We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service in a nice and quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of May

May
3/5 Hoang Sa | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City District 1 HCMC, Vietnam
+84 8 39 10 12 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,368 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Southern Vietnamese family dishes are the main focus of the restaurant. We will welcome you as if you were coming in our home, with smiles and soft atmosphere, believing that good food brings people together. In a French colonial house, we went back to the roots of Vietnamese cuisine as it was done in the Sixties without MSG.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a nice and quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant is a great choice to take a break from bustling and noisy HCM. The nice colonial building hosting May is in a little alley out of the city center (but still in District 1). Food is extremely good and the service excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    175
    70
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant set in an old colonial house. Ty was very helpful with suggestions for dinner and their signature cocktail. The food was very tasty. Highly recommend to anyone. It is hard to find, get the hotel to give you directions for the taxi driver.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh My God ... A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I dined here two weeks ago with three of my friends while traveling in Saigon. In fact we ate there two nights in a row since we figured why go anywhere else when we know we will get a fantastic meal. I had read great reviews on Trip Advisor about this place so I was very excited to try it out. Since there was four of us eating there two nights in a row -- and we are big foodies -- we pretty much tried everything on the menu. In fact the first night we had two rounds of meals, and I am not even embarrassed to admit it. Pork belly and egg, homemade tofu (the best I have ever had), tamarind and shrimp, tamarind and squid, ribs in clay pot, duck in clay pot, the soups--the soups!!! ... I can go on and on but the point is that if you find yourself in HCM City/Saigon, you must eat here. Tonight, tomorow night and pretty much every night you are in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant in a beautifully maintained French Colonial mansion. The food is terrific, the staff attentive, and the ambiance unparalleled. Highly, highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went to May on the afternoon we were travelling home. Ty arranged the food for us,we did not look at a menu and everything he arranged was delicious. Two great fruit drinks, a lotus salad, tofu, pork belly & egg hot pot, rice and wing beans, all for 400 dongs. The house was beautiful and I just wish we had longer to try more of his wonderful dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.