We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but let down by breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby River Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruby River Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruby River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 618 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but let down by breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We picked Ruby River Hotel because of its location in Saigon, and were not disappointed on that front. The staff were all very helpful with directions to various places of interest and spoke very good English. The room was very well equipped and had excellent soundproofing glazing, a bonus in a busy, noisy city like Saigon. There is a shortage of restaurants in the immediate vicinity but there are plenty of higher end restaurants within a 15 min. walk. In the opposite direction, about 15-20 min. walk, there are plenty of very good Eastern And Western eateries in the so called "backpackers" area which offer a very good choice of food at very good prices.
The main negative for us with the Ruby River Hotel was the breakfast which was very much geared to the Eastern palate, for example, Rice gruel and Pigs tail with red beans. The western options were there but very limited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    121
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
115
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On first arrival at the Ruby River all seemed nice, the staff were friendly and we were brought a welcome drink to our room. The room itself was spacious, clean and the bathroom was very modern with a good large powerful shower. The only problem is that the room was so noisy! HCMC is a non stop cacophany of beeping horns and traffic (it does ease after midnight but not enough!) But what kept me awake more was the poor soundproofing between rooms, so as soon as someone above or next to you moves, you hear every sound.
Breakfast is not bad,not exciting but with the usual range of noodles, fruit and eggs/toast.
I hardly slept and so my opinion on this hotel is a bit tainted by it but I think if you bring earplugs or are a deep sleeper then this is a nice hotel in a fairly good central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

+ good location
+ very clean and neat
+ good brakfast
+ nice decor and bright large room with a spacious bathroom

- loud music from outside at 6am (there is something like a music school in the neighbourhood)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I just returned from my stay at Ruby River. My pros and cons are relative to other 3 star hotels I've stayed in while in Vietnam:

Pros:
* Shower - great water pressure, gets really hot
* Later check out time - noon instead of 11 at most places
* Clean throughout

Cons:
* Incredibly hard bed. Most mattresses in Vietnam are firm, but this was like sleeping on a board.
* Paper thin walls. I could clearly hear conversations from the people next door.
* Weak breakfast - few choices, fresh fruit was not fresh, "hot" food was cold at 7:30
* Pushy staff - bellhops expect hefty tips, and they'll just stand around if you don't give one or they think it wasn't enough, despite the fact that any tip is well appreciated at most places.
* Untrustworthy staff - I asked how much to rent a room long enough just to take a shower (I had a midnight flight), and they said there were no rooms, but travel websites disagree. If they didn't want to help me out, they should have just said so rather than lying about it. I called them out on it, and they simply said "sorry sir".
* Location - It's in district 1, but it's a hike to get anywhere except Ben Thanh market.
* Room too hot - your keycard activates the AC, so when you leave, the room gets sweltering hot and takes 30+ minutes to cool back down. (And no, you can't just stick another card like a credit card. The RF tag in the keycard is used to activate).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. The room we had was nice and good sized, although the bed and pillows were a bit hard. Their breakfast was above par and the staff was very nice. A good solid hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was greeted by staff who were eager to help me to my room and assist me with getting about the city. The room was small but very clean and air conditioned. Short walk to Ben Than Market and city sights. Would recommend to anyone after somewhere clean, cool and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is really well positioned within minutes of the Ben Than market. The lobby area and rooms are modern and stylish and had everything you need, safe, tea/coffee, hair dryer. Breakfast was really good with a mix of asian and western food, eggs made to order and even home made yogurt and fruit. The staff were very friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome, fresh orange juice on arrival and if you are sitting in the lobby they always make sure you have a glass of water to drink. The rooms were a bit noisy as you could hear quite a bit from the road and the nearby school as well as water rushing through the pipes in the walls?!. I enjoyed my stay here and would be back because of their attention to detail and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruby River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby River Hotel

Address: 59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby River Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Ho Chi Minh City for business or leisure, Ruby River Hotel in downtown Saigon is your home away from home. Located within walking distance of District 1's main attractions, this boutique hotel features spacious rooms, and elegant restaurant, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Conveniently located in central Saigon's Ben Thanh and Dong Khoi areas, Ruby River Hotel provides graceful, air conditioned rooms with en suite bathroom and free WiFi. The hotel features a restaurant and a tour desk. Popular HCMC attractions are located nearby. Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon Opera House, and the War Remnants Museum are all a quick five minute drive away. Tan San Nhat International Airport is just 30 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Ruby River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.