We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngoc Phan Guest House

Ngoc Phan Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ngoc Phan Guest House to your Saves list
Ngoc Phan Guest House
35/12 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 716 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Room was basic but had everything we needed!
The staff were very friendly and helpful!
Great location in District 1, walking distance to all the main restaurants/bars/sights.
Breakfast was included and was very good, I had a fresh bread roll with omelette and a few small bananas and juice!
Great budget accommodation! Highly recommended! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed a week in this Guesthouse and found it as excellent Value for this low price. The rooms are plain but have all the facility you need eg Fridge, Air-con and Bathroom with big shower.
The rooms are very clean actually the whole Guest House is very clean. Asian way no wearing of shoes inside the House !
The breakfast is plain and consist of a bread roll, jam and margarine with the option of omelette, eggs sunny side up or scrambled. Tea and coffee and fruit.
The owner is very helpful and most important of all he speaks fluently English which you find not so often here in Vietnam.
The location is at the end of a little Cul de Sac from the most busy street in District 1 which is the place to be. Due to being at the end of this little side road the rooms are quiet.
Plenty restaurants in the vicinity to sit inside or on the pavement.
The area is home of most backpackers visiting HCMC with travel and tour operators on every corner.
We tried in this week we stayed to establish what decides tourist young and old to visit HCMC and could not find one reason to do so. There are no real sightseeing spots except some leftovers from the Vietnam war and these get off course very one sided put on to you by the current socialistic party in power.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the double bedroom on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I had a really good stay at this budget family run guest house , it was very clean & good value for money . The owners were very nice people & helped whenever they could & really seem to enjoy doing what they do !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ngoc Phan is a really nice guesthouse run by a nice family. It lies in a very quit alley from a big street with lots of shops and bars.
The family is very helpful. If you wanna book a trip, taxi or see stuff around Saigon. They will always help you and give good advice.
The rooms are very clean, with good airco (not blowing straight on the bed), a nice shower and great beds. We had 3 different rooms (we kept coming back from trips to Mekong and Cambodja) and they were all very good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent location right in the hustle and bustle of backpacker area District 1. Down a little alley away from the noise, had excellent nights sleep (stayed 3 nights on top floor). Very clean and comfortable. Mr Phan Huy Chau was always helpful recommending restaurants and places to visit. Tommy who worked in the evenings was also very pleasant and helpful. I especially enjoyed the omlette, roll & lemon drink for breakfast each morning kept us going all day!

Room Tip: If you aren't fit try not to book top floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The owner was welcoming and hospitable and couldn't do more for us. He brought us up to our room which to our delight was squeaky clean, big and air conditioned. Bathroom was very modern too, and there was a fridge and cable TV. Breakfast was nice with a good selection and nice coffee. Owner booked us some tours and recommended places to eat and things to do. Would stay again, it's in the centre of Saigon but is completely quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great Value for its LOCATION! arrived around 8pm on a Monday with no booking in advance and the only room left was a '1 double bed plus 2 single bed', yes you're right I mean 3 beds in one room for USD30 but the only setback was walking up 4th floor on those steep stairs. You can basically walk to almost all the attraction nearby.

The OWNER is a very humble, nice and helpful English speaking gentleman. Rest assured if you're a first timer in Saigon, he gives good advice and travel tips.

It's a guest house so SLEEP QUALITY(bed condition) might not be as good as the conventional hotels.

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#29 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#21 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#27 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#22 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#3 of 716 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#3 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Phan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Phan Guest House

Address: 35/12 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 716 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ngoc Phan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngoc Phan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.