We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Excellent restaurant...will visit again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of May Restaurant - CLOSED

May Restaurant
3/5 Hoang Sa, Ward Dakao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3910 1277
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Southern Vietnamese family dishes are the main focus of the restaurant. We will welcome you as if you were coming in our home, with smiles and soft atmosphere, believing that good food brings people together. In a French colonial house, we went back to the roots of Vietnamese cuisine as it was done in the Sixties without MSG.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“WOW! Excellent restaurant...will visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my first 'real' Vietnamese food experience and it was DELISH!! My expat friends in Saigon said it was a 'must try' and they were spot on. They eat here at least once a month and the food it EXQUISITE.

Earlier this year, my good friend's sister came to visit. She has a very serious peanut allergy and, when the staff was notified of this, one of the managers (who also happens to have a peanut allergy) came upstairs to take the order personally and guide her through what she could eat on the menu!! WOW!!!

The restaurant itself is stunning and used to be a wealthy family's home. It is so interesting to look into the various rooms and see all the intricate detailing. The flights of stairs with their polished wooden banisters were especially interesting. This would be a perfect place for an engagement proposal. Anyway, I'm not sure what we ate because my friends ordered a bit of everything. All I know is that it was absolutely amazing and I was blown away! Will eat there again! Thank you so much to all the staff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    88
    37
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Our suggestion is to get a taxi there, where you get dropped at the end of an 100 meter walkway. You then walk to the end where a uniformed guard directs you toward the entrance of what appears to be an old French mansion. I do not want to spoil the surprise of the interior or the superb food other than to say if it was in any western country this place would be featured in every Sunday magazine. Do yourself a favor. Also I suggest you book there as it is very popular.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Read the reviews on trip advisor before heading out - all correct! Had a great night out, great food, very helpful manager in selecting food. Nice building, great setting, sat on rooftop terrace, and enjoyed views. our group of 8 had a variety of food from menu, all Vietnamese food, from spring rolls, s&s ribs, claypot, prawns, all great flavours. even yummy vegetables. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hampton
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Simply delicious and authentic Vietnamese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Restaurant is located down an alley without a grand entrance and can be difficult to find. Perhaps you should have cab driver call restaurant before arriving to get precise directions.
Once we arrived at this beautifully restored colonial home and walked in, I was delightfully surprised!
The restaurant decor is tastefully done and the wait staff is attentive. Dishes are reasonably priced and well worth every bite. The food was EXCELLENT and very flavorful. One dish that was most enjoyed was the duck breast-superb! Out of all the top dining establishments visited while in HCM, this restaurant was my favorite! This restaurant is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our cab driver had difficulty finding May but when we happened upon the beautiful colonial building that houses this restaurant, we were glad we didn't give up looking. The owner selected our dishes after checking that we had no allergies and the pork belly hotpot was the restaurant specialty for good reason; we're not big meat eaters but this was exceptionally cooked. It seems to be a popular spot with local expats who all seemed to have bookings upstairs and my only comment would be to seat more people upstairs as there were only three tables being used downstairs and it seemed a bit cavernous given the vast, grand space we were in. We'll be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.