We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear! All the bad review r correct” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau to your Saves list
Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Phan Boi Chau, BenThanh Ward, Dist 1 | (near Ben Thanh market), Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oh dear! All the bad review r correct”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We'd booked for 6 nights but checked out after 1. Yes rooms are very small 4 meters by 4 meters. No window, reception staff who are abrupt and don't smile. ok I knew all these things going in. It was the small bugs all over the room, the water leak in the bathroom and the very thin walls and noisy co- guests that sent us running .... To another hotel.

I very highly recommend you give this place a big miss!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We fortunately only stayed for one night in this hotel. If we had booked more than one night, we would have left it earlier.
In the chintzy furnitured room we found ants, a big spider in the bed and a cockroach in the bathroom... Last but not least, we shared breakfast (which was inacceptable anyway) with a rat running through the breakfastroom. The staff seemed to be familiar with that. Moreover nobody asked us, if everything was allright - obviously for a reason. Never experienced that unfriendly staff in Asia.

We would never stay here again! An effrontery for 80 US Dollars per night!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Will probably stay here again the next time in HCMC due to its location. It's also reasonably priced at USD30/pax/night for a superior room with wifi and even a PC! Only problem is there was no window and had some ants. Latter is fine considering one of the vietnamese culture is ability to co-exist

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A and em hotel is no 4/5 star hotel, it's a very good clean 2/3 star hotel. I will stay again, the hotel was clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. For the price I was very happy with my stay at this hotel.it is in district 1 which seems to be the backpacker's area of saigon, but there are plenty of good cheap places to eat and drink and it is a short cab ride to anything you might want to do in Saigon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is very posh and modern looking in the reception and restaurant area, however, that is the only thing good about this place. All the bad things are 1. bad customer service. I had already paid for 2 rooms. 1 VIP room. 1 room 2 double beds. When my family checked in, they didn't have a room with a 2 double beds. I had already pre-paid through Expedia.com. So they gave me a room with 1 bed, then charges me extra. In the U.S. when you do not give the customer what they paid for b/c it is your fault, then you do not charge them extra. I needed the 2 beds for my cousins, and they had to sleep in 1 bed. That's ridiculous! I am Vietnamese and I tried to explain the problem to the receptionist and manager. I needed a room w/ 2 beds not 1 bed. I had already paid for room w/ 2 beds. Now they put me in a room w/ 1 bed and charge me an extra b/c the room is on a higher floor. I was infuriated. So I ask them to bring in a cot, and I paid the extra fee. 2. Do not stay in VIP 5. It is a beautiful room with an enormous bath tub. However, when it rained really hard, the roof leaked, and we got flooded. The ceiling directly above the bathtub has mold and water stains. The stairways smell of waste 3. Included breakfast is not good. It is poor quality. Overall, this hotel is better than most hotels b/c the style is nice. However, with the problems we faced, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in VIP 5. It got flooded when it rained. Bathtub's ceiling has water stains and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, for:
1) grand looking of this hotel, although might not be as big as 4stars or 5 stars hotel, well-designed and comfortable
2) Room was superb comfortable, although not as spacious, but for 2 person, it's just nice and very cosy
3) The cafe/lounge bar attached this hotel was a good add as couples of tables right infront of the hotels was a good place to relax, facing the Ben Thant Market and busy street, with a sip of Viet coffee
4) Right facing the infamous Ben Thant market making shopping much easier, regardless of day or night time...also lots of night street food to venture. Love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I like this hotel but I wish I had known that in the evening the market prevents taxis approaching anywhere near the place. For various reasons I arrived at this place with the most luggage I've ever had in my entire life - a 7 seater taxi full to the rafters with bags. Nightmare.

The hotel itself is comfortable, and in the finest traditions of such hotels in Vietnam, has been designed/decorated by an unhinged person on LSD. I liked the big jacuzzi bath and rain shower in my suite although functionally it was lacking a bit. The crazy decor of the place blew my mind and you just know whoever concocted it thought it was going to win awards.

Would stay again if without so much luggage.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau

Address: 44 Phan Boi Chau, BenThanh Ward, Dist 1 | (near Ben Thanh market), Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel A&EM 44 Phan Boi Chau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.