We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Saigon Plaza to your Saves list
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF for Early Booking
Ranked #15 of 392 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel and would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the location. Next time I would stay where the Caravelle Hotel is located. The Sofitel had fantastic service, rooms and pool located on the roof. We upgraded and got access to the lounge which included breakfast and snacks and it was well worth it. I read someone else's complaint about the location and the hotel responded that they have a shuttle service. Unfortunately, it seems they never mentioned it to them nor to us. Every time you would leave they asked if you wanted a taxi with no mention of a shuttle service and I never saw a van to indicate they provide this service. Shame on them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken good note on your comment about the hotel shuttle service. Evidently we need to highlight this service more prominently, beyond this insert in our room directory.

The complimentary shuttle runs at fixed hours during the day and guests are requested to book their seat with the Concierge desk.

Thanks for having pointed out this lack of communication. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    348
    116
    20
    10
See reviews for
138
509
60
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room very clean and spacious. Very tastefully decorated and comfortable beds. Loved the Teddy Bears for our 2 boys, it was nice to think they were thought of while mum and Dad enjoyed a chocolate treat :) large servings for room service and efficient. Pool a little on the cold side but okay for Vietnam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the little attentions extended to your children. Please note that the outside pool is not heated and that it may feel a bit cool after a heavy rain during the rainy season; it is however a welcome refreshment after a day out in the hot weather.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of three stayed at the Sofitel at HCMC for 7 nights in June 2014. The trip to Vietnam was rather last minute as our plan had been to visit Thailand but we cancelled that in light of the recent political unrest.

We chose a Prestige Suite for our stay as this allowed more room for the three of us. This enabled access to the Club Lounge which was a great experience. The food and drink offerings in the Lounge were of a very high standard.

The Sofitel is a nice hotel but we found the location to be a bit of a problem. Whilst it is in District 1 it is more on the fringe of activity and is surrounded by Embassies and commercial headquarter type buildings rather than by shops, cafés and restaurants etc. It was a 10-15 min walk into the main area of town which seems fine but this can be a bit tiring in the heat and humidity of a HCMC day. Thus, you need to plan your outings as you really do need a get a taxi to wherever you want to go.

We had been hoping to simply walk out from the hotel and stroll around exploring the shops and trying various cafés and restaurants. That type of spontaneity, sadly, isn't possible at the Sofitel. Our second choice had been the Sheraton and this hotel was much better located for that kind of activity.

We did try to reduce our stay at the Sofitel but as we had pre-paid our accommodation there was no flexibility from the management of the Hotel. I haven't pre-paid accommodation ever before and I'll be more careful doing so in the future. Also, in hindsight, 7 nights was too long for a stay in HCMC. I think 3 or 4 days would be plenty of time for any tourist.

All members of Sofitel front-service staff were very helpful and friendly though. The restaurant staff members were particularly friendly and attentive. I also had a facial one day and it was a wonderful session so I'd suggest you request 'Ms Nga' if ever you're there.

Thus, our only issue with the Sofitel hotel was the location. This may not bother business travelers but holiday makers should consider the 'location' factor of this hotel, or any HCMC hotel, in their planning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

If its exact that the hotel is not located on a commercial street, you may have missed that there is a busy area full of restaurants at the back of the hotel, not even 5 minutes away by walk, not to mention Diamond Plaza department store a few hundred meters away.

The hotel also runs daily a shutlle service to drop off guests at the very center.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Saigon and that you will come again to this vibrant city.

With our thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Located in business area, and within walking distance to international restaurant chains like Hard Rock Cafe. Room is spacious, comfy bed (sofitel typical), Lanvin amenities and sound system inside bathroom. Will choose this hotel for business visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel Saigon Plaza for your stay in Ho Chi Minh and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our personal approach and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My Husband & I stayed at the Sofitel Saigon Plaza for 3 nights in a Club room. From the moment we entered the foyer the service was fantastic, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much to ask.
Our room was on the 18th floor and it was perfect. Great view, very clean and well equipped.
The rooftop pool & bar was a wonderful with a great view.
Thank you to all the staff, you mad our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for such a great feedback after your recent stay with Sofitel Saigon Plaza!
We genuinely love to look after our guests and our aim is to exceed their expectations.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife was sick during our time there and the staff went out of their way to help - accompanying her to the local clinic and also myself when i had to make a visit for her.

the facilities were great and rooms whilst reasonably small compared with where we had come from were very adequate.

The club sofitel was a great initiative

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Bonjour,

I thank you for your positive note with regards to your stay with Sofitel Saigon Plaza.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many other occasions.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
#3 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#8 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#2 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#22 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#10 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Saigon Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.