We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location - great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #28 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“perfect location - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Saigon. the hotel quite nice..
We enjoyed a good service and excellent breakfast. The pool on the roof is nice but not as great as it could be..

The location is perfect - you can walk almost everywhere - it's close to good restaurants and important museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    653
    149
    35
    13
See reviews for
242
552
108
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

If this is your first time to Saigon and arriving from a very long flight I would recommend this hotel. It has all the western amenities that will make your transition into the country comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a wide variety of food as it caters to an international business clientel. The hotel will definitely be a refuge from the sights, sounds, smells, and bedlam of the city that never sleeps.

Room Tip: If you have a fear of heights get a room on the lower levels because the balconies outside the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night in November 2013. This hotel was suggested by many people for it's great location and value for money. I was luckily upgraded to a corner room upon arrival on a high floor so had stunning views of the surrounding area, but I didn't spend much time in the hotel itself. It does have a somewhat American vibe to it's design (with the exception of the large interior atrium which made me a bit nauseous), but the rooms are bright and clean and very spacious. The hotel also had a stunning rooftop pool, which although I didn't swim I did enjoy the views from it. Breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful to get me out of the hotel on time for my early morning flight.

The area just outside the hotel was a bit busy, but very close to many great restaurants and shops which stayed open late. So there was much to do within walking distance (without traveling too far).

Room Tip: A room with a river view would be great.. the corner rooms had both city and river views which was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Among 5-star hotels in Ho Chi Minh, Renaissance is value for money. While the room facilities are no longer very modern, it is located within the traditional tourist area and very close to ferry terminal. Church and central post office is within walking distance from the hotel. Visitors can catch taxi very easily at hotel also. Various restaurants and shops are open in the area even during the Chinese New Year holiday.

Hotel staff can speak fluent English and are very helpful. The hotel room is also large. The breakfast buffet is rich but the dinner one is definetely overpriced with fewer-than-expected choices of food.

Room Tip: Book a riverview room. No buildings are in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Exactly what you'd expect from a Marriott hotel: large, very professional, efficient and very attentive staff but - apart from fantastic river views - lacking any particular charm.

Unlike everywhere we stayed on our trip, wifi was available only if you paid (15 dollars per day) BUT it is free for Marriott rewards members, so it may be worth joining.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay there... Hotel location was ideal for me....near to the river and in the heart of Saigon !! you could have your walk around and no needed to get a taxi! I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for a nice stay in Saigon!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Renaissance Riverside Hotel is located approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour by taxi from the airport. Allow 1 hour travel time due to traffic congestion. Taxi cost is around 400,000 - 450,000 VND. The hotel is very well maintained, elegant and comfortable. The service was fantastic. The hotel offers a choice of dining options from the level 5 bar and snack menu to the ground floor restaurant and lobby lounge. The vegetarian fried spring rolls were delicious! Free wifi is a plus in the lobby and in rooms.

The rooms were spacious, well maintained and very adequate for both business or pleasure.
The hotel is located in the popular District 1, whereby there are many shops, cafes, coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance. A gorgeous traditional restaurant I stumbled across was 'Vietnamese House', only a few minutes walk from the hotel. This restaurant was great value, the food was beautiful and good value.

For people seeking a convenience store (e.g. Seven 11) for snacks or that forgotten item, head to K, only 2 streets away, walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Sheraton Hotel and a 10 minute walk to Vin Com upscale shopping mall and office tower.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Renaissance Riverside Saigon and don't have any hesitation in recommending this for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.