We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Swimming Pool the best feature!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #20 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rooftop Swimming Pool the best feature!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hotel itself has absolutely no character. Bellman tried to sell me tours as his second job was a tour operator on my arrival. Lobby is sterile and the 5th floor Atrium is pretty, but no energy (although they do offer free wi-fi). I am a Marriott member and stayed on the executive floor. Food was mediocre and doesn't compare to the JW Marriott in Bangkok.
I was solo and they gave it to me for $40 vs $55 but for the prices of food and cocktails in Saigon, I would have been better off going to a local place. The upside is that the pool was lovely and although the lounge chairs have seen better days, it was nice to relax in the sun and view the surroundings from the roof. Probably the best breakfast buffet, which is normally $19US per day and is included in the executive rate. Don't bother with the massage. I had a Stone Massage and it was awful. The spa is definitely not their priority at this hotel and I believe the cater more to business travelers. However the location was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    563
    131
    27
    11
See reviews for
214
465
102
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York city
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

HCMC is made up of 24 districts and this hotel is in district 1 which is where all the sightseeing and major shops are. The locations is perfect and the service was great.

We stayed for 5 days and had concierge access which is highly recommended. The breakfast at the hotel is excellent and the cocktail hour from 5:30 - 7:30PM is great. The bar offers wines, varieties of beer and hard liquor along with warm food, cheeses, and desserts.

As for the room, I would highly recommend a corner room. We stayed for 5 days and the first night we were put on a smoking floor since there were no other non-smoking rooms availabile. The room had a musty smell that other reviewers listed (it was on the city side) so we changed rooms to a non-smoking floor. After finding that to also be musty (also facing city), we decided to pay for the upgrade to a one bedroom suite which was a corner room for the remaining 4 days we were there. We felt it was well worth it and we loved room 1512.

After 3 rooms, we realized how to get rid of the smell and it was to turn off the AC which is where it comes from. We finally realized this the 3rd night and by day 4, the smell was gone and the room was cool enough that we weren't hot.

The corner view is really amazing. I don't think it is worth upgrading to just a river view since there isn't much to see, but the corner view is definitely worth it (imo).

By the way, they are in the process of adding Wi-Fi to all the rooms. In the two rooms that were city facing, we had Wi Fi in our room, but none on the corner view facing the river. When I called the front desk, they explained that they were in process of adding to all the rooms, but it hadn't reached our side of the hotel yet. Hopefully, it will be there soon for future guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel is located right by the river (get a doorman to escort you across the road to the river as they seriously drive like nutcases there and I am not sure how we would have got across without the help of the hotel or some locals who kindly took pity on us on our way back!), which is very convenient. The hotel is a standard marriot. I would recommend joining the rewards programme before you visit (it's free via the marriot website) as it allows you free wired internet access. The breakfast offers the best choice we saw during our 3 week holiday with a huge buffet of western, asian and vietnamese food - including a pho bar and a waffle iron! - and was well organised and the service was excellent. The rooftop pool is nice - it was always very quiet when we were there so we often had it to ourselves.

We had room service once which was quick and tasty but of course not cheap.

The location is good for district 1 - an easy walk to anywhere (as long as you can master crossing the roads!).

Room Tip: Join marriot rewards before you go so you benefit from free wired internet access in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Cal., USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great hotel in great location. Rooms were clean and roomy. I would definitely stay there next time I am in Saigon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed at renaissance riverside with my hubby n 2 young kids n I just got back on 26 nov . It is a great hotel and we enjoyed our time . It was a great location as you can walk to most tourist spots - notre dame catheral , general post office , independence palace , benh thanh market , opera house , water puppet show , art mueseum n and to a few famous restaurants like Hoang Yen Viet restaurant and la caprice french restaurant . n while walking ard , you can absorb in the sights n the sounds n of course the dust ;) .

We love the lounge service at the club for US$55 a night as you get free flow drinks 24 hours n b/f n tea time n dinner food n happy hour alcohol , and a better room .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed at both the Renaissance and the Majestic and I have to say although this hotel lacks the history, the service ws superb. The service was outstanding the spa superior to the Majestic and the rooftop pool a nice touch. The staff was excellent and the breakfast was plentiful and varied. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Best hotel ever! Good food, good location within the city...serves all kind of food from continental to asian....service is great with good english speaking staff and hotel cab is available all the time...Very good variety of food for breakfast and reasonable spacious and comfortable room...lobby hall is bright and spacious...a week went just like that without any trouble...wi-fi available in all the rooms :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.