We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely good to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125-133 Ly Tu Trong Street District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cash Refund at Check-out
Ranked #29 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely good to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Pros:
Situated right in the center of all the main attractions and close to shopping, eats and drinks. Close means walking and seeing the fabulous stores in the area. Of course, they will get you a taxi if that's what you want.
Very clean.
Extremely friendly staff. Extremely. They know how vital customer service is to their business.
Comfortable rooms.
A/C good...not the best, but good, and I'm damn picky.
Bathroom clean, blowdryer, good water pressure in the shower and not hot to cold issues.
Pool on the roof, is clean and cool and has an incredible view. Bar/food service is reasonably fast up there too.
TV is flat screen on the wall.
Breakfast is more than adequate for the price of this boutique, if not more than.
Shuttle to and from hotel. Might call in advance to reserve a ride.
Book straight through the hotel. Secure, and Terry, the director of sales and marketing, will make sure your stay is everything you need.
Has a real grass putting green.
Elevators are smallish, but there are two. One on each side of the guest desk.
One short block from the main day market which is hot, but fabulous. After the day market closes, there is a street market just outside.
Had a foot massage and the price was great. You're in a secluded, dimly lit, cool room, in comfortable chairs with soothing music playing. Book ahead, but you can almost get an immediate appointment - one hour or more. Also body massages are available.
Pho soup restaurant right next door, but not air conditioned.

Cons:
Has the "key-in-the-receptical feature that turns the electricity off in your room while you're gone. Problem is, your A/C goes off too, so you come back to a hot room after a long day of sight seeing. It cools off relatively quickly, but its not like coming in to a nice cool room.
Lobby A little dated, but, hotel is modern overall.
No shower stall and the water runs down the wall, under the tub to a drain. No mold at this time, but in the future, it's going to be a problem.
Commode is right behind the door. I mean, the door opens up and your knees arerightthere. I'm just sayin'...but the flush is good; no problems there.
Our room had a window, thus street noise. Not a game changer, but consider a no window room because both streets are busy until 1am-ish.
Pool is small, but, geeze, it's on the roof of a boutique hotel.
Hot in the lobby and halls, even though air conditioned, but I think that's just Asia in general. Note to Asia: AIR CONDITIONING IS VERY IMPORTANT TO WESTERNERS.

This is a fine hotel for the the better budget public who is particular, but reasonable. If you want to and expect perfect, this isn't for you. But if you're upper middle class or reasonable, but rich, this is more than adequate and we travel A LOT.

We loved it and found it through the truthful trip advisor posts, not the disgruntled patrons who expect "all that" for nothing.

Room Tip: No window room is best, but if you need a window, mentally prepare yourself for street noise. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Antami,

It is very much interesting to read your detailed review. Thanks for your kind words on the staff. Yes, beside the location and facilities, our business is much more relied on customer service. And this makes a hotel different from the others. It is also a culture we are creating.

You are right that our location is within reach of all other attractions. This will save a lot of money for taxis. We also appreciate your good comments on the cleanliness of the room as well as public area and found the price reasonable.

I like your constructive feedback on the AC and understand that the guest should enter a cold room instead of hot box when returning from a hot weather. Since you take off the key, the fan should be running. I will ask the engineer to re-check the system.

There are also some previous feedback on the bathtub that is not sticked onto the wall so the water can run over. Due to the construction, we can not fix on but we have asked Housekeeping to frequently clean behind to avoid mold and smell.

Finally, thanks for giving a clear and detailed pictures on the hotel via your true experience.

We believe that your review will help a lot readers to make their right decision.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    338
    86
    12
    6
See reviews for
110
385
48
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a great experience from start to finish. Booking was easily done directly from their website. Transfers to and from airport was efficient and comfortable. The room was fabulous. Pool, although small was great to swim in. Breakfast was a great spread. The staff made every effort to accommodate and were very friendly. Spa was great. Overall, would definitely come back here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear J0hannaA,

I am pleased to learn that you had a great experience from the the start to finish at Grand Silverland Hotel & Spa. It is good that you enjoyed the room, pool and breakfast. I am also very proud to know that the staff made a difference with every effort to accommodate your request with a friendly manner. Service is all our focus to make the guest stay more memorable experience.

Thanks for recommend our hotel to readers. We appreciate that and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a surprise for our first hotel stay in Vietnam. Prompt airport pickup followed by smooth check in with drinks and information and maps to help our visit. Attentive staff and a superb room gave the perfect first impression, the pool area is small but what a view of the city. The buffet breakfast was good served with excellent coffee. An abundance of staff always seemed to be on hand with a smile and assistance and its even perfectly placed for all of Ho Chi Minh's sightseeing, bars and restaurants. The room was always cleaned to a high standard and touches like the bed turn down service would enhance any stay, we were sorry to leave and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Tvruscan45,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us. It is always happy to read such a kind comments. Thanks for experiencing all services provided and your praise for its high standard.

I also appreciate that your feel the touch of every single service such as coffee at Breakfast, turn down at late evening... These small touches will surely help enhance your memorial stay.

Again, thanks for recommending our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Grand Silverland for one night as we came to the end of our holiday. The hotel lobby is modern, clean and nicely decorated and the bedroom, although on the small side with a ridiculously hard bed, was fine for the one night we stayed there...

