We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hello Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hello Hotel to your Saves list
Hello Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   373/49 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Funky little hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hello Hotel for 4 nights in the end, extending our stay by 1 night. We found the staff to be very friendly and courteous from the moment we walked in. They also arranged for us to have a room for half a day, to fit in with our very early arrival.
Our room was really nice. It was spacious, clean and modern, as was the bathroom. The rooms at the hotel are dotted around a funky staircase, which leads up to a roof terrace.
The hotel is located off the main 2 streets of the backpacker area, but tucked away enough to give you a good night's sleep.
We will definitely recommend the Hello Hotel, as it is really good value for money, in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    48
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
77
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in June, first impressions where good, as the staff here are really friendly, however we booked online, but the hotel had a problem with the plumbing etc, so we had to get moved to their sisters BnB (Hotel 138) across the road. This would usually not have been a problem, however i was slightly disappointed to have arrived from a long journey then being moved to a different hotel, and a room which was a standard (but paying for a deluxe online, with no refund) we then moved all our things to the hotel across the way to which we thought we would be staying for 2 nights, so unpacked our things, then woke up the next day and be told to quickly pack up all our stuff, check out of that one, then run across the road and check in to the orginal hello hotel by 9.

This could have ruined my stay here, however the service from the staff made up for this. They were very caring, and helpful. Even provided umbrellas to walk across the street, and there kind manor in general was appreciated. They also provided information on tours, to arrange to see the chu chi tunnels.
Only advice would be to only pay on arrival, that way you won't pay for a better room online, then have to stay in one a little cheaper, with a view of only a brick wall outside the window. Overall the hotel is nice and clean, friendly, good location, and free Internet and breakfast, ideal for travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

my first ever review
i have wrote this because for the price it was very good for what you get in fact we stayed a extra 2 nights
the bedroom was on the small side( English channels on TV) the rooms are very clean staff are so polite and helpful breakfast was good the hotel is at the bottom of a ally and that made it quiet so could sleep the mattress was quite hard but that's my only gripe
i recommend you try going to a local barbers and have your ears cleaned it was amazing and very cheap
one more thing the roads are so mad but honest just follow the locals and its a breeze hope this is helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hello Hotel 6 nights in June 2012. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was included and very good. Could be difficult to find the hotel so request an airport transfer when you book your room. It is a great location - close to the market, great shops, restaurants and local bars. The staff members were fantastic, spoke english and very helpful. The front desk staff and owner also arranged alternate accommodations for us one night when the Hello Hotel was full. We highly recommend the Hello Hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

i stayed here for three nights in late July and again in late August/early Sept for 4 nights.. i had a room with a juliet balcony, which opens onto the laneway below.. very cute room, in everyway.. lovely art work, white walls, and just a modern feel to it all.. i think they have 5 english language channels on the tv.. the staff are just realy sweet and nice.. cant fault them in any way at all.. realy genuine people.. and its them that realy make this place so great and special..

there is an over booking issue that seemed to happen in my first stay here.. room was double booked.. it was explained on my second stay, that bookings on the websites are happening at the same time, so they end up with all these extra bookings they cant seem to control.. so they are aware of it, and are looking at what can be done to fix it.. cause i was pissed off when i had to go to the sister hotel.. which is hotel 138, around the corner.. like a one minute walk.. its a nice place though.. similar set up to hello.. big room, with a lift.. in some ways it was even better than hello hotel.. only issue was the bar accross the road, godmothers, which went till all hours.. (it was sat night though) otherwise i would of stayed there, quiet happily.. so if you do have to spend a night at the sisters place, its actualy not that bad.. its just a pain to check out and in to hello hotel the next day at midday, when i wanted to be out and about exploring HCMC..

even with that issue, i would still stay here again.. for $25 a night (other rooms are cheaper, and they all look the same) its well worth any hassle, from a potential first night mess around.... the roof top garden is so cute and there is no noise at all.. sitting up there you wouldnt even think you were in HCMC.. you could be anywhere.. bliss..

Todd

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in standard double. Very clean room - enough space for 2 big bags - decent bathroom and shower - fridge/tv/aircon/wifi - small but nice breakfast included - very friendly and helpful staff - quiet location down alley but close to backpacker area and other sights. Would recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a room with a big window, but no view. The room was big and bright and clean, the staff were kind as can be and everything went great. There is a nice terrace to have a beer on. have fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Hotel

Address: 373/49 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consisting of well furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi, Hello Hotel is located in Ho Chi Minh City’s backpacker area of District 1. The hotel has a rooftop terrace and a dining area for guests.Situated right behind Nguyen Thai Binh Market, Hello hotel is a 10-minute drive from local attractions including Saigon Notre-Dame Basilica and the Saigon Opera House. Tan Son Nhat Airport is a 20-minute drive away.Each air-conditioned room has a private bathroom with hot shower. A flat-screen TV with cable channels, electric kettle and refrigerator is included in the rooms.The terrace on the hotel’s rooftop offers guests a place to relax. There is also the computer at the reception area. Free public parking is available.Have a Western or Vietnamese breakfast at Hello Hotel’s dining area. Meals can also be served in rooms upon request. There are nearby restaurants within 100 metres of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.