We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - some quirks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA

Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125-133 Ly Tu Trong Street District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfers
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel - some quirks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall we had a great stay here - the hotel itself was very nicely kept - rooms very clean, staff very helpful/friendly.
While we had no complaints, there are a few strange quirks with this hotel:
a) our room window opened out onto a putting green - meaning that anyone could stare straight into our room - causing us to have the curtains closed most of the time!
b) the bathroom is sectioned off from the room by glass partitions, with only blinds to provide privacy... as the blinds dont join together, you can see straight into the bathroom (if you wished!) - again, we found this strange.

Food was lovely in the hotel, and service was very good - staff were friendly and helpful too when asked of them. Location wise you're right beside Ben Thanh Market.

Overall a good stay, and bar the weird bathrooms - we'd be back again.

Room Tip: The executive suite (712) on the 7th floor has a window that opens out onto the putting green. Do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your review.

While I am taking note of your constructive feedback, I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the food and service.

I also appreciate your kind words on the staff performance.

If you have a chance to return Saigon, we are glad to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    308
    80
    9
    6
See reviews for
102
355
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bear in mind that this is not a 5 star hotel, so on that basis I gave it a 4 star rating but it does what it does extremely well and better than many hotels categorised at a higher level. If I were to rate it in comparison to other hotels at this level, I would certainly give it top marks of 5 stars. We stayed here for 2 nights after flying in to Vietnam at the beginning of an 12 day trip and then for our final night before flying out again. It was perfect for what we wanted and although not quite the most centrally located it was not very far away from those hotels that were. The major plus of staying here was the staff, who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They were always attentive and showed a genuine care and pride in their roles - from reception to catering to tour desk to door staff. All without exception excelled in what they did and the way they did it. It is things like this that make a stay memorable and provide added positive experience. Advice on where to go and what to do was not only readily on hand but always accurate. When we returned to the hotel 9 days later for one more night, we were remembered by the door staff immediately we stepped out of the taxi and also by the reception staff as soon as we got to the desk. If you want to enjoy Ho Chi Minh City and budget a little by saving on paying for top hotels, you are not sacrificing too much here and you are certainly getting good value and experience at the Grand Silverland. They have many of the facilities of the larger hotels such as pool, gym, health spa and while it's all a little smaller, it is certainly good for this category of hotel. I'd definitely recommend this to those who want a more than acceptable level of comfort and amenities along with great service at a value for money price.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the inside of the building don't have windows. This didn't bother us as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear MindsetSynergy,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review on your recent stay at Grand Silverland Hotel & Spa.

I am so proud to read your comments on the staff performance. The staff is our asset and key to succeed.

I also appreciate for your high rating and found the hotel comfortable and value of money.

We would love to have a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just back from this excellent hotel and thought I'd review it whilst it's still fresh in the mind.

Booked in for 12 nights through Expedia but contacted the hotel direct to arrange airport pickup.

Received a very swift reply and good details too, even down to which kind of car that would be picking us up from the airport.

First impressions once in Saigon were good as our flight arrived 30 minutes early and the hotel's driver was already in Arrivals. What's more he had our name on a board printed out and spelled correctly (yes, I am picky).

The car was spotless, well air conditioned and the drive from Tan Son Nhat to the hotel took about 25 minutes. Our first introduction to traffic in Saigon made the journey go quickly and was entertaining.

Once at the hotel the car was met at the kerbside by two very smart doorman and we were shown up the steps into a very cool reception area. One member of staff (out of the five on reception) was waiting for us and showed us straight up to our room and checked us in there. She also showed us around the room (Exec room 602) and informed us as to the electronic safe, jacuzzi, A/C and other things tired brains may not work out.

A lovely touch was a welcome card and a bottle of wine and flowers as the stay was a treat for our wedding annivesary. Excellent service.

The room was executive as per pics and looked out onto Ly Tu Trong Street, there was minimal street noise but this only served as a reminder to our location and to get out there and enjoy it.

As a side note, the much talked about rooster was sighted from our room window, he lives diagonally opposite this hotel at 122 Ly Tu Trong on a balcony. His calls were audible from this room but by no means intrusive or a problem for us.

The bed was in our room was Emperor sized and very comfortable with quality bedding, there was plenty of cable tv if that's your bag (4 channels out of 78 were English) and a mini-bar (chargeable).

Western style loo with soft close lid, decent sized jacuzzi with shower over.

