We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bizu Hotel District 1

Save Saved
You added Bizu Hotel District 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bizu Hotel District 1
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   183 De Tham, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi De Tham Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 356 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is little bit small, but it's more than enough for a short stay ! I love staffs here, they are very friendly, always smile at you every time they see you up or down !

You should take the side or back room because 2 big bars are near the front, they turn heavy music all night !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
6
37
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If it wasn't for the loud music being kicked out until the early hours by the bars and clubs around the hotel then I'd have definitely given this place a much higher rating. The room was small but very clean and comfortable, and the staff on reception and at breakfast were friendly, warm and incredibly helpful. Book yourself in, but pack earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel, and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Despite asking for a room high up (5th floor) and at the back of the hotel after reading other reviews about the noise we still hardly slept due to the constant noise from the bars on the street.

This place really is right in the middle of the tourist area which is either ideal or not, depending on your preferences as there are a lot of restaurants and late night bars right on the door step. It is a great place to be right in the heart of all the action but not if you like to get some rest.

Staff are friendly and really helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable although quite small - it is let down by the noise (not helped by badly fitting widows that do little to help block the loud music)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good clean room with good facilities. Located in district 1 where all the bars are, so it was very noisy at night. There are also rooms on the back of te building, but they were fully booked. Staff was very friendly and always helpfull. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have traveled in southeast asia for 30 days and this has been the best hotel we've stayed at, from the moment we arrived, they carried our (heavy) luggage, took copies of our passports and in less than 1 minute they gave us the keys to our room! The room is a little small, bas it's more than enough, there have very high speed internet but facebook seemed to be blocked no matter how try to overpass it, but it worked perfectly on my iphone. The receptionists are extremely friendly (especially the girl wearing traditional clothes) they always said hi with a smile and on the day we left the receptionist actually tried to stop us from leaving! wow! The only downside in this hotel is that we have actually found lots of small ants in the room, but luckily I had my insect repellent and it worked like a charm. Our room was without a window on the interior side so it was extremely quite and away from the noise, we heard some guests complaining that they couldn't sleep because of the noise, so make sure to book an interior room without a window, you won't believe how loud this street gets until you see it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days in Saigon and the only reason that this hotel takes 3 stars, is because of it's great and helpful staff.
First i had arrange a pick up service for me and my wife from the airport and no one came to pick us up. So i call the hotel from the airport and they told me that the driver they had did not respond to their calls. So i took a taxi straight to the hotel. When we arrived they gave us a room on 6 floor with a window (keep this in your mind), but the room was extremely small for two people. This was the smallest room i ve ever seen in my life. We have booked a superior room (larger one) and not the standar room that in hotel's site was described as a small one. So after 5 minutes i went down to the reception desk to complaint about my reservation. The girl there, told me that this room was a good one bacause is a quiet room and also had a window and then she show me another room in 2nd floor (extremely larger than our room) but she told that was an extremely noisy room and better to stay in the room on 6 floor. Of course i didnt follow her advice and i made a big mistake.
The new room was at the side of street which were all the bars and clubs...! The night we had was terrible. It was like someone tries to sleep upon a subwoofer in a rave party . Next day straight down again to the girls in reception in order to change the room again. They gave me 2 options in order to choose between two quite rooms without windows in 2nd and 3d floor. So we decide to move in 3d floor in order to avoid the floor near the bars. The new room was extremely quite but inside there was no air at all (no window). So we had to leave our door a little open in order to have fresh air from the corridor . Then i realised that the first tinny room we had at first was the best one in the hotel.

So definitely we will not come back to this hotel.

1)The location was terrible for couples. (the hotel was in the heart of clubbing area, where lots of tourists go there for drink ,sex ,and drugs) AVOID THIS AREA !!!!

2)The hotel's rooms was extremely poor. Noisy some of theme and the others with no window (so no fresh air inside)

3) The ONLY THING that this hotel takes from us 2 stars is because of it's very helpfull and pleasant staff, and because of the clean rooms it had.

TRY TO STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE IN DISTRICT 1 AREA in order to be in the centre of town's markets and sightseeings. DO NOT STAY IN DE THAM STREET

Room Tip: AVOID DE THAM STREET HOTELS IN DISTRICT 1 AREA. ALL THE CLUBS ARE IN THIS NOISY AREA . IF you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here one night, hotel was very good, staff very nice and friendly. Had an issue with plumbing in my room when I checked in, took them about 4 hrs to rectify, but they gave me a room to store my gear and have a shower, smack bang in the middle of Backpacker area and could be noisy at night if you weren't out enjoying yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bizu Hotel District 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bizu Hotel District 1

Address: 183 De Tham, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi De Tham Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 356 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bizu Hotel District 1 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near tourist attractions such as Ben Thanh Market, HCMC Central Post Office, Reunification Palace, Municipal Theater Saigon Opera House and The Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral. It’s suitable for either leisure travelers or business travelers who wish to stay in the most convenient location.Located right in the heart of the tourist area - the intersection of the famous De Tham, and Bui Vien street, the hotel offer great convenience for tour booking, shopping, eating, drinking , spa, massages , and nightlife entertainment. Name it, you mostly may have it just out side the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bizu Hotel District 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bizu Hotel District 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.