We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst sightseeing in Saigon - would have loved to stay longer! Our Club room was excellent, clean, comfortable, & with all the amenities one would expect from a Renaissance hotel. The Club Lounge on the 18th floor was top-notch: the staff were not only efficient, but also incredibly helpful and friendly (always smiling !), definitely 10 out of 10 for service. Very good breakfasts & snacks, and a great view of the Saigon river. There was a pool+bar on the top floor, with spectacular views, but unfortunately we didn't have time to use it - next time! Good location. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel 100%.

Room Tip: Although nice to have the view, we were told by the staff that rooms overlooking the river, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    510
    122
    24
    9
See reviews for
197
425
94
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for bonus points I had collected from Marriott, so not sure if this hotel is value for money. But we enjoyed our stay very much. Upon arrival we were taken to the 7th floor for check-in as we had booked an executive room. We were served welcome drinks and were upgraded to a room with river-view, very nice at night but not quite as nice during the day.
Unfortunately, our 2-year old got sick on the second night but service came quickly and changed the sheets and towels. As we slept in on the first morning, we did not get to enjoy the breakfast. We also got a little confused about whether it was included or not, because our "welcome letter" stated we could bring guests for an extra charge. I had to call the reception for them to confirm that we had bed and breakfast. Other than that we really liked our room and service was so nice, everyone from the restaurant workers to the doormen to the receptionists. We decided to keep our room until 18 pm at an 50$ surcharge due to our daughter's sickness and did not regret this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is in a good location for exploring Ho Chi Minh. It has a brilliant roof top pool with panoramic views. My room was large but appeared a bit worn. The shower was good and powerful enough. The beds were comfortable with very soft pillows which some people may not like, there is also a large coffee machine in the room which i did not use. Breakfast was a problem as the main dinning room was full i had to use the smaller one upstairs, however i was lucky as some people had to wait for a table. the breakfast itself was ok but service was a bit poor. Although Wi Fi was free in public areas there was a charge to use it in your room. I was quoted a price for a late check out but on checking out the next evening the price had doubled, i contacted Marriott rewards and got this refunded but i was not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've arrived to the hotel after 10 hours flight and I was glad that the process of registration took just five minutes. After two minutes more I entered to the big room with big bad and two chairs. Room is clean and it's checked twice a day. Three big pillows - thats what I like! TV has only 12 channels, but who really needs that stupid box! Especcially when wi-fi (free) works perfectly. Also, you can find here a box of connectors (HDMI, USB, etc). If you want tea or coffee, please use cattle and coffee-machine. Bathrobe and slippers are ready for your visits to spa or pool. Hotels roof is the great place to make some nice pictures. Or just seat with beer and to admire sunset. Breakfest is served from 6a.m. Try fresh exotic fruits jucies and you will feel good all the day.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in the morning, take a cityview rooms. Also, it's allowed to smoke in the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I actually stayed there for 2 weeks for a business trip. Very good breakfast. Great location, near to tourist areas and big malls like Parkson and Vincom Centre. But the problem with the hotel is the bed pillows. I got a queen bed and they gave me 6 pillows. All pillows are extremely soft so there is no head support for good sleep. I did not get even one good nite sleep ;(

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there for a week recently. We were on the club floor in a room with river views. Not sure why there are so many negative reviews. We found the hotel to be very much up to Marriott standards.

The club lounge is one of the best we have experienced - it is worth the money to upgrade to. The breakfast was included in the restaurant downstairs and it was OK, Had lunch at the Chinese restaurant (Beijing duck) and it was really good. The swimming pool is on the roof - amazing views of the city from up there.

The hotel is located very close to all the major attractions, shopping and restaurants. Vinasun taxi rep is outside the hotel and getting a taxi is easy and very cheap.

Went on a couple of tours - the Meekong Delta tour was worthwhile.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good things: Pillows (really good and soft!), the breakfast buffet (tasty!), and the rooftop pool and bar with view of the Saigon river, and an awesome espresso machine in your room with black porcelain cups.

But everything else makes it feel like a run down hotel (at not so run down prices!). The city view room gapes into the building right across the street making it impossible to open the curtains. The staff is smiling, genuine but not up to the mark!. A simple request of 'let my company car to stand near the hotel if I am late by 15 mins' required 2 people shoving excuses until I gave up.

But the funniest thing by far was with the curtains. Curtains are not electronically controlled and one can use rods to move them. One of the rods came out from the curtain. Every evening I would come after that to find the rod neatly put in symmetry with the wall. But no one bothered to fix it. The rooms are at best, are not very comfortable (shower terrible, hair dryer can't be connected in the bathroom, bad shampoo bottles etc. etc.); and the food is quite expensive even when compared to other 5 stars in Siagon. And TV is terrible as well: hardly 10-12 popular channels, a few channels with distorted voice and picture quality. Phew...

I got to spend less than 10 hours each day in room of which I was sleeping for 7; so I never had a chance or reason to complaint.

I think you can spend your $ at a better place. Save your points for better Marriott!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.