We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, bun experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bun Saigon

Bun Saigon
73 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
08 62762609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #592 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Fun, bun experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well, we found this place by chance (because we couldn't find a salt-of-the-earth restaurant in the area). We were quite surprised by how clean this little restaurant was: clean tables, clean chairs, clean floors and walls. Clean, yes!

As you can probably tell, I am not at all interested in eating street food anywhere, even in Vietnam. So, it is nice to find a place like Bun Saigon, where one can get off the chaotic and dirty streets, and dine more comfortably in an establishment that is well cared for.

The Vietnamese food served was really elemental, nothing fancy; the bun I ordered was light, fresh, flavourful, and healthy. They serve well chilled local beers only, sorry, no vino. The service team were very caring - they smiled and giggled at us most of the time.

One can't go wrong popping-in, especially, if street food is not your thing, or, you need a break from that rustic, cheaper than cheap scene.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Average Vietnamese all noodles in a bright and clean setting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our first visit at this location, one of many from a small sized chain. Here you will find most of Vietnamese popular noodles dishes, from all regions of the country. There is a good selection of dishes, but the quality is only in the average range. The restaurant is very clean, modern, average in size, does have A/C, and closed at 10 pm. Waiters and waitresses are courteous. Compared to other restaurants with similar dishes in the close-by vicinity (District 1, by Ben Thanh Market), this one is more on the expensive side. If you want to taste authentic all noodles dishes, there are better restaurants around, for the same or better prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEast Asia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Expensive for...Bun Thit Nuong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I went to Bun over Tet holiday, because it one of the few restaurants open at the time.

It used to be called "I (heart) Bun", but they recently changed the name. It wasn't terrible, but I would still prefer to get my noodles elsewhere as it feels pretty touristy and isn't that great of a value. In addition, they raised the price 15% for Tet, which is common, but still- it was too expensive for a little bowl of noodles.

The restaurant is clean, and the service was good.... but a comparable competitor would be Pho 2000, which is tastier in my opinion.

I haven't been back here, and don't plan to go back anytime soon

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasPlaces
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A bit like a Country Kitchen or Perkins of Vietnam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Bun Saigon appears to be a dine-in chain restaurant featuring Viet foods. That is not a negative, in this case. If you are looking for reasonably authentic Viet foods, in a relatively clean environment, probably complying with many international standards, at a "locals" price, this is a great place to dine. I ate there twice due to the tasty dishes at modest prices. Service was good, too. No upcharges for being foreign were detected.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bun Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Bun Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bun Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.