We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Illawarra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We've stayed here twice before, and probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ho Chi Minh.
The accommodation is always super clean, and the beds are so comfortable. It's nice and spacious - Especially for Ho Chi Minh City. The food..... Oh god, the food. It's incredible! The Chinese restaurant is just sensational, and the buffet breakfasts are gorgeous.. In the mornings, start off a busy day of shopping with Eggs, Pancakes, Bacon, Dumplings, Pho Soup - You name it... There is always a selection with so much to choose from.
The staff are so beautiful, always with a huge smile on their faces, and can never do enough for you. The hotel is in a fabulous location, within walking distance to anything and everything, right in the heart of the city. I doubt we'll ever stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try and grab a room overlooking the river... spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    484
    114
    21
    8
See reviews for
181
408
90
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. Its location is convenient for walking around the city and our room gave superb views over the Saigon River and beyond. We were welcomed pleasantly and efficiently and shown to our large and comfortable room on the eleventh floor. The breakfast (included in the tariff) is plentiful, with a fine array of both Western and Asian food. A number of chefs cook eggs, pancakes etc. The staff worked hard to keep the area tidy and to see to the needs of the guests. They took a personal interest in us and the helpful advice we received made our visit to Ho Chi Minh City more pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river. We enjoyed the water-puppet show and the view from the new fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Part of the Renaissance Hotel group, this unit is not brandnew, but the location directly next to Saigon River in D1 makes it attractive.
Quite a lot of service staff at or around the hotel entrance, which is OK when it is busy, but almost too much sometimes.
Did have access to the Club floor on 18/F, which was convenient to check-in and check-out, and also for having breakfast up there and afternoon drinks.
The hotel room was spacious, convenient, clean and functional with enough space for storage - which is often not the case in many hotels I have visited. Furniture a bit outdated, but still ok and acceptable. Slightly hesitant to exchange towels in the bathroom, and unfortunately did have a bath and not a shower, so it may be worthwile to ask for a room with shower if you prefer.
From this hotel, many restaurants, bars, cafes and tourist attractions of D1 are within walking distance, and I would chose it again due to the convenient location, spacious and clean rooms, and again with access to the Club floor.
And one thing to add, the pool is at the roof, with a bar, and from there one can enjoy breathtaking views of the city, particularly also at night.

Room Tip: You may wish to get a room with a shower instead of a bath, and maybe a river view room is worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Going to Vietnam has not been one of my favorite things to do in the past. It seemed that the accommodations and the food left pretty much to be desired. However, we enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Renaissance. We stayed on the Executive Club level and enjoy the lounge and the hotel property. The rooms were large and the beds were great. I used the gym each morning and found it quite satisfactory.
One of the wonderful things about this hotel is that you are right on the Saigon River and you have a beautiful vantage point, especially if you have room facing the river and on a high floor. There were several dinner cruises within walking distance that served wonderful sea food. You are within walking distance of many wonderful places to eat. We did eat at the Riverside Café and found it a wonderful experience. Don’t miss Kabin, a Chinese
Restaurant. The food is fantastic. That was a real treat.
Being downtown in the heart of the city made it easy to walk to many of the local attractions. The market is just a few blocks and that is an eye-opening experience. We also walked and got a wonderful massage within several blocks, the hotel is well- situated. I've stayed twice now at the Renaissance Riverside. I doubt that I'll stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you want to see the River get a high room on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My first time in HCM, on business with a colleague, and my home for 3 days was The Renaissance. I can't compare to others in HCM, but in general I thought the hotel was very pleasant. The staff were outstanding. When checking in on the Club Floor (free wifi, b'fast etc) I was assigned a smoking room (I was surprised, in this day, still!) so asked for a change. They tried to freshen it, but later in day found me another room, which was very nice. The hotel isn't really 5* although it claims it, but is nicely situated. Pool on roof is small but with great view, bar on the 5th is ok, nice Chinese restaurant too. Bedrooms are large, and if you get view over river is very relaxing. HCM is a vibrant and dynamic city with lots of new top end shops, night markets and a French style. Good hotel to base yourself.

Room Tip: Room overlooking river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been traveling for business and had the opportunity to stay in this hotel. The accomodations are very nice, the room very clean and spacious and the service I received was absolutely outstanding.

Great location with siteseeing within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff incredibly attentive.

Truly recomend it to anyone that is wanting to relax, or enjoy the area as well as good meals.

Room Tip: Room very spacious and with great views with no noise to be bother with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for three nights in April. Good five star hotel in good location overlooking river and within easy walking distance to shopping centre and market. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Had room overlooking riverfront, plenty of activity going on including watching non stop motorbikes weaving in and out of traffic. Nice Bar on 5th floor, with piano player. Good choice of food in restaurant, well presented. Very nice pool on roof together with spa and gym.

Room Tip: River facing rooms give better aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.