We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret for two is soon a secret for nobody (Algerian Proverb)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahdja Restaurant

Bahdja Restaurant
87-89-91 Ho Tung Mau street | District 1 (beneath Au Lac hotel), Ho Chi Minh City 0, Vietnam
+84 122 763 1261
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,568 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: First Algerian Restaurant in Ho Chi Minh city. Serving Algerian style Couscous, Tajines. Fresh mint tea, Espresso, Great wines, draught beer available. Unique decor, central location, lunches available Mon-Fri.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A secret for two is soon a secret for nobody (Algerian Proverb)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the best kept secret in Saigon - great service, beautiful surroundings and amazing Algerian food.

The breads and dips were plentiful and set us up for the main courses which I chose a lamb stew (divine) and my wife chose a vegetable dish.

Cheb Maminh is the perfect host and was so passionate about his food. All his recommendations were well received by us.

The only bad choice I made was that I never went back again but I will put this right next time - sorry Cheb.

The proverb makes me hope it stays a secret but Bahdja deserves to be praised from the mountain tops.

Make it your night out too.

C&C
(Ireland)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    22
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luganville, Vanuatu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great small and friendly restaurant...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

was looking to eat a real couscous for quite some time now, and oh was I surprised when I found this friendly little restaurant Bahdja listed on TripAdvisor #7... we had an assortment of salad entrées, and ordered the Royale couscous as main... the entrées was good but the couscous was one of the best I have ever had, and to find this in Hô Chi Minh City was like heaven... Highly recommended!!!...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear newlook_vu,

Thank you very much for the review and high recommendation!
As you liked our couscous, we dare to suggest trying out our Tajines. Hope your next visit will bring you the same satisfaction.

Best regards & always welcome!

Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best couscous in Saigon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A friend said her teenage son requested to have his family birthday dinner here and the whole family loved it. With an endorsement like that, we went there for lunch, and the couscous was very good. It was not busy at lunch, so I hope people will come to support it as we need to keep a place like this in Saigon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Manager at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear SFOSGN,

Thank you for your time to make nice review about us and your support!
We are glad you liked couscous and hope some day you will discover a different atmosphere of Bahdja in the evenings.

Best regards & always welcome!
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good North African food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a tiny restaurant in District 1 based in the basement of nearby hotel. The place is run by algerian shef and his russian wife Anna who works as administrator. The atmosphere is nice and cosy. Service is good and friendly but not annoying. The menu is small just with some signature dishes which is probably good since the quality is then guaranteed and one would not visit Algerian restaurant for a ceaser salad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear VSViet,

Thank you much for your review and nice evaluation of Bahdja.
We'll be glad to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Algerian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had been traveling The south east Asia for a month and thought that something else than the south eastern Asian cuisine would suit us fine for a change. We found this Algerian restaurant from Tripadvisor recommendations. The menu is quite short but there's a couple of vegetarian options, too. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. I would surely recommend Bahdja to the friends of North African cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Videnoja,

Thanks a lot about nice memories of Bahdja.
We're glad to know you was happy with diversification of your gastronomy tastes.

Hope to see you again back to Vietnam!

Thank you for your review & Best regards!
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahdja Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Bahdja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahdja Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.