Housekeeping was super diligent and to underline the hotel's attention to detail they also have staff going around after housekeepings visit to ensure high standards are kept up. Nice touch.
But, if like us you don't need your bedding turned down or cleaned twice a day then just put the Do Not Disturb on the door handle. Otherwise they will ring the door bell to ask you if everything is alright.

The staff are also very trustworthy, as one day we left the room in a hurry for a day out and left the safe wide open. Needles to say nothing was touched.

The staff at all times were immaculate in uniforms and I got the distinct impression they were very well lead. Once whilst sitting in the hotel lobby (nice leather furniture btw) I saw members of staff occasionally enter the corner office. But, the staff checking their uniforms and buttons before entering the office certainly hints at a slick operation where standards are kept high.

There are three computers and one printer down in the lobby for guest use if you don't want to use the free wifi. Of the three machines the centre one is the fastest and all are Facebook friendly as is the wifi. The machines are serviced by 80mb broadband.

The money exchange rate at Reception was very good for both USD and Sterling.

We only ate in the hotel for breakfast but this was (to us anyway) better than advertised. With a variety of western or Vietnamese dishes that changed subtly everyday plus a Pho and an omelette station we thought it was very good. As with every other location in the hotel it was manned with plenty of attentive staff looking out for its guests with a genuine desire to help out.

The rooftop infinity pool was also bigger than I imagined and the "Happy Hour" from 2pm to 6pm was good vfm after a hot day out. OK, there are not many loungers poolside but laying out in 100 degree heat is something Noel Coward wrote a song about isn't it ?

Where the pool scores though is the amount of history on view direct from poolside. From there you can see the Bitexco Tower, Rex Hotel, Vincom Centre, Continental Hotel and the biggy for me was the Pittman building.

On the location theme the hotel scores highly:

100m to Ben Thanh market
5 mins from Saigon Square
10 mins to Reunification Palace
10 mins from The Rex/Continental/Vincom Centre
15 mins War Remnants Museum
We felt safe at all times walking around in Saigon, with not a moments trouble.

The hotel is also surround by a myriad of street vendors for food and this was a highlight for us.
We ate at a different locations for lunch and dinner whilst only repeating ourselves a few times. There are also plenty of air conditioned shops and cafes in the neighborhood to stock up on food or fluids for your room.

We did have room service once and it was excellent by the way.

As for the Spa, my wife visited on three occasions and said it was thoroughly enjoyable with professional staff for each of her visits. As a hotel guest there is a 25% off deal at the moment.

We used the hotel's tour desk twice, both resulted in first class days out with no hitches at all. They booked us in with local companies by phone there and then, no hassle at all.

The hotel has two lifts, both of which were reasonably fast, but not air conditioned though they were ventilated by fans.

At the time of our stay the hotel corridors were being re-carpeted, the new carpets looked good to us.

So, to recap if you want a super clean hotel with staff that really do care about you then this is the hotel for you in District 1.
It's location is great for seeing what Saigon has to offer and is very central, or you can stay in and enjoy being pampered in the Spa after a hard days shopping.
You will go a long way before you find more attentive staff with such an eye for detail and customer service in equal measure. Many thanks to all at the Grand Silverland you are a credit to your organisation.

Take a look at our travel map, we joined TA late in life and only review the places we have been to since joining. You may wish to trust our judgment on this customer focused hotel.

Room Tip: 602 was on the corner at the front,not too much street noise but higher floors may well be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Konstanze454,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that you experienced every single service touch we provided. We wish to offer personal service to make guest feel comfortable and taken care of.

To respond to many previous comment, we are happy to announce that the carpet have been replaced to all floors.

Thanks to all constructive feedback which helps us to improve our facilities and service.

Again, thanks for your detailed review and look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. Just around the corner from the market, and walking distance to most attractions in HCMC. Don't miss happy hour cocktails around the infinity pool on the rooftop.
Also a really nice French deli around the corner near the market. Very clean rooms, lots of choices for breakfast and very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Morgans121,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

I am happy to hear that you had a good choice and appreciate your recommendation to all readers.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this hotel in May 2013 in an executive suite.

The room was fantastic, it was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom had a jacuzzi which unfortunately we did not use. The downside of the room though was that it was facing out to the traffic - room 302. The location of the hotel was located not far from Ben Thanh market - it was literally a walk around the corner and it was there. It was also walking distance to many of the major attractions to see.

