We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ono Saigon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ono Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ono Saigon Hotel
7/8 Nguyen Trai Street | District 1 - Ben Thanh Market, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Zejtun, Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 days in this Hotel. The hotel is very clean with all basic amnesties available. The staff were also very helpful. They helped us purchasing train tickets and gave us taxi cost estimates so as not to get ripped. They kept our luggage for 2 days since we had a Mekong Delta 2-day trip, saving us the hassle to carry these on our side trip. The hotel is also very close sihntourist office and Ben Than market. We recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Saigon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I went to saigon for the first time and choose this hotel based on reviews here. Indeed, my friends and I were not dissapointed at all. Before coming here, I had several conversation through email with the manager, Miss Rose. She was very quick in responding to all my enquiries and very kind to share tips around the city.

There were 4 of us and we booked 2 standard room, however, 1 of the rooms was upgraded to deluxe room with no extra charges as they thought it would be better for us to stay in the same floor. We appreciate it a lot. FYI, there are only 2 rooms in 1 floor.

The rooms were all clean, with complete amenities, clean towels, TV with lots of channel, kettle and mini fridge. The bed was hard, however, amazingly, it was very comfort to us after a long and tiring day we had everyday. We slept sound. On the 1st night there was a black-out at our floor, they fix it immediately when we reported the problem. We had several incidents of black-out, that last only for less than 5 minutes on our 2nd day. No more black-outs after that.

Overall, we are very pleased with the service and the staff were very kind and friendly towards us. They let us leave our luggage after check-out for last minutes shopping, helped us called the taxi to the airport and helped bringing all our luggage to the taxi at the main streets. Their gratitude is very much appreciated.

Oh, last but not least, the hotel is a walking distance to the sinh tourist, ben than market, water puppet show and Halal restaurants such as V.N Halal, and Vietnam Delight. =D

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Ono Hotel again for 15 days this time. Reservation with the manager, Ms. Rose Ha was a breeze; she replied quickly. Arrived at the hotel at 2 in the morning, and Mr. Hop was there to greet me. I stayed in a standard room facing the back; no view, but it was quiet at night so sleeping was no problem. The room is spacious for one person, and a service lady came to clean every day. Regarding the hotel entrance, from the main street outside you have to walk through a little alley, and at night it gets a bit dark but I found that this was no real problem and it was perfectly safe. There was a little construction noise during the daytime when I was there, but it wasn't the hotel's fault. Other than that my stay was perfect. Ms. Phung, Mr. Tap and Mr. Hop will provide you with anything you need, from directions to taxi services.
Outside the hotel at nighttime there is a lot of activity, especially after 9 PM, like little night shops along the street opening for people to sit and drink or eat. About 200 meters down Nguyen Trai Street, there is a Zen Plaza, the basement of which has a well-stocked supermarket with lots of supplies, food, drink, and fruit. It is open from 9 AM to 9 PM, so if you don't want to depend on the K convenient store at the rotunda you can get more here.
Tips: When you get out from the hotel, turn right immediately and after about 100 meters at the end of the alley, there is a laundry service run by Miss Loan. She does an excellent rush job on washing and ironing at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to Sinhtourist tour agency where we booked our day packages. Receptionist was kind and helpful in helping us make dinner reservations and recommendations for morning breakfast. Walk out of the alley and you will find taxis parked there. The alley maybe a little creepy at night, it would help if there is some street lamps along that alley. Superb place for a night's sleep and will definitely come back in future! Thanks Rose and Phung for your recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have to praise the staff for the services they provided during our stay, it made our trip more than pleasant. They helped me to make phone calls, provide stationeries etc for our needs. Thanks!

It's pretty hard to find this hotel alone, so you have to ask around to find the exact location. Most of the Taxi drivers know this place, so no worries abt it.

We've booked standard room, it was clean and tidied. No problem for the amenities in the room. One of the main reasons I chose this hotel because I like their bathroom as there is glass door to separate the toilet and shower which other guest-houses do not provide that and easily make the toilet wet. There is alot of channels for TV. Electric water boiler and mini fridge is provided.

