshment after a day out in the hot weather.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of three stayed at the Sofitel at HCMC for 7 nights in June 2014. The trip to Vietnam was rather last minute as our plan had been to visit Thailand but we cancelled that in light of the recent political unrest.

We chose a Prestige Suite for our stay as this allowed more room for the three of us. This enabled access to the Club Lounge which was a great experience. The food and drink offerings in the Lounge were of a very high standard.

The Sofitel is a nice hotel but we found the location to be a bit of a problem. Whilst it is in District 1 it is more on the fringe of activity and is surrounded by Embassies and commercial headquarter type buildings rather than by shops, cafés and restaurants etc. It was a 10-15 min walk into the main area of town which seems fine but this can be a bit tiring in the heat and humidity of a HCMC day. Thus, you need to plan your outings as you really do need a get a taxi to wherever you want to go.

We had been hoping to simply walk out from the hotel and stroll around exploring the shops and trying various cafés and restaurants. That type of spontaneity, sadly, isn't possible at the Sofitel. Our second choice had been the Sheraton and this hotel was much better located for that kind of activity.

We did try to reduce our stay at the Sofitel but as we had pre-paid our accommodation there was no flexibility from the management of the Hotel. I haven't pre-paid accommodation ever before and I'll be more careful doing so in the future. Also, in hindsight, 7 nights was too long for a stay in HCMC. I think 3 or 4 days would be plenty of time for any tourist.

All members of Sofitel front-service staff were very helpful and friendly though. The restaurant staff members were particularly friendly and attentive. I also had a facial one day and it was a wonderful session so I'd suggest you request 'Ms Nga' if ever you're there.

Thus, our only issue with the Sofitel hotel was the location. This may not bother business travelers but holiday makers should consider the 'location' factor of this hotel, or any HCMC hotel, in their planning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

If its exact that the hotel is not located on a commercial street, you may have missed that there is a busy area full of restaurants at the back of the hotel, not even 5 minutes away by walk, not to mention Diamond Plaza department store a few hundred meters away.

The hotel also runs daily a shutlle service to drop off guests at the very center.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Saigon and that you will come again to this vibrant city.

With our thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Saigon Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.