We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hello Hotel to your Saves list
Hello Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   373/49 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 702 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Basic but nice hotel. Tiny, clean and tidy rooms. This hotel is suitable for backpackers: low price (18 Euro per night), lots of restaurants in the area, that is safe. Breakfast was enough (not huge, but I can’t complain, it was adequate). The staff is very helpful (suggestions, map and they speak good English) and there is also a free Wi-Fi and 2 computers for the guests. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    56
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
87
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Reasons I'd recommend this hotel:
Very Clean, new, very cheap (22$ for 2 people), comfortable, breakfast included, free functional wifi, great location, very friendly staff that is very willing to help you out.

Drawbacks: No real drawbacks unless you would like a ultra luxurious hotel- there are no pools or gyms. The hotel is off the street and walking to it may give you a weird impression at first just because it almost looks like it's at the end of an ally, but it's actually just a walkway with many local family homes bordering it. Also, this allows the hotel to get away from the noisy street while maintaining a perfect location, so I'd still recommend it.

More Info:
My friends and I traveled South along the coast of Vietnam and eventually arrived in HCMC. We booked our hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and it really surpassed our expectations. We arrived at about 1 AM and the staff were not in any way angry or tired. On the contrary, they were more than willing to provide us with details about how to go out and enjoy the places that were still open. The hotel itself is off the actual street so there was no loud noises but popular streets were only at the turn of the corner. We had a great night in the town, eating easily available local street foods and drinking very cheap drinks on the actual street (yes, these places were all open at 3 AM and didn't close until 4 AM). We came in very late, but the staff was still extremely friendly and very kindly asked us to keep our voices low as to not disrupt the other guests. That morning, we booked an extra night on the spot and the staff was very glad to be able to provide us with another night. They gave us tips on what to do in the city and how to get around. The next morning, we were able to wake up for breakfast which they gladly provided. We ordered Vietnamese Coffee and the staff voluntarily explained to us how it is typically brewed and how to drink it. We asked questions about getting to other cities along the Delta and they happily showed us how and where to book a bus. When we got back from our nearby bus booking, we asked them if we could rent a night for when we returned from the Delta and after checking availability, they informed us that the hotel was full, but the staff then went on to check availability at other hotels in the area for us. It was great. They also asked us if we wanted to leave our larger bags in their hotel during our 2 day trip to the Delta so as to decrease our load and happily did so. On our return, we picked up our bags and the staff thanked us again for staying with them. The hotel itself is great- its VERY clean, new, very comfortable and in a great location; but the staff really makes this hotel great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hello hotel is located in an alley in District one. Yes it is in an alley but most of the hotels are so that we did not mind. I did not find the alley scary. The hotel is clean, we had a good room and breakfast is included.
The hotel had a good location. You can walk to all the sight seeing things. For breakfast you can choose one of the food options and one drink.
We booked our bus ticket to Mui Ne with the hotel but I would not recommend that. We did this because we wanted to have a hotel pick up. So we paid a few dollars extra but the hotel pick up was nothing more than a girl who came to the hotel and walked with us to the tour operator down the street. You can pay a few dollars less and just walk by yourself to the tour operator.
The staff is really friendly and they will help you with everything that you ask them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire, uk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Well located near to busy streets of "backpacker area" (lots of restaurants and cheap beer!) Friendly, helpful staff with excellent English. Breakfast adequate. Spiral staircase and no lift but not a problem for us despite being on top floor.Quiet place- no road or other outside noise, just noise from other inconsiderate guests. Room decent size, with wardrobe, desk, fridge, chairs&table, working air-con, WiFi. Bathroom fine-shower a little low pressure for my liking. Cheap laundry service. Loved the artwork displayed throughout hotel. Booked tour to Cu Chi tunnels with them and it was great. Can't fault this place-great value, comfy and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked a triple room at Hello Hotel through Agoda and received confirmation on 31 May 2013 which was 1-1/2 month before my trip. Then came a nasty surprise barely a week before my departure -- I was notified that there was no room for me at the hotel and I would be placed at another hotel. What was surprising was that the hotel continued to have rooms open for booking on Agoda even as my confirmed booking was cancelled. As I didn't like the alternative hotel, I had to scramble to find accommodation all over again. This is one of the worst things a hotel could do to its guest as it puts the guest in a spot because it gets more difficult to secure good accommodation the closer you are to your trip. It is with regret that I have to give Hello Hotel a poor rating for all the good things others have said of the hotel as I was not there to experience them. What's more, I have to wait and keep track that I get the full refund of the money I had paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Always very helpful and friendly! The price of the rooms is cheap and very clean! Very happy with the service I received! Even when we moved on to another hotel, they were very helpful with any questions or concerns we had, and let us use the computers for free!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

When my boyfriend and I landed in Ho Chi Minh we went directly to the backpackers district to find a place to stay, unfortunately for us all the places we actually did research on were full.

We ended up being directed to the Hello Hotel by another hotel just a few places down the street.
When we arrived at Hello Hotel they informed us that they too were full but asked if they could help us find a place to stay.
The reception called two other hotels and then ended up personally walking us down the street to a family members hotel.

We ended up going back to Hello Hotel a week or two later when our travel plans changed.
This time they had a room for us at $24.00US. The room was clean, and a decent size.

They have made everything really easy for you, with the wifi password on the wall, and costs of the mini bar clearly posted.

After our stay at Hello Hotel we went back to use the computers, and they connected us to a well respected travel agent in the area.


Overall The staff are amazing, they can speak english, the hotel is clean, and it's a safe area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Hotel

Address: 373/49 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 702 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consisting of well furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi, Hello Hotel is located in Ho Chi Minh City’s backpacker area of District 1. The hotel has a rooftop terrace and a dining area for guests.Situated right behind Nguyen Thai Binh Market, Hello hotel is a 10-minute drive from local attractions including Saigon Notre-Dame Basilica and the Saigon Opera House. Tan Son Nhat Airport is a 20-minute drive away.Each air-conditioned room has a private bathroom with hot shower. A flat-screen TV with cable channels, electric kettle and refrigerator is included in the rooms.The terrace on the hotel’s rooftop offers guests a place to relax. There is also the computer at the reception area. Free public parking is available.Have a Western or Vietnamese breakfast at Hello Hotel’s dining area. Meals can also be served in rooms upon request. There are nearby restaurants within 100 metres of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.