We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel at a Great Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ruby River Hotel to your Saves list
Ruby River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel at a Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Ruby River Hotel for our entire stay in Ho Chi Minh City. We actually booked the hotel online before leaving Malaysia so didn't really know what to expect - from the hotel or the city. I believe the hotel was listed as 3 star, but I would rate it higher. The hotel is quite small - well, tall and narrow like most of the buildings in HCMC seem to be. The room was a pretty good size though, and we had our own en suite which was very clean and fully functional. The reception staff are very sweet and incredibly friendly, and each of the door men were friendly and helpful - hailing cabs for us and giving us disposable ponchos (we went in the wet season) as well as putting up with me asking them things like where to buy beer, despite me not speaking Vietnamese at all.

The location of the hotel was great, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    171
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
179
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in late July for 3 nights. Great hotel well worth the price rooms spotless everything worked, good location for market and nice restaurants close by all with in walking distance. staff very polite, friendly ,and helpful. Breakfast self service lots of selections and fresh and eggs any which way you want very yummy. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

3 star hotel but could be 4 star. Everything about this hotel is excellent; the politeness and helpfulness of the staff, its spotlessly clean, good breakfast, especially the yoghurt, rooms bit on the small side but compact with everything you will need. Walking distance to the market and local restaurants. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Johor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I book a deluxe room with a jacuzzi bathtub and the room is located a the back is quieter.
This hotel great for the price i pay for 5 night stay and the staff is friendly and smiling all the time
the breakfast is good and the staff help me book a day tour , anything about the hotel is good but the bed is a bit hard, hope they change the mattress before i make another stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ruby River Hotel was chosen by our travel agent and we a family of four did two overnight stays en route between Beijing and Phan Thiet and back again. (See my review of Green Leaf Village Resort). The hotel is well located near the market and night market. The staff are very nice and helpful and on check out were very thorough making sure that we didn't leave anything behind. Breakfast was a nice mix of Asian and Western. The bathrooms were exceptionally good. There are no great views from any room. So: why not five stars? It depends on the room that you get. Read my room tips and see why. There is a Saigon Bank across the road very convenient for money changing. On our stay the staff did not wait for a tip. They were very nice people and we recommend it and would stay there again in rooms 1 or 2!

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with six rooms on each floor. Rooms 1 and 2 are the best 'de luxe' in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a treat this hotel is for the price! We had a wonderful stay at Ruby River and certainly would stay here again. The staff is very helpful; the tours we booked through the hotel were wonderful; and the hotel is new and clean! The only thing I would note is that the beds are extremely hard.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I paid $40 for a great double room with all the facilities I needed. Flat screen 70 channels, AC, good shower and free breakfast. Breakfast was great, a good choice of local and western. Good WiFi throughout and friendly staff on reception. I'd certainly come here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby River Hotel

Address: 59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Ho Chi Minh City for business or leisure, Ruby River Hotel in downtown Saigon is your home away from home. Located within walking distance of District 1's main attractions, this boutique hotel features spacious rooms, and elegant restaurant, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Conveniently located in central Saigon's Ben Thanh and Dong Khoi areas, Ruby River Hotel provides graceful, air conditioned rooms with en suite bathroom and free WiFi. The hotel features a restaurant and a tour desk. Popular HCMC attractions are located nearby. Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon Opera House, and the War Remnants Museum are all a quick five minute drive away. Tan San Nhat International Airport is just 30 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ruby River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.