Cons #1 - abit of noise in the morning due to nearby construction area.
Cons #2 - there is only one convenient shop that i could find nearby our hotel.
Cons #3 - hotel located at behind main street, the walkway is scary for me as some cockroaches come out at night.


Tips for Taxi - get Mailinh or Vinasun. make sure the spelling for these taxis are correct.
Tips for Massage - be ready for the difference of before and after services, you maybe locked in the room if you dont pay tips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Ono Saigon Hotel for 4 nights, 2 nights in the Ono Studio (the one with the round bed) and the other 2 in the Albus Studio (big double bed 160x200). Both rooms, which are the best ones in the Hotel, were super nice. Clean, good size bathrooms (especially in the Ono Studio the shower was huge), with flat screen tv and free wifi connection, fridge in the room and sleepers, we really couldn't think of anything better for € 30,00 a night for the 2 of us. Saigon is very cheap travelling with euros, but hotels in this range all cost at least double then Ono Saigon in District 1.
The staff was really gentle and always smiling, they provide a little map of the area when you arrive.
I read some reviews that "criticized the fact that the hotel is not on the main road": you'll be more than happy that it isn't, because Ho Chi Minh can be super noisy at night (loud music, car and scooters 24/7, people on the street) and being down a side street will turn to be a plus.
Note for those who love western breakfast like hot or cold coffe, tea, fresh juices, smoothies, pastries and sandwiches: very close to Ono Saigon you will find various "Tous les Jours" bakery that serve amazing stuff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel for our 1st visit to HCMC.

Good things:
1. Good location - walking distance to Centre of HCMC such as Ben Thanh Market, Saigon Square & Tourist Offices at De Tham Street. Only take few minutes by walk.

2. Room - clean & upgraded version of B&B room type. Daily room service provided, In-room slippers, disposable tooth brush & comb provided, shampoo & shower bath gel provided, bath towels & hand towels provided, flat screen TV, mini-bar fridge, hot water boiler are available. That's the reason we commented this hotel as upgraded version B&B hotel.

3. Hotel staff - Helpful & ready to answer queries such as giving venue direction, borrowing international plugs, calling taxi driver & etc... We do appreciated the help offered by the hotel staffs. A thumb up for them, in fact many greater graded hotels are still struggle to provide 'thumb up' customer services.

Areas to improve:
1. Narrow, dim & dirty walkway from the main street to the hotel. Oh Gosh!! Rats were everywhere!! Feel disappointed that need to pass through this walkway to reach the hotel.

2. Just curious why we been requested by the hotel staff to leave our passports with them. As we aware, the staff already photocopied our passports. Is there any valid reason by doing so? We do prefer an explanation from the hotel.

3. Our room located in level 1, during daytime we can hear noise from outside the street.

Room Tip: If possible try to request room which is located at higher floor. This can help you to ease the unwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ono Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ono Saigon Hotel

Address: 7/8 Nguyen Trai Street | District 1 - Ben Thanh Market, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 585 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in one of the most stylist and trendy streets of Saigon, Ono Saigon was born to delight you in such a comfy, yet sensual sense that make you felt in love instantly with the City, the People and of course ... with Us.Barely apparent to make sure we got you covered, but also comfortably distanced enough to ensure you feel just like Home. With a handful team filled with love for Saigon and passion for making you feel the same way, we bring to you the new choice of accommodation with style and care right at the central heart of Saigon.Ono Saigon is comprised of 14 individual rooms embraced by different characteristics and lives that leave you 14 different opportunities to enjoy different stories every night you are here with us. Topped by 2 chic Studios with modern facilities and unique design perfectly made for a memorable time in Saigon.We are not catered to your purpose of travel. We are born to match your style. Whether you are a stylist, romantic, serious, funky or simply ... nuts, you would find a space here, just right, for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ono Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ono Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.