We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngoc Phan Guest House

Save Saved
You added Ngoc Phan Guest House to your Saves list
Ngoc Phan Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngoc Phan Guest House
35/12 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 618 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We chose the guest house after reading all the reviews on it and were so happy with it. The owner family and their staff is so friendly and they speak very good english. They helped whereever possible and really made us feel welcome. The rooms are nice and have everything they need, the neighbourhood is great, with many bars and restaurants around and in walking distance of all the sights. And since the guest house is at the end of a dead end alley it is actually really quiet. This is one of the biggest values, when travelling the big cities in Vietnam. Usually we slept with earplugs but this was not necessary here. After a long day touring the city, we loved coming back to our guest house, feeling at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Room was basic but had everything we needed!
The staff were very friendly and helpful!
Great location in District 1, walking distance to all the main restaurants/bars/sights.
Breakfast was included and was very good, I had a fresh bread roll with omelette and a few small bananas and juice!
Great budget accommodation! Highly recommended! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed a week in this Guesthouse and found it as excellent Value for this low price. The rooms are plain but have all the facility you need eg Fridge, Air-con and Bathroom with big shower.
The rooms are very clean actually the whole Guest House is very clean. Asian way no wearing of shoes inside the House !
The breakfast is plain and consist of a bread roll, jam and margarine with the option of omelette, eggs sunny side up or scrambled. Tea and coffee and fruit.
The owner is very helpful and most important of all he speaks fluently English which you find not so often here in Vietnam.
The location is at the end of a little Cul de Sac from the most busy street in District 1 which is the place to be. Due to being at the end of this little side road the rooms are quiet.
Plenty restaurants in the vicinity to sit inside or on the pavement.
The area is home of most backpackers visiting HCMC with travel and tour operators on every corner.
We tried in this week we stayed to establish what decides tourist young and old to visit HCMC and could not find one reason to do so. There are no real sightseeing spots except some leftovers from the Vietnam war and these get off course very one sided put on to you by the current socialistic party in power.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the double bedroom on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a really good stay at this budget family run guest house , it was very clean & good value for money . The owners were very nice people & helped whenever they could & really seem to enjoy doing what they do !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ngoc Phan is a really nice guesthouse run by a nice family. It lies in a very quit alley from a big street with lots of shops and bars.
The family is very helpful. If you wanna book a trip, taxi or see stuff around Saigon. They will always help you and give good advice.
The rooms are very clean, with good airco (not blowing straight on the bed), a nice shower and great beds. We had 3 different rooms (we kept coming back from trips to Mekong and Cambodja) and they were all very good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent location right in the hustle and bustle of backpacker area District 1. Down a little alley away from the noise, had excellent nights sleep (stayed 3 nights on top floor). Very clean and comfortable. Mr Phan Huy Chau was always helpful recommending restaurants and places to visit. Tommy who worked in the evenings was also very pleasant and helpful. I especially enjoyed the omlette, roll & lemon drink for breakfast each morning kept us going all day!

Room Tip: If you aren't fit try not to book top floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The owner was welcoming and hospitable and couldn't do more for us. He brought us up to our room which to our delight was squeaky clean, big and air conditioned. Bathroom was very modern too, and there was a fridge and cable TV. Breakfast was nice with a good selection and nice coffee. Owner booked us some tours and recommended places to eat and things to do. Would stay again, it's in the centre of Saigon but is completely quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngoc Phan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Phan Guest House

Address: 35/12 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Phan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngoc Phan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.