We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Algerian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahdja Restaurant

Bahdja Restaurant
27 le Quy Don, District 3 | 2nd Floor, Ho Chi Minh City 0, Vietnam
+84 122 763 1261
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,716 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: First Algerian Restaurant in Ho Chi Minh city. Serving Algerian style Couscous, Tajines. Fresh mint tea, Espresso, Great wines, cold draught beer available. Unique decor, central location.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Algerian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had been traveling The south east Asia for a month and thought that something else than the south eastern Asian cuisine would suit us fine for a change. We found this Algerian restaurant from Tripadvisor recommendations. The menu is quite short but there's a couple of vegetarian options, too. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. I would surely recommend Bahdja to the friends of North African cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Videnoja,

Thanks a lot about nice memories of Bahdja.
We're glad to know you was happy with diversification of your gastronomy tastes.

Hope to see you again back to Vietnam!

Thank you for your review & Best regards!
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went there for a romantic dinner with my girlfriend after reading a lot about Bahdja on Tripadvisor.

We were super disappointed... Since we didn't understand the menu we asked the waitress for some advise. She couldn't help us... Then we asked the host (foreigner) to help us instead. However she wasn't for much help too.

We did also ask for more bread (of course we would pay for this) but didn't come. After reminding them twice during 30 minutes we were informed that they have run out of bread.

Finally it very easily gets very noisy there. A group of 12 loud speaking teenagers sat just behind us and was nearly impossible to have a nice conversation.

Food was very so so...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Chris V,
Thank you for finding time to share your experience of dining with us.
We are sorry your romantic dinner hasn't succeed.
Our team members always try to assist all our guests in having nice time, we are confused how could we not provide you good introduction of our menu if it was requested.
We as well apologize for not providing bread for your needs, by the way, it is a complimentary item, we do not charge for it. Your comment is taken, we bake more bread daily from now on.
Hope some day you will pay us a visit again and experience will turn into "great".
Best regards,
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Awesome tasty couscous and even more amazing Tagine! I wished I got more veggies with the couscous... but all in all it was a great dining experience!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Florence B,

We are glad to know you liked our food. Please, let us know next time about more veggies wanted, we will arrange it!
Thank you for your time to review us in here.
Best regards,
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“An Algerian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having tried Casablanca (Moroccan) Restaurant last week (see review), it was the turn of Bahdja (Algerian) Restaurant this week. Although close to Nguyen Hue and the centre of Saigon, it is on a street that does not see many tourists. The restaurant itself is attached to a modern hotel, and is, in fact, below street level. The signboard was not very easy to see, and the restaurant was empty when we arrived at about 8 p.m., although a few people came in during the course of our meal.

In comparison with Casablanca, the decor is less attractive or distinctive. So in terms of atmosphere, we gave Casablanca 5 stars and Bahdja a generous 3. I am sure that much could be done to make the atmosphere more intimate and genuinely Algerian. Since this is a restaurant that clearly takes its food and service seriously, it's a pity that the decor is not of the same standard and lacks appeal.

The service, however, was excellent. We were looked after by the Russian wife of the Algerian chef (the owners of the restaurant), and very well looked after too. The chef also came to our table towards the end of the evening to ask us whether we were enjoying the meal. Yes, thank you. Although the price of the meal, including two large pots of mint tea and a dessert, came to over 40$ for two, which makes it unaffordable for a lot of people and a very occasional treat for others, the complimentary glass of sparkling white wine and the plentiful home-made bread with spicy harissa and aubergine paste dips were very nice touches.

Since we wanted to make a comparison with Casablanca, we ordered a lamb couscous and a beef tajine. The couscous was good, and the lamb cutlets (served separately) were excellent. The tajine was wholesome, and had the interesting ingredients of apple and prune along with the beef. The portions were plentiful - a make or break issue for me.

We had a plate of Algerian desserts to finish up with, which were delicious. So it was altogether a very pleasant evening with excellent service and good or very good food, only let down a little by the rather uninteresting decor.

It's a class act and is definitely recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Tim B,
Thank you very much for your visit and comment about us in here! We do appreciate your time to explore and compare places serving North African cuisine in Ho Chi Minh city! Being happy to know you enjoyed your evening with us, we feel sorry that you was disappointed by the ambience. Your comment about décor will be definitely remembered when we get to innovations time. Thank you again about such nice evaluation of our food and service.
Our best regards!
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bahdja is a basement, smallish restaurant so you have to look down and to the right of the hotel that it is under. Not so difficult to find. I started off with a tomato and bell pepper salad that was absolutely wonderful. Perfect actually in size and flavor. I then went with the first "tagine" I have ever had, the lamb and beef with potato, carrot. Flavor was fantastic, the meat was melt in your mouth, and the portion size was just right for me. The service was perfect, with the chef's wife running the show out front. Chef stopped by to ask how everything was, wich is always a nice touch if possible. The menu is quite limited to Couscous plates and Tagines, with some interesting starters. Wine list is not extensive but it is good and very reasonably priced. Bahdja, across the board, is priced along with other better restaurants in town.This is the second restaurant in Saigon I have been to this week where the music, interesting though it was, was a touch too loud. It should be part of the atmosphere, not be the center of attention. All in, a great find. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahdja_Restaurant, Owner at Bahdja Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear mainereale,
Thank you very much for finding time to leave a comment about us in here. We are happy to know you liked our food. As for the spot of loud music in our atmosphere, thank you very much for sharing your feeling with us. We took it in cosideration and corrected this mistake! Hope your next visit will be better liked!
Thank you for visitng us & Best regards,
Bahdja team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahdja Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Bahdja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahdja Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.