We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon

Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon
No.1, Cao Ba Nha, Nguyen Cu Trinh ward, | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
84862908899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 1,425 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Burmese, Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our family of 3 recently ate dinner at Monsoon and enjoyed the atmosphere and service. The menu is extensive to cover the broad range of cuisines and it can be a challenge to decide - I suspect that your satisfaction with the meal will hinge on your choice (we had two really good meals and one that was a bit ordinary). We chose the tasting plate for entree which gave you a chance to try all the cuisines, in some ways it would have been better to then have chosen a main meal after the entree based on your preferences from the tasting plate.
The atmosphere in the restaurant is quiet, a relief after a few days in Saigon, and the service was friendly and warm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    132
    77
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been here twice and love it! Delicious food; pleasant atmosphere; good service. Will go back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice for an occasion or simply something a bit smarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Celebrating a birthday so wanted something a little smarter. Enjoyable meal in a nice setting, be careful on your map skills, get a taxi. Worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to celebrate our anniversary and wanted a nice place ... the place is beautiful! The food is fantastic, we ordered some assorted entrees we got the chance to try everything and the quality and the flavors were incredible ... is a kind of food fused with flavors of Southeast Asia and in the menu that are separated by region for everyone knows where are what you eat ... it was all great and although the price is European, worth every penny you pay. Even the owner was firing people in the door, calling taxis to customers and asking what had seemed the food ... a perfect place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Monsoon Restuarant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am sorry to say this was a bit of a disappointment. We had seen so any good reviews and walked for klms to find the place. It was our wedding anniversary and wanted something special. Over priced and realistically the food wasn't up to scratch. The staff weren't as welcoming as some that we met in other cafes and street stalls, don't order the squid - a bit overdone, sorry to say.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NayaSaigon, Owner at Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It must have been in another place, because at Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon we do not have a Squid Dish on the menu :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.