We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Bistro with good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plancha

La Plancha
25 Tran Ngoc Dien, Thao Dien, Q2, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 6281 8521
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great French Bistro with good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Regular haunt with great menu from imported steaks, Pizzas cooked in a wood fired oven, home made pasta and lots of other French fair on the specials board. Charismatic French owner who makes sure you feel welcome. Staff are great and service always quick!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice good, fair prices but service lacking a bit.....


Will definitely be back soon! They should do some more marketing though - nobody knows about this place and difficult to find online.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“La Plancha ... a well kept secret (Shhhhh... !)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wanna take a break from the hustle and bustle of the city? This is where the District 2 Expats come for Brunch, Lunch or Dinner ... Great place to hang out with your friends ... VERY family friendly, indoors and outdoors ... Smoking is allowed but i can't say it has ever been a nuisance for us (we're non smokers).

This is the kind of home cooking your long lost French auntie would cook. That's why there's so much repeat custom. The service is excellent, the food is excellent, bread made on sight in their wood fire oven is mouth watering, and it won't break the bank.

SPECIAL OCCASION? here's my experience: My nephew was visiting from France. I had arranged for the local bakery to deliver a cake (La Plancha has deserts but no cakes). At the end of our main course ... we had a power outage (which happens regularly in HCMC) ... just after the *sigh* that comes with that, we found our table surrounded by the staff singing Happy Birthday, by the end of the song, the whole restaurant was singing happy Bday. It brought my nephew to (happy) tears. It hadn't been a power outage at all. The way they did it was just above and beyond dim the ight bring out the cake and sing the song. It definitely was an experience.

TIP: Bring cash as they don't take cards

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Great French Food - nice atmosphere - attentive host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I eat here about once every two weeks with a French collegue.. I cant fault this place for the value, quality of food and service -but I dont like (hate) the internal smoking policy - but that is part of being in a french restaurant. The external bakery and whole atmosphere just fits together well - excellent prices

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“comme a la maison ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

sweet home .......
just same at home , the only difference will be in the end , you need to pay he he he .......
correct price , correct food , correct service ......

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plancha also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Plancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plancha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.