We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair for fine dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ly Club

Ly Club
143 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia . District 3 . Ho Chi Minh City | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84.8. 3930 5588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,734 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: International, European, Vegetarian, Vietnamese, Wine Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Set amid a sculpted, neo-modern garden featuring settpaving and a infinity fountain, the classic French colonial-eraLy Club Saigon villa is located in Ho Chi Minh's centralDistrict 3.Wide elliptical arches, original French staircase, classicmodernist furnishings and refined natural colors imbue anatmosphere of relaxed yet cultured elegance in the loungeand dining areas.
HCMC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fair for fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We tried this place out at lunch time as we had heard they had a good set menu. They offer two menus - Vietnamese and Western - both sounded good but the Western was a little more to my taste.

The food is elegantly displayed and the three courses were just enough for a light lunch. The drinks were a little over-priced but I guess its expected in 'high-end' restaurants although when you know how much a can coke really costs it can make the bill a little hard to swallow.

The Vietnamese menu was around the 300,000VND mark and the Western at 400,000VND with no drinks.

The French villa in which it runs it a lovely building and they have kept the decor simple and tasteful which is a nice change. I could seen it as an amazing wedding reception location. The outside area is too hot in the afternoon and they don't seem to set it up to be welcoming until the early evening anyway. Makes a shame though as at first you can really tell if its open.

I have seen that they have a Happy Hour - buy 1 get 2 free - which sounds inviting must go back to try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear VDeLeo,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our special lunch set menu and the nice feedbck regarding our dining room.

Please be informed that we are now offering a lunch wine selection at 95.000 VND per glass.
Our new Happy Hour concept includes a special Mojito selection with no less than 10 different Mojitos to choose from. 2 for 1 Happy Hour offer between 4pm- 6.30pm and 9.30pm- Closing!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Ly Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    49
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went on a Saturday night. They were hosting a wedding and another party upstairs. Despite being very busy we recieved excellent service. The tasting menu for the Vietnamese food was very good. We also had the dessert that has poprocks incorporated into it... must try it! Food was beautifuly presented and tasted amazing. Total bill w/o alcohol was $100 usd.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SingaporeJoJo,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear you had such a good time with us and enjoyed our cuisine. I'm glad to hear that service was performed well although you were visiting us on a very busy night!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

All the best,
Ly Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice fusion cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Prices are pretty steep by Vietnam standards, but to the average Western tourist it should be more than affordable. It's not the best place to find authentic pure Vietnamese cuisine, but I still highly recommend it for the Vietnamese-French twist the food has, nice ambience, and impeccable service :)

Some staff members speak decent English but on the whole it can still be improved. Overall a great experience, recommended if you want to have a nice, (relatively more) posh dinner

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SamuelT1234,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed the cuisine, service and restaurant ambiance.
We also thank you for your kind feedback, we are always working to improve our standards and service.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Best regards,
Ly Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Our best dinner after Two weeks of touring in Southeast Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We were part of a 60 person tasting menu dinner in the upstairs dining room. Service was excellent , the food selection covered a broad cross section of Vietnamese cuisine and the food preparation was good (although some guests complained that the duck was under cooked)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Clark00,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed the cuisine, service and restaurant ambiance.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

All the best,
Ly Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible food, awesome environment and 5 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had our final meal in Vietnam at Ly Club and it didn't disappoint. The whole experience was as good as any fine dining experience we have ever had. Sure, it was expensive for Vietnam but very reasonable when compared with western prices. The food was incredible, service was attentive and friendly and the surroundings were awesome. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear jimmy70_12,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the restaurant ambiance, cuisine.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best wishes,
Ly Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ly Club also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ly Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ly Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.