We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, right in the heart of the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bizu Hotel District 1

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bizu Hotel District 1 to your Saves list
Bizu Hotel District 1
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 De Tham, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi De Tham Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, right in the heart of the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good location for this hotel, right in the centre of the main strip. Ask for a back room to avoid the street noise. Lovely room, comfy bed and good bathroom. Lovely staff on reception helped us book tours and our onwards bus. Really good place to stay

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    63
    34
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
55
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had been staying with this hotel since April 2013 and every month without failed with this hotel at least 3-4 days together with my Vietnamese wife while on my business trip in Saigon.

Had noticed recently they had changed their team of staff. The old team had been smiling and cheerful while this present team is quite strict. They even asked me to pay for my room first in which most of the hoteliers do not ask for payment out front even I deposited my passport and my wife Vietnamese ID. To make matter worse, they missed out my reservation which I called in the day before. Had I not with this hotel for 2 years I would have run away to other hotels nearby!!

The perks of this hotel is the location with the food and entertainment nearby. Easy to get food even at 12 midnight. I got myself a superior room every time i stay but recently always allocate me on the level 1 and 2 without windows. Can hear the some disco music at night till 3am but I'm a late sleeper so is alright. The plus is the wifi is good but the minus is they do not have enough hot water in the evening. Really need to improve on the water heating system.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This small boutique hotel has a perfect location, nearby to most tourist sites, friendly and helpful staff, clean, full facilities and a joy to stay at. Would definitely recommend this to travellers on a budget. All tours can be booked at the hotel itself for no additional charge.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We got ourselves triple room. It was spacious, with fan and aircondition. The bath room was spacious, well equipped with bathtub and shower. Amenities were standard.

But it was the location worth the booking: 2 minutes to Starbucks, 10 minutes to Trung Nguyen Cafe, 5 minutes to Sinh Tourist, 20 minutes to Ben Tranh Market. Lots of bar, restaurant and small food stall surround it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

This hotel is located in a tourist place with many bars, restaurants around and very busy in the evening, so it will be a bit noisy. But for the price of a room in this hotel with a complimentary breakfast, it is value for money. The breakfast is simple with limited choice but sufficient enough. The room that I stay in is clean and cosy. The room is clean daily.

I have earlier booked some tours which I found out cost more than the tours recommend by the hotel which are cheaper than many other tour agencies in and around the hotel. In fact there are numerous tour agencies in this area, so it will pay to compare their prices for the various tours.

I am must complement on their staff who provide such good customer service. They are friendly, helpful and can recommend good place of interests when seeking their assistance. They also assist to call cab/taxis for you without any extra charges except for cab to and fro to the airport which the hotel will charge for the service. Staff that I will give complement are Annie, Kathy, Kiet, Amanda, Suri and Dieu. Of course last but not least is Ms. Yumi Mai Anh Quynh Nhu, the General Manager, who has assisted me in my booking of my room via various emails correspondence.

Will stay again in this hotel on my next trip to Ho Chi Minh city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors (3rd floor and above) will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Unless you enjoy poor service, dirty rooms, uncomfortable lumpy beds and your luggage being rummaged through and money stolen from your safety deposit box, do not stay at Bizu Hotels.

I couldn't believe the horrible responses given by the receptionist/manager (she went by a few titles) when I questioned her following our room being made up (when i specifically requested it was not to be) and our bags being searched. Hotel staff stole well over $100 from our bags and god knows what else they did to our belongings throughout our room.

DO NOT STAY HERE, THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF OTHER GREAT HOTELS IN THE AREA.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

The hotel is in a great location and the staff were friendly. Our room was on the 6th floor so we didn't suffer too much from the noise from the street. Music seemed to dull a little after midnight anyway. The street is packed with restaurants, bars and shops so plenty of options for eating and drinking on a budget. Bed was very comfy and shower was hot so couldn't complain at all with the room although it was on the small side. For the price, I doubt you would find better in this area. Front desk are happy to help book taxis and tours and advise on how to find certain parts of the city (although they were asleep when we came down to catch our early cab, same as another reviewer experienced). This is not a 5 star hotel by any stretch but it does do the job if you are exploring Ho Chi Minh City. One great thing to check out is the bbq which is open on the steps of the hotel every night - very tasty and very cheap!

Room Tip: The higher the better to escape the noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bizu Hotel District 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bizu Hotel District 1

Address: 183 De Tham, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi De Tham Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bizu Hotel District 1 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near tourist attractions such as Ben Thanh Market, HCMC Central Post Office, Reunification Palace, Municipal Theater Saigon Opera House and The Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral. It’s suitable for either leisure travelers or business travelers who wish to stay in the most convenient location.Located right in the heart of the tourist area - the intersection of the famous De Tham, and Bui Vien street, the hotel offer great convenience for tour booking, shopping, eating, drinking , spa, massages , and nightlife entertainment. Name it, you mostly may have it just out side the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bizu Hotel District 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bizu Hotel District 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.