The breakfast buffet was relatively ok with a small variety to choose from. However, I must point out - when we arrived to the hotel it was check in time and the room wasn't quite ready when we got there, so my partner and I decided to have lunch at the hotel to which he ordered beef strip sandwich. When he received it, the beef was not cooked at all and was pretty much rare! So just be wary ordering beef in this hotel as you may not receive it fully cooked.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and courteous - always greeting and help directing us if needed and english was clear and were all very efficient.

During our stay we also used the spa that they have in the hotel - it was worth everything I paid for. Overall, the hotel was excellent - it was one of our enjoyable stays on our trip and would definately stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room go the executive suite, however avoid room 302 as it faces out to the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mau Mau84,

Thank you for choosing our Grand Silverland for your visit to Saigon.

I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable room during stay. As a city hotel, I agree with you that the street noise is an issue.

I appreciate your feedback on the beef strip sandwich which was not cooked properly. I have brought this to the attention of the Chef for his sharing experience with staff to avoid the future case.

Dear Mau Mau, whether the feedback is positive or constructive, we do take it seriously to improve our service.

If you have a chance to return Saigon, we wish to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in march this year. Our premium deluxe room was great, it was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable.It is in a great location near Ben Than market, and easy walking to several other attractions. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. The staff were easy going and helpful. Next door to the hotel there is a Vietnam tours booking office , which is where we booked a full day tour to the Mekong Delta for $25 pp,which included lunch, and $15 pp for a half day tour to the cu chi tunnels., see MS Truc who also booked us flights to Danang and Danang to Hanoi and our Hanoi hotel .There is fantastic street food on the corner for about 50 cents per serve.I think we would stay here next time we visit HCM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Robson51,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on recent stay at Grand Silverland Hotel & Spa.

We are glad to learn that you overall satisfied with your stay. The Premier Deluxe room has met your expectation with its spaces and cleanliness.

We also like to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and found our staff easy going and helpful.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed in 2 exec rooms for a total of 7 nights. Great little hotel in a great location just a stone's throw from the Ben Thanh market. The express check-in was great with the receptnists coming up to the rooms to check us in. The rooms are spacious. Ours did smell a little when we arrived, but it was fine after a little fresh air.

The rooftop pool is also nice, but small and slightly cramped when there ar a few people. Towels run out all the time, they clearly don't have enough.

Service is very good and friendly. Our maid was lovely and cleaned the room very thoroughly twice a day. The bathroom decor could have been a bit higher spec for a new 4 star hotel, but it did the job.

Lastly, we booked a cot for our son who just turned 2 and were given a little cradle. The hotel needs to invest in some proper sized cots, as the cradle would only be suitable for a baby up to 6 months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear SamOng,

I am happy to hear that you experienced the service touch start with in room check in. This service will save a lot of time and made guest feels comfortable and taken care of.

I also appreciate your kind words on the maid service which made your room cleaned twice per day.

Thank you for your feedback on the towel shortage at the pool and the baby cot. These matters will be brought to the attention of the concerned Manager for their action.

Dear SamOng, thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA

Address: 125-133 Ly Tu Trong Street District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
● Belong to Tan Hai Long Hotel Group, Grand Silverland Hotel is a brand new hotel with high class accommodation and international professional service.● Located on ideal position, Grand Silverland Hotel is considered Ho Chi Minh City’s grandest addition to Hospitality Industry. This elegant hotel is less than ten (10) minutes from other famous business buildings of Ho Chi Minh City such as Sunwah Tower, Opera Building, Bitexco Building, Metropolitan Building, AB Tower, Saigon Centre and Gemadept Tower. Just one minute away from Ben Thanh market. ● Grand Silverland Hotel offers 90 rooms combining of Deluxe, Premium Deluxe, Suite, Silver Suite and Family Suite.● To make Grand Silverland Hotel a perfect destination, apart from accommodation, the hotel offers a significant restaurant – Roof Garden Restaurant where guests can enjoy a special evening under the candle light or with friends, enjoying great blending Western and Asian cuisine in an unparalleled ambiance.● Continuing with the Spa tradition at KL Spa, where the guests can find an array of innovative treatments to relax the body.● The conference hall at Grand Silverland Hotel brings the best of facilities and good service to the guests. Suitable for a meetings up to 80 people, Grand Silverland Hotel can provide guests with everything for a perfect performance.● An outstanding entertainment for the golfer. Can not find anywhere in the City's hotel in Ho Chi Minh. It is unique and fun. Try and experience the difference. Available and complimentary for only in house guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.