We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott and Binh's

Scott and Binh's
15-17 Cao Trieu Phat Street, Hung Phuoc 1 | Phu My Hung, District 7, Ho Chi Minh City 00000, Vietnam
+84 94 890 14 65
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,408 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open Tues-Sunday 4pm-11pm and Western style a la carte Brunch on Saturday and Sunday from 11am-4pm, Scott and Binh's is serving up "Comfort Food With a Twist" in the Heart of Phu My Hung, HCMC. Come try us out!!!
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

this is my favorite restaurant in hcmc. the food is amazing and the staff are very good. the owner scot is a really nice gut he meets and greets everyone and ensures you have everything you need to make your experience a memorable one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi mrcass, thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TA. Favorite restaurant in HCMC? Wow! That makes us all feel great! We will all keep working very hard to make sure we live up to your expectations. We are glad that we have earned your support. Thanks for coming to "our house". Hope to see you again soon. Thanks from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    182
    53
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If every restaurant has the same ethos, the world would be a happy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Im usually lazy to write a review, but this place impressed me so much that i had to sign in to TA to write few words. Basically, i loved this place because it does EXACTLY what it says on the tin. Delicious homey food in a relaxed atmosphere! Scott, his wife and the whole team are simply the kindest, most welcoming people ive meet in a long while. I ve eaten in the best Michelin star restaurants in the world, but i have forgotton all of them! Scott and Binh's i ll remember forever! Tip- try the pork shoulder sandwich! !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi R and A, it was nice to meet you last night. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review during your busy holiday. If I didn't say it last night, I feel that people enjoy themselves here because we are selling something that people want to buy :) Sorry we can't give it away, but I am glad that you felt welcome here. That's the point. We all try very hard to create an atmosphere where people can relax and enjoy themselves with some tasty food. Not get a Michelin Star ;-), Thanks very much for that very nice compliment. Enjoy the islands, and stop back by if you make it to HCMC again. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food was great. I loved how Scott greeted his own customers and served them. He has a good personality and really helped others feel welcome. Great value and service. Thanks!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi David, thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review on TA. I am one of the lucky people who loves what they do. It's my pleasure to help take care of people when they come to our "house". We have a great staff that allows me to spend some time out of the kitchen to make sure everyone is having a good time. Glad you enjoyed the food, and hope you stop back by sometime soon. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great day on the patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have been searching for a good breakfast in Phu My Hung and I heard about Scott and Binh's. Even though I showed up at 3pm on Sunday, conveniently,they were still serving the brunch menu. The menu has a long list of breakfast choices with ingredients that are special to get in HCMC. I had a Greek Scramble and an American coffee. This came with good bread and was a huge portion. Next, I moved on to cocktails. The margaritas were so well made, I had to drink more than one. It was really enjoyable to be sitting outside on a Sunday afternoon in the company of my fellow expats in Phu My Hung. The atmosphere was so comfortable here, I made a new friend. I set a new record for myself by becoming a repeat customer in the same day. I stayed so long chatting, that it became dinner time and I ordered the Smoked Seafood Pesto Pasta. It was extremely tasty and colorful too. The portion was large, so I can eat it tomorrow and remember a great Sunday afternoon. This place has excellent vibes. People brought their dogs, they brought their friends, they brought their babies, they had a wedding shower, and some people came alone and made new friends:) This place is special, and had the best breakfast I have found so far.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi L, thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review on TA. I am glad we lived up to your expectations. We take great pride in paying attention to detail, and are proud of our food and cocktails. You do not have the record for the longest stay though, hahaha. That was a group who came for brunch on a Sunday afternoon, and stayed till we closed ;-) It is nice that you had such a good time, that's what we are trying to do: provide a comfortable and relaxing place to enjoy some tasty food and drink for everyone who comes over. One of those babies was ours :D You have already been back, and we really appreciate your support. Looking forward to taking care of you again soon. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Took my sister there with her boyfriend. They'd been travelling and living off street food so this was a welcomed change. Had a bit of trouble finding the place as the taxi didn't really know where he was going but when we finally arrived (it's in District 7 so a taxi ride out of the city) we were greeted by Scott who throughout our time there would pop over and make conversation. He actually gave my sister some fantastic tips for their travelling - Thanks Scott!. As for the food, we went for the burgers which can't be faulted. As a fan of big portions, this really hit the spot. We also had some starters and tried the special as an extra main divided into 3. By dessert none of us could clear the plate. All in all, a pleasant evening with good food and conversation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi mtlear, it was nice meeting you all, and thanks for choosing us to treat your sister to a hearty meal. Glad I could be of a little help with the travel advice for your sister :) Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TA, we are glad that you felt taken care of enough to share with other travelers. No one ever goes away hungry from here ;-), we want people to feel like they are getting good value for their hard earned money. I also appreciate that you brought up one of the most important things about are place: good conversation. Our goal is to provide a comfortable, relaxing setting for people to talk and enjoy themselves. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott and Binh's also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Been to Scott and Binh's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott and Binh's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.