We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Saigon Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Luxurious and elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The lobby is bright and spacious. Front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room is too dim - inadequate lighting. The easy chair is squeezed in a corner due to lack of space. The lanterns and cage decor in the room makes the room pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Bonjour,

First of all, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Saigon Plaza here on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very much taken to heart. We are enhancing the lighting in the rooms as we speak.

We are delighted that you particularly appreciated the quality of our servcies and the thoughtfulness of our Front of House Ambassadors.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Sofitel Saigon Plaza soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    197
    63
    11
    4
See reviews for
78
306
40
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kl
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having lived in Saigon for two years, it's always a pleasure to return and we've found the Sofitel to be a home-from-home so, it's become our regular place to stay when we visit.

The hotel has been well-maintained, quality rooms, excellent food and the Executive Lounge has very courteous staff, excellent food and wines and great cocktails from the poolside bar.

The hotel is extremely well-located and just a very short cab-ride from many of our favourite places to shop, eat and drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for writing such a positive review about Sofitel Saigon Plaza or your second home when coming back to Ho Chi Minh City.

We are deeply touched to read that it will certainly not be your last stay amongst us. Please know that we will always do our utmost to ensure you have a seamless one.

We are delighted that you particularly appreciated the quality of our service and the thoughtfulness of our hotel Ambassadors.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Sofitel Saigon Plaza very soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Sofitel Saigon Plaza is an excellent top-of-the-range hotel in a very good central location in District 1. It is only a few minutes walk to the Opera House and old post office, and to shopping centres, or there is a regular hotel shuttle bus (which also drops off at the markets) if you want to avoid strolling in the heat of the day.
The hotel is extremely well appointed and our room had everything we needed, including a view over the city. The staff here are extremely welcoming and very professional. We stayed for three days and enjoyed access to the Club Lounge which offered a delightful quiet sanctuary for a relaxing drink or snack, and as an alternative venue for breakfast. The breakfasts incidentally, here in the Club Lounge and in the main restaurant, provided an exceptional array of options and would suit anyone's tastes.
This is undoubtedly a genuine 5 star hotel in all respects and one of the best city hotels we have stayed in. The staff are outstanding and the service is exceptional. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sofitel Saigon Plaza to any discerning travellers.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to express appreciation for your kind words following your stay with us.

It is a real pleasure to know that you found Sofitel Saigon Plaza to be one of the best city hotels you ever stayed in, and in your opinion, a genuine 5 star Hotel in all respects.
Your praise on the quality of service is certainly the most important compliment to us. Please know that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of our hotel Ambassadors.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Sofitel Saigon Plaza soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The service staff is good and they could provide information in English.
The bed and pillows are extremely comfortable and you could choose your liking.
Location, though in District One, is not near to more shopping centres and eateries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay earlier this month at Sofitel Saigon Plaza on Trip Advisor.

You may wish to know that our Hotel runs a daily shuttle service to the very centre of town, bringing it to the Hotel doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Variaty western and eastern food specially dessert. My familly really adore the cheese buffet each Friday. Friendly staffs and warmly atmosphere will give you a very nice dinner. Further more the price is reasonable.Bon appetit !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in our restaurant Cafe Rivoli.

We are truly honored to read that you loved your experience with us and especially the famous Cheese buffet on Fridays. The largest international cheese display of Ho Chi Minh City!

