We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite French Bistro in Ho Chi Minh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouchon de Saigon

Le Bouchon de Saigon
40 Thai Van Lung, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
+84 8 3829 9263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #440 of 1,690 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: French traditional food in the heart of Saigon.
HCM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite French Bistro in Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My favorite French Bistro in Ho Chi Minh. Excellent value with high quality food. Try the swordfish carpaccio; best I've had. Onion soup is excellent at 25% of the price of a competitor around the corner (for real!).

Staff is very friendly. Can be a bit noisy at night, but nice casual friendly setting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    76
    26
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were taken by friends who live in Saigon. The food was of good quality, and similarly the service. Decor a little bit tired, but maybe that gives a feeling of authentic. My only gripe is the fact that there was a lot of smokers and there does not appear to be any non-smoking section. But that may be the law of the land.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stumbled across this lovely little restaurant when we were lost only to find out afterwards that it had rave reviews in Tripadvisor. Good choice of French food with a French owner/chef. Food was on the pricier side as was the wine but you pay for what you get. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English with good knowledge of what the restaurant was serving. We had Samantha looking after us and she did a great job, thank you Samantha ;).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good food at great prices. Staffs were very friendly & offered advices on the menu. We were surprised by music & birthday cake for my daughterr's birthday. Thank you staffs!!

Do make reservations, even during weekday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEast Asia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, inconsistent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You could have the greatest meal at Le Bouchon, or you could have an expensive meal that leaves much to be desired. This has been my experience of the place. While I really love the interior (which really does feel like you're back in France), and the atmosphere is always friendly and enthusiastic, I hate to say that I haven't returned for some time now, because the last two meals I've had there were really lacking (compared to the first few times I visited).

The best meal was the chicken with mushroom risotto- If going to this place, I think you're safe with the chicken. The steak on the other hand, was what I had ordered the two meals that left me disappointed. Both times, the meat was extremely chewy, difficult to cut... just a bad piece of meat.

The cost of the meal adds up quickly here- which appetizer, wine, dessert and entree- it can easily add up to $50 a person... Which is fine, if I know that I'll be satisfied at the end of the meal. Unfortunately, I wasn't... so I've steered clear of this place since.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon de Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Le Bouchon de Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouchon de Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.