We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of May

May
3/5 Hoang Sa | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City District 1 HCMC, Vietnam
+84 8 39 10 12 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,523 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Southern Vietnamese family dishes are the main focus of the restaurant. We will welcome you as if you were coming in our home, with smiles and soft atmosphere, believing that good food brings people together. In a French colonial house, we went back to the roots of Vietnamese cuisine as it was done in the Sixties without MSG.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A complete dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Like many reviews before, we ate there on recommendation from the food tour in Hoi An. The venue, food and service was amazing, and the conversation with the manager, Ty, made it a complete culinary experience.

Ask Ty to pick your menu. Our mouths are watering just thinking about the tofu and pork that we had. Ty explained the dishes and you can see the passion he has for his food and cooking.

If you don't have their business card (which has directions on the back), print out a map so you can show the taxi driver where it's located, as it's a bit tucked away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    76
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best food in 2 weeks in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As recommended by Taste of Hoi An Food Tour, we made a reservation at May Restaurant and took a cab. What a surprise to find this lovely colonial house down a small alley! We asked for Mr. T and followed his recommendations; our favorites were baby squid in tamarind sauce and fried tofu with shredded lemongrass & chili. We had incredible food at an VERY reasonable price. In fact, we went back the next day for lunch! You should try it before this well kept secret gets out…

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charlatans - not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a late review as we went here in begin of october.
When looking in TA we see this again and write this review because we see the big differnce in the reviews. For us it was not good. A bad experience. For example we ordered the duck, paid around 200.000 VND for it. What we get was a small piece of dry horrible tasting and complete dry duck.
As I'm Vietnamese and live my whole live in Saigon I can only say the food is not good. Or it was to dry or just have no taste.
Compared with other Vietnamese restaurants of this class, it is bad. I think if they would split the prices in 2 and try to cook delicious it would be good. But with this prices you can go many places where you can have very good food in Saigon. But maybe its my taste because I see that people from Brisbane love this restaurant a lot. For me and my husband it was not good, actually very bad... sorry to say.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love May!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Visited May on a recommendation and weren't disappointed. We all enjoyed our dishes (tofu, salad, duck with ginger, pork claypot, fish in passionfruit, greens, homemade ice cream, signature cocktails) very much. The service was exceptional. The price was right. What a great night!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited May following a recommendation from Neville, the wonderful food-tour man in Hoi An, and we weren't disappointed.

We asked Ty, the maitre-de if he could select a good menu for us. It was a wonderful experience and he picked out some really interesting food. My foody partner was in heaven. We ate all the delicious food with relish, surrounded by the wonderful atmosphere of the restaurant and the discreet but attentive waiting staff.

But the thing which really made our evening was talking to Ty after our meal. He was keen to know that we'd had a good evening (we really had!) and he told us all about himself - he's an amazing man.

This place is a gem

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.