We are pleased that you liked the friendly and genuine service and rest assured that we will share your feedback with our hotel Ambassadors, generally fond of receiving praises by knowledgeable guests, like your good self.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel Saigon Plaza.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I really love the Sofitel brand. Stayed in Sofitel So in Bangkok and Sofitel Macau. Had a super great time! Location of Sofitel Saigon is quite near the famous landmark Saigon Notre-Dame Cathedral, about 10 mins walk. The nearest shopping area is also about 10 mins walk. Check in and out is a breeze. Hotel lobby decor is abit old looking. The hotel had this very strong aroma which js kind of overpowering to me. Hotel staff is friendly and communicate in good english. Breakfast is average. Had a nice dinner at L'Olivier Restaurant. Food and service is fantastic! Nice to hangout by the pool but sun deck chair is pretty old, could do some upgrading. Room is of decent size. The wardrobe had no lights. It's not very convenient when it gets to night time. Can't make out where are my clothes. There's bath tub with shower but the glass is not doing much to keep the water from making the whole place wet. Reading light by the bed isnt working. Fitness centre is well equipped just a little warm you can feel the heat while working out. As its my boyfriend's birthday, I called reception to ask if they can arrange a cake for me so I could surprise him. They told me I could get a cake downstairs and they could connect my call to the shop if I want. I was abit disappointed that they could not help me with the surprise so I ended buying a small piece of cake from shop downstairs. Later on, they sent up a whole cake to our room with a personal message from the general manager, Mr. Bertrand COURTOIS. Thank you Sir :) I miss the times I had in Bangkok and Macau. Sofitel always left me with very good memories for my holiday. I have confidence in the brand that they could do better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Bonjour,

It goes without saying that we truly regret that we somehow missed the occasion to inform you that we will take care of your boyfriend's birthday! We are trying to get to the root of how we could have missed this from the very beginning.

Your comments are very much taken to heart. We are changing the furniture at the rooftop swimming pool soon and enhancing the sealing of the shower and the bathtub as we speak.
We have also duly noted your comments on the buffet breakfast.

You are very correct in assuming that your stay would be seamless. Our aim is to offer a consistent product and service to each and every one of our guests.

We sincerely looking forward that we may have the opportunity of making amends for this less than satisfactory first stay.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

2 years ago I stayed in this wonderful hotel . What draws me back is actually the food from L'OLIVER RESTAURANT. They have changed their menu , but the food are just as good.

This trip was during my birthday , got a complimentary cake ( wish the cake is less sweet ) and a personal hand written note from Hotel General Manager, Mr. Bertrand COURTOIS .

Hotel staffs are very helpful and their English are good . The taxi driver that I took from the airport , don't seems to know the location of the hotel . Lucky I bought a local sim card from the airport and called the hotel . The customer service was very assuring and gave proper directions to hotel .

Check in and out was fast . The room was also nicely decorated . The best part is the safe, it's the only one that is so big , my 17" laptop can fit into .

The bathroom ' shower area need some repair /maintenance. I had problem preventing the shower head from sliding down all the time. The half water barrier also did not prevent water from spilling out of the bathtub.

Chilling by the rooftop pool was good also . Nice view of the city .

As for sleep quality , surprisingly I did not have good sleep during the stay . Is it the pillows ? My girlfriend also got rashes on her hands and arms . it looks like bed bugs bites , either that the blanket/quilts need some serious disinfect/replacement.

I have high expectations from the Sofitel brand after staying in Macau and Bangkok Sofitel . I hope my feedbacks will be of some use to Sofitel Saigon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Bonjour,

First of all, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Saigon Plaza on last April on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply touched to read your kind words towards Sofitel Saigon Plaza that you consider as one of your favorites and a wonderful Hotel to stay.

You cannot imagine our disappointment reading that, during your last time, you encountered some issues with the shower and bathtub. This is an unfortunate oversight, and rest assured that I have shared your comments with the respective Teams.

Your final experience and what is the most important for a hotel is the sleep quality, and it is unforgiveable, and we apologize for this inconvenience. We have asked our Director of Housekeeping to revisit this extremely important issue. In the meantime I have sent you a personal email to know which room you stayed in while you were here. It is vital that this room cannot be attributed until all the soft goods have been dry-cleaned, carpet shampooed and the room completely purified. Please note that no such incidents has been reported this year still we take this very seriously.

I sincerely looking forward that you will contact me personally at any time, and I looking forward to meet you and your partner on a future occasion at which time we will do our utmost to make amends.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace.Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon.Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's fabulous conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events.Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Saigon Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.