We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ruby River Hotel to your Saves list
Ruby River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

hotel is located away from the bustling road but yet it's only 5-min walk away from the famous ben thanh market. hotel staff & service rendered was fantastic & we had a great great stay. room was clean, neat & cosy. we love love love the luxury bath tub that comes with a jacuzzi function but it was a real pity that we didn't had the chance to indulge ourselves with it because it was only a 1-night stay & we were pressed for time as we wanted to cover hcm city as much as we could. it would be lovely if we could stay longer. still, thumbs-up! for ruby river hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    149
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
153
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very nice for its price. The Ruby River hotel is well situated on a small street near most of the hustle and bustle of District 1. When we checked in, they informed us that since it was the shoulder seaso, they had upgraded us to a nicer room, which was much appreciated. The room was small, but the twin size beds were more than fine for one night's sleep. The shower was one of those Japanese-built showers with all the gadgets; none of them were operational, but if you're just looking for a quick rinse, then whatever. All things considered, Ruby River's amenities are just a step up from basic. What makes the hotel very good is the service and the location. For its price, it's worth it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice place & value for money. Walking distance around 3minutes to benh thanh market. Clean room, friendly hotel staff, nice breakfast (especially the yogurt,yummy!). Will recommend it to friends & family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is small, and the price is cheap.
But all the staff is friendly, and cope with the traveller's request kindly.
I felt their behavior is as same as the top-rated hotel.
When I requested the staff to charter a taxi, he always instructed the taxi driver to use the meter.
When the last day, I had to leave this hotel early morning. My check out time was 6 o'clock, and the breakfast start at 6:30. But they offered me to have breakfast. I appreciated for their hospitality.
Next opportunity, I will stay this hotel certainly.
I highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Average hotel but the staff tries hard to please.Location wise, a bit far from the market.Nothing much downstairs of the hotel unlike hotels like Grandsilverland where you go downstairs and there are many food, shops and market nearby.The rooms are not big but it is clean and comfortable. Unfortunately,I had problems with the safe,booked a Ruby double room but got a room with 2single beds joined together.Had 2 blankets joined together as 1 was not big enough to cover from the toes to my chest. There were ants on the table.I was moved to another room as I wasn't happy with my twin room.Unfortunately ,after coming back from a day of walking,I was tired and wanted to shower before I take a short nap,to my amazement my door could not lock.I had to wait a while before it got fixed!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a better room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good central hotel with nice rooms, small bathroom but very adequate. Very attentive and helpful staff. Good variety of breakfast foods - could have dinner meal for breakfast as such a wide range- better cereal would be nice and real fruit juice. Could hear next door room through the bathroom wall which wasn't so great, but only criticism.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The breakfast was better than in most cheap hotels in Vietnam and almost this earns this little hotel the fourth star. Room was huge and had a jacuzzi tub and a big window towards a busy street. There are so many cheaper hotels to choose from in HCMC that I doubt that I will be back in this one but it is a perfectly fine good little place to stay. Bed is on the hard side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby River Hotel

Address: 59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Ho Chi Minh City for business or leisure, Ruby River Hotel in downtown Saigon is your home away from home. Located within walking distance of District 1's main attractions, this boutique hotel features spacious rooms, and elegant restaurant, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Conveniently located in central Saigon's Ben Thanh and Dong Khoi areas, Ruby River Hotel provides graceful, air conditioned rooms with en suite bathroom and free WiFi. The hotel features a restaurant and a tour desk. Popular HCMC attractions are located nearby. Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon Opera House, and the War Remnants Museum are all a quick five minute drive away. Tan San Nhat International Airport is just 30 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ruby River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.