We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of May

May
3/5 Hoang Sa | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City District 1 HCMC, Vietnam
+84 8 39 10 12 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Southern Vietnamese family dishes are the main focus of the restaurant. We will welcome you as if you were coming in our home, with smiles and soft atmosphere, believing that good food brings people together. In a French colonial house, we went back to the roots of Vietnamese cuisine as it was done in the Sixties without MSG.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

May was one of the most interesting restaurant i have visited in hcmc. It is like going back in time regarding the decor and style of the vn food. so nice, so full of flavour and so freshly prepared. The staff are very friendly and professional. Would recommend anyone to come here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    80
    31
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic local restaurant in saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

by recommendation, we went to may restaurant and we were not disappointed. They had lots of varieties for you to choose. very special cuisines in Mekong delta, even from northern vietnam.
Displayed at special setting, they left a strong impression on traveller with reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We only came here during the day for some juices. They had a very big juice menu which surprised us. The staff is friendly and they have free wifi.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, great decor, scrumptious and flavor some food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Great experience - the food was great and the staff competent. Atmosphere was most impressive with a relaxed vibe but 5 star menu! Definitely recommend!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Mr Ty welcomed us, suggested what to eat, chatted to us and shared his passion for cooking. It was a great night .. highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.