Having originally booked this hotel as it had a pool, we were slightly disappointed with how small the pool area actually was. Being Easter the hotel was fully booked which meant it was virtually impossible to sit around the pool as there was simply not enough space and only four sunbeds! But being so close to Ben Thanh market we soon indulged in some retail therapy instead!

The breakfast buffet was average compared to other hotels we stayed in on our trip, but more than adequate and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Overall a decent hotel which is fairly reasonably priced for what it is. Worth a stay, especially if you're not in HCMC for very long.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Nicola2608,

Thank you for your good comments on the hotel location and decoration. I am also proud to know that the staff have been very friendly and accommodating. However, it is quite pity that there were not enough space at the pool size.

It is also great that you found the hotel price reasonable for its facilities and service.

Again, thank you very much for your review and look forward to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Silverman on 2 separate occasions: when we arrived in HCM, and at the end of our Vietnam vacation. It is a lovely hotel and a great location for walking around. The hotel rooms were average, but very clean. We used the rooftop pool often and it was perfect after a long day sightseeing, or to relax from the hustle of HCM. The hotel should really consider changing over from glass at the pool to plastic as this is very dangerous if glass breaks. Also, the pool area (tables) should be cleaned regularly and cans/empty water bottles picked up.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of western and asian choices.
Doorman and bellman very friendly and always greeting with a smile.
Front desk staff not very happy looking, never greeted or smile when we were coming and going.
Spa was excellent!
It's a nice enough, clean place to stay but would choose a different hotel next time I'm in HCM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ann M,

Thank you for your comments on recent stay at our hotel.

It is our pleasure to welcome you twice on your visit to Saigon. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel location, cleanliness and the pool. Although our pool is small but it really adds up the hotel value with a great view and relaxing. I agree with you that the glass surrounded by the pool does not look very safety but I have asked this question with the constructor and was assured that it is safe enough as it is tempered glass. Thanks and well take note of clearing the used items on the pool tables.

I also appreciate good feedback on the Bellman and Doorman. But it is not acceptable to learn that the reception is not happy looking as well as no friendly smiling. I will strongly take action on such attitude and promise that this will be reminded all the time.

It is quite pity to know that you do not want to return but I do hope to show you that your feedback are heard and taken action seriously.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Couldn't be better placed for doing HCM on foot.. Very good rooms, helpful staff, rooftop pool very much appreciated after trudging the streets. Market, palace, museums, restaurants all round the corner.

Room Tip: Mine was quiet but I didn't overlook a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear 544BrianR,

Thank you for a short note on your recent stay at Grand Silverland Hotel & Spa.

I am very proud to read your feedback and learn that you overall satisfied with hotel room, pool, staff and location.

If you have a chance to return Saigon, we are glad to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

There three nights. Started tours, walking around early each day. Relaxed by rooftop pool in afternoons, but only after time in the wonderful spa! Happy hour each afternoon...already inexpensive drinks become two for one! Breakfast had many options, both Asian and western. Staff eager to please! Rooms available in center of building with no windows, which I would recommend if you need restful sleep at night! Streets can be loud and go til late in the night! Deluxe room was plenty adequate! No need to pay for more! Beds were comfy. Sheets always crisp. Towels fluffy and clean! Again, cannot say enough about the friendliness and courtesy of the staff! Location also great...one block from popular Ben Thanh market, close to all museums, and many restaurants. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY!

Room Tip: Consider an inner room with no windows if you need a good nights sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh D, General Manager at Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Jacqui B,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on recent stay at our Grand Silverland Hotel & Spa.

It is great to hear that you have experienced all our services and satisfied with them. One of the most important comment is that our staff were most friendly and courtesy. This makes a different on our service touch.

Again, It is really emotion to read your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Do Xuan Binh
General Manager
Grand Silverland Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA

Address: 125-133 Ly Tu Trong Street District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
● Belong to Tan Hai Long Hotel Group, Grand Silverland Hotel is a brand new hotel with high class accommodation and international professional service.● Located on ideal position, Grand Silverland Hotel is considered Ho Chi Minh City’s grandest addition to Hospitality Industry. This elegant hotel is less than ten (10) minutes from other famous business buildings of Ho Chi Minh City such as Sunwah Tower, Opera Building, Bitexco Building, Metropolitan Building, AB Tower, Saigon Centre and Gemadept Tower. Just one minute away from Ben Thanh market. ● Grand Silverland Hotel offers 90 rooms combining of Deluxe, Premium Deluxe, Suite, Silver Suite and Family Suite.● To make Grand Silverland Hotel a perfect destination, apart from accommodation, the hotel offers a significant restaurant – Roof Garden Restaurant where guests can enjoy a special evening under the candle light or with friends, enjoying great blending Western and Asian cuisine in an unparalleled ambiance.● Continuing with the Spa tradition at KL Spa, where the guests can find an array of innovative treatments to relax the body.● The conference hall at Grand Silverland Hotel brings the best of facilities and good service to the guests. Suitable for a meetings up to 80 people, Grand Silverland Hotel can provide guests with everything for a perfect performance.● An outstanding entertainment for the golfer. Can not find anywhere in the City's hotel in Ho Chi Minh. It is unique and fun. Try and experience the difference. Available and complimentary for only